We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JUST AVERAGE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gainesville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“JUST AVERAGE”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel is just average. There is nothing great about this hotel. It is really townhouses converted into hotel rooms.
The breakfast was also average and had few choices.
The best thing about this hotel was its location. The room walls are very thin. We could here our neighbors and their children every night for at least 3 hours. This was very anoying while we were trying to sleep. We will not stay at this hotel again. I think that we will spend more money next time and stay in a better hotel.
This was really a basic no trills hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel. Invest more money for a better hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RACHEL R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    214
    71
    29
    15
See reviews for
228
224
19
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SANTA ROSA
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2012

As usual I had a wonderful time visiting the Monterey Area and attending the Monterey Jazz Festival. The accomodations I found excellent and only added that much more to the the enjoyable weekend. The only problem that I had which really wasn't a problem which I'm sure you could have remedied right away was the fireplace. I didn't know how to light it and I saw no instructions for it. We didn't need it anyway with the weather being so pleasant so I never called the desk about it. I will ask next time I stay there for sure that's assuming you will have be back again next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank PETER K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOS ANGELES
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Great location, nice facility, friendly staff....... The Wi-fi was too slow to be usable....... there was nothing but carbs at the breakfast provided. something as simple as boiled eggs would make the breakfast more attractive....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank HOWARD W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERKELEY
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Facility and services were excellent. Really appreciated the size of the room and facility. parking was good and service was excellent. Really appreciated the fire place, neatness and cleanliness of the facility. Area was very quite and private.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank AJ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STANFORD
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The room was clean and nice, the bed comfortable, and so I really can't complain! And the rest of this text is to fill the one hundred character requirement.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank vvv509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CUPERTINO
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The location is interesting -- it's basically in a residential area, it seems. This made for a nice quiet stay. I was watching deer walk by in the early morning fog, which was cool.

The room we got was was pretty good sized. The beds were not bad, and having two separate rooms made things nice for the family. Two good sized TVs were a big help too. The bathroom was basic but nice and clean.

The included breakfast was not bad. The make-your-own-waffle bar was a big hit with the kids. The only pain was that the offerings were basically all carbs.

Parking was easy, and the spaces were quite roomy.

All in all, this is a nice place to stay. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank SteveInCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FULTON
2 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed at this hotel 25 years ago while attending the Defense Language Course at the Presidio of Monterey and wanted to bring my wife to experience this great location. The room was just as I remembered it from my previous stay and the management and staff were wonderful. We had a terrific and memorable visit, made even better by the outstanding service. We'd definitely recommend this HJ and will come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank JERRY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.7 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
799 reviews
1.8 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
282 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,618 reviews
1.9 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove

Property: Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
Address: 660 Dennett St, Pacific Grove, CA 93950 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn and Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pacific Grove
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
#1 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#2 Green Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful and relaxing, the BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove offers spacious townhouse-style accommodations in a quiet neighborhood just minutes from the beach. Explore the incredible coastline from your cozy home, located right off 17-Mile Drive on the incredible Monterey Peninsula. The large guest rooms and suites with high ceilings are comfortable and convenient for discovering the area, and you will love the complimentary high-speed Internet access and deluxe continental breakfast served daily. The Monterey Bay Peninsula is one of the most beautiful slices of the coast of California, and the BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove provides the perfect home base from which to explore all of the area's attractions, from water activities to scenic hikes and wine tastings to whale watching. Nestled between pine and eucalyptus trees in a quiet residential neighborhood, this charming hotel is within walking distance to Asilomar State Beach and Asilomar Conference Grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Monterey Pacific Grove Hotel Pacific Grove
Howard Johnson Pacific Grove
Pacific Grove Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing