We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We thought this place quite special.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
UK
Level Contributor
175 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“We thought this place quite special.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were in room 129, which was lovely. King bed, sitting area, kitchen and bathroom, parking in a garage downstairs where there was a pay laundry. Very comfortable indeed. Heating - needed when we were there, good quality bedding and towels, very comfy bed and pillows. Absolute bliss, lying in bed with a 'log' fire, watching old episodes of MASH. Continental breakfast was included, which was fine, make your own waffles, coffee, juice, cereals etc. This accommodation would spoil you for anything else. Area very quiet, near to the ocean, only one restaurant nearby. Fish Wife was within walking distance.

Room Tip: As far as we could see, 129 was the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peripatetic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    198
    68
    26
    15
See reviews for
208
209
18
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed in a suite, king bedroom with separate kitchen area which had microwave, fridge, safe. We were not keen on the unusual bathroom layout with sunken bath. There were lots of steps up to the accommodation which can be a bit of a problem with heavy cases. The hotel is set in woods with deer roaming around freely and this gave a lovely view from the balcony. Few minutes walk to the sea. An ok breakfast, nothing special. There did not appear to be any within a short walking distance. Overall, a fairly good stay at a more reasonable price than staying in nearby Monterey or Carmel.

Room Tip: Stairs can be a problem with some rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieRaymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I love staying at Howard Johnson in Pacific Grove. We stay in the King room suit and It has a full kitchen a comfy sitting area and a nice large King bedroom! It's always clean and very comfortable. We love to get up in the morning and walk through Asilomar Conference Center to the beautiful boardwalk on Asilomar State beach. There are miles of walking paths along the ocean and the views are amazing! Howard Johnson's is where we like to stay when we are at our favorite beach!

Room Tip: The king suite is really great and the beds are really comfortable. We also like to stay in the que...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Churchill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed in one of the suites in January. It's difficult to find but located in a quiet residential area, with lots of trees and very close to 17 mile drive, the coast and Monterey itself. The suite was well-equipped with everything we might need including a kitchen. The bed was very large and comfortable. Breakfast was included and was self-service in a dedicated communal breakfast room. The price was very reasonable. The only drawback was that wifi internet access was not working while we were there. Overall though, good value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

First when we walked into the building our room was in, all we could smell was a musty moldy smell. Then we got into our room and it was extremely smaller than pictured and it was also moldy smelling.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank angelkat512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojopgrove, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments I would like to apologize on the problems you encountered during your stay last year with us and as the hotel is now in a phase of renovation and under new management please do contact me at the Hotel.
Ralph Felsinger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.7 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
1.8 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove

Property: BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
Address: 660 Dennett St, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3832 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn and Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#1 Business Hotel in Pacific Grove
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
#2 Green Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful and relaxing, the BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove offers spacious townhouse-style accommodations in a quiet neighborhood just minutes from the beach. Explore the incredible coastline from your cozy home, located right off 17-Mile Drive on the incredible Monterey Peninsula. The large guest rooms and suites with high ceilings are comfortable and convenient for discovering the area, and you will love the complimentary high-speed Internet access and deluxe continental breakfast served daily. The Monterey Bay Peninsula is one of the most beautiful slices of the coast of California, and the BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove provides the perfect home base from which to explore all of the area's attractions, from water activities to scenic hikes and wine tastings to whale watching. Nestled between pine and eucalyptus trees in a quiet residential neighborhood, this charming hotel is within walking distance to Asilomar State Beach and Asilomar Conference Grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Monterey Pacific Grove Hotel Pacific Grove
Howard Johnson Pacific Grove
Pacific Grove Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing