We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot, restful break - need a car though”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 7, 2010

We stayed here fro three nights as part of a four week trip around the USA. We decided after two weeks of travelling, we needed a holiday during our holiday - so picked Monterey!
A beutiful spot - these suites were formerly twonhouses - whichexplains why there are three suites per building with a double garage underneath. You still get a parking spot late at night - just out in the open.
The Inn is in a suburb of Pacific Growve and whilst a short walk to the beach - you would need a car to get into Monterey for dinner/sightseeing.
The room was spacious and clean, with a comfy king bed and small room with a safe, microwave and fridge. There is a deep bath/shower (with handrails fortunatley!) and double hand basins. We had free wireless internet and they supply free continental breakfast as well - although we didn't partake. Our room had a small balcony too.
Several reviewers mention noise due to other people in the building.... hey - they are in the same building!!! its not your house.. it's a hotel with other people staying there! We had the same with a slamming door downstairs. We could've nipped down there and asked them not to do it - but I was too cozy.. were we on holiday and the best thing about that is... we rolled over and went back to sleep!! Other than that it was very quiet.
A guest laundry is located in one of the garages and worked well.
We had no issues with check in or check out at all.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JB072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (647)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

537 - 543 of 647 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2009

Stayed for two nights on our trip down the coast from San Francisco. This hotel is ideally situated for Monterey and Carmel, being close to all the amenities but in a very quiet and secluded position on 17 mile drive. We arrived early (13.00) and had to wait an hour to get into the room but that gave us an opportunity to do some shopping in nearby Pacific Grove (wonderful, inexpensive jewellers). We booked a two bedroomed suite that was ideal. Only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a-milligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

Stayed here since it has a two room suite, stayed with friends to celebrate a birthday! Extremely diasappointed with the service breakfast was mediocre. Paid $180 for the suite and expected better. The worst part is the stain on the bed sheet!!! We figured it's some nasty stain if you get my drift, Disgusting! I've been to many suites way less in price than this one and way better in service, cleanliness. Rooms are too small even for a suite! try other ones for a better value for you money!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NikNokTravelerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

My expectations were exceeded. Ours was a last minute decision to give our son one last adventure before school started. I didn't expect to get much given that we booked our stay the morning of our stay, certainly the price and location were right. Our studio was clean, extremely roomy and quiet. There was a large space for the king sized bed, the sofa area was cozy, the kitchen was large enough for 2 people to work in and there was also a breakfast nook.

I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dm_pv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

As others have noted, this hotel has a great location in a quiet, leafy residential part of Pacific Grove. It's also centrally located to many area amenities and tourist draws. The rooms are a reasonable size and our teenage sons enjoyed having their own bedroom with twin beds. So much for the good news. We were booked for three nights and on the first night we discovered ants near the room fridge and in the bathroom. There was also a skunk-like smell that occasionally wafted through the room. When we informed the managers of the ants, their only response was to "lend" us a can of Raid (we had to give it back the next day). No further action or apologies were offered. You expect more than that for $200 a night.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

This hotel has an ideal location in a very quiet, residential neighborhood. It's within walking distance of the beach and is central to all the tourist attractions. The quiet was wonderful and was great for relaxation. The price was right too.

The room I had was huge and very clean.

Now here's what bothered me:

1. Upon entering my room, I noticed a heavy perfume smell. Apparently, they used some kind of carpet deodorizer. It was very irritating and aggravated my allergies.

2. On my second day, I came back to find my room door ajar. Apparently, the housekeeper had cleaned the room and not ensured that the door was closed!! Thankfully, the hotel is in a safe area and I was not ripped off.

3. Upon checkout, the desk agent didn't ask me how my stay was! I realize this isn't the Four Seasons, but this should be standard.

Overall though, I'd say that this is an OK place to stay if you're on a budget and not too fussy. The location was ideal and the problems were relatively minor. I'd recommend for short, budget-minded stays.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamc204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

We stayed for two nights. The place is tucked back off of 17 mile Dr. before you have to pay to drive on the road. It wasn't far from the beach, but there are no views. It looks like the hotel used to be town homes that they converted into hotel rooms. The bottom level has a full kitchen. We stayed in the what used to be the master bedroom and it had a small fridge in the what used to be the walk in closet. The bath tub was small but the room was comfy. The first night was great but then a family occupied the bottom level the second night and they were extremely loud. Overall, if you are looking for a reasonable place that is roomy for a family trip I would recommend it; however I wouldn't recommend it for couples.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosevilleTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.7 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
956 reviews
1.8 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
311 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove

Address: 660 Dennett St, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3832 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn and Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
#1 Business Hotel in Pacific Grove
#1 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#2 Green Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range: $124 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful and relaxing, the BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove offers spacious townhouse-style accommodations in a quiet neighborhood just minutes from the beach. Explore the incredible coastline from your cozy home, located right off 17-Mile Drive on the incredible Monterey Peninsula. The large guest rooms and suites with high ceilings are comfortable and convenient for discovering the area, and you will love the complimentary high-speed Internet access and deluxe continental breakfast served daily. The Monterey Bay Peninsula is one of the most beautiful slices of the coast of California, and the BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove provides the perfect home base from which to explore all of the area's attractions, from water activities to scenic hikes and wine tastings to whale watching. Nestled between pine and eucalyptus trees in a quiet residential neighborhood, this charming hotel is within walking distance to Asilomar State Beach and Asilomar Conference Grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Monterey Pacific Grove Hotel Pacific Grove
Howard Johnson Pacific Grove
Pacific Grove Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing