We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem hidden away and cannot recommend enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Was put off other hotels in Monterey by high prices. Telephoned HoJo and met with courteous voice and very good price. Hidden away in Pacifc Grove the whole hotel has an aura of tranquility about it. Each room is self contained appartment with every amenity you could want. Can't recommend it enough. We were coming to the end of a 6 week tour of the West and this was by far the best value for money encountered. Breakfast until 11 o'clock is a bonus. The bed was sublime, wanted to take it home.

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (646)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

520 - 526 of 646 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2011

A true find. Quiet, restful, quaint. Rooms are nice. Close to whatever you wish to do in the area. Listening to the ocean at night is so relaxing. Look for deer running around. Nothing wrong with this place at all! Well, OK, maybe one thing, the towels were kind of on the thin side. Big deal.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milotian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The rooms were clean and at night it was very quiet. Great environment to sleep in. Best of all it had ceiling fan which was also very quiet. Made the room that more enjoyable even thought you had the cool air from the ocean.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malibu2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Our family of three adults and two children stayed in this hotel for three nights. The location is excellent, very close drive to downtown Pacific Grove and Monterey. We were able to purchase the tickets to Monterey Bay Aquarium in the hotel, so skipped the line (our last visit to Aquarium was around 3 years ago, we waited in line with toddler in the stroller for 3 hours!!!). Overall we enjoyed our stay, it was a good value for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roses7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Being a HoJo's, we didn't have high expectations, but most of the reviews were favorable (except the odd person who had a tiff because their card wasn't accepted). As others have pointed out, this property is made up of converted townhouses that were converted to hotel rooms. We chose a Superior King room. It was the roomiest room I've ever had. As we walked in, what was likely a sunken livingroom is now the bedroom with fireplace and a sliding glass door onto a VERY spacious patio. A few steps up (just where one enters) was a nice sitting area wtih a TV and sofa. From there, around a corder was a full kitchen with stove, fridge, microwave and even trash compactor. It's in a residential neighborhood, not far from the beach, so all the rooms are pretty quiet.

The only minus I might give is that the bathroom is a bit dated with a straight curtain rod rather than the more common curved one. Also, it was not difficult to hear the movements of our neighbors upstairs, but it wasn't intollerable.

The place was very clean and quiet. The continental breakfast in the morning was quite sufficient. Mr. Patel, the owner, was very friendly and welcoming. I've added this place (with rooom number) into my address book as we will be coming back again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug95126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Why waste time searching for a place to stay when you can relax at theHojo Express in Pacific Grove? When visiting Monterey and Carmel, we prefer staying in this clean, quiet, private and centrally located area within walking distance to Asilomar Beach as opposed to a stuffy and expensive hotel room. The accommodations are nicely decorated and roomy, and the "stay 3, get a night free" is all the more reason to select this property. The King Suite with the fireplace and kitchen is our favorite, and although we don't have young children, this accommodation would be ideal for a small family (two televisions and complimentary breakfasts). Nick and Priti Patel and Pat are wonderful hosts, and we plan on staying here each time we're in the area!

Cyn and Armand

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williamscampi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Pros - great value,especially when they have sales for multiple nights. great location, surrounded by trees, within walking distance to the beach (Asilomar), about 4miles from Cannery Row. Nice breakfast room and a decent selection of food. Nice sized room with a microwave, a plus when traveling with a 3yo.

Cons - the walls are extremely thin and other guests can be quite loud. although our room was clean and nice sized, the room seemed quite dingy and dark. they use extremely perfumed cleansers.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oakfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.7 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
934 reviews
0.2 mi away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.8 mi away
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
#13 of 17 in Pacific Grove
460 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove

Address: 660 Dennett St, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3832 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn and Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#1 Business Hotel in Pacific Grove
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
#2 Green Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range: $119 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful and relaxing, the BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove offers spacious townhouse-style accommodations in a quiet neighborhood just minutes from the beach. Explore the incredible coastline from your cozy home, located right off 17-Mile Drive on the incredible Monterey Peninsula. The large guest rooms and suites with high ceilings are comfortable and convenient for discovering the area, and you will love the complimentary high-speed Internet access and deluxe continental breakfast served daily. The Monterey Bay Peninsula is one of the most beautiful slices of the coast of California, and the BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove provides the perfect home base from which to explore all of the area's attractions, from water activities to scenic hikes and wine tastings to whale watching. Nestled between pine and eucalyptus trees in a quiet residential neighborhood, this charming hotel is within walking distance to Asilomar State Beach and Asilomar Conference Grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Monterey Pacific Grove Hotel Pacific Grove
Howard Johnson Pacific Grove
Pacific Grove Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing