We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved staying here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old St. Angela Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved staying here”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Our first B&B in CA which was a lovely place to stay. Veronica goes out of her way to make guests comfortable and meet any needs. A glass of wine on arrival & great breakfast. Comfy bed in Lands End room with garden views from the door. Lots of different areas to sit - inside the lounge and in the pretty courtyard garden. Short stroll to waterfront with pathways along coast. Great value B&B. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stangeladm, Guest Relations Manager at The Old St. Angela Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
We are so honored that we were your first California Bed and Breakfast. We hope to see you again soon.Thank you for the lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    34
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
25
131
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in May. The room was small but nice and clean. Great location just a couple of blocks from the water---a wonderful place for a walk. The breakfast prepared by Veronica (more about her later) was excellent. Unlike many B&B's her breakfast was both creative and delicious. From the moment we got there all those we dealt with were friendly and very helpful with site and restaurant suggestions. While packing to leave, I left behind several fairly expensive wine glasses.. When we discovered they were missing later that day, my wife immediately called the inn and spoke to Veronica. She had them and told us she would take care of shipping them. They arrived (professionally wrapped) 2 days after we got home at no charge. Veronica, you saved me! We'll definitely come back, and hope Veronica is still the chef.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stangeladm, Public Relations Manager at The Old St. Angela Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for your fabulous review, and we are so glad we could be of service. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We love B&B's and we loved our stay at Old St. Angela Inn. Excellent food and service. We were able to park easily on the street next to the inn. Centrally located so a very short walk (1-2 blocks) and you can hear the waves and see the harbor seals. Not far from the Monterrey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row so easy walk to the touristy areas.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stangeladm, Public Relations Manager at The Old St. Angela Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for your glowing review! We hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyersburg, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This was our favorite BnB that we stayed at during a week long trip from Tennessee to California. Very charming with an amazing garden that we enjoyed our wine in. The location is perfect for other sites /walks in Pacific Grove and Monterey. We are in our 30s and it was an easy walk to Passion Fish and the Aquarium, etc. We booked the Crow's Nest and loved the view, the open windows, the little fireplace, and we slept great! Breakfast in the morning was fantastic and made with a smile. We hated to leave! If we ever return to Monterey we would definitely stay here again. Thanks for a wonderful time!

Room Tip: The Crow's Nest had partial views of the ocean and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jes_agee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stangeladm, Public Relations Manager at The Old St. Angela Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of The Old St Angela Inn. We also love that most everything is in walking distance from the inn, whether it be the quiet charm of Pacific Grove or the lively fun of Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf. There is something sweet about leaving the car parked and journeying on foot through this storied land by the sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We have been shy away from B&B for many years after some bad experience. Through a friend’s recommendation, we decided to give this place a try. We had the most delightful time with this stay! The house is part of the old historical area of Pacific Grove, but well kept with a lovely garden. Many of the neighborhood houses were built around late 19 or early 20 century. The early settlers were mostly Methodist. All these well preserved homes have a plate with original residence’s name. The Old St. Angela Inn was built in 1910. Our quiet and peaceful morning walk feels like we had stepped into a piece of history. The old St. Angles lodge is only one block away from the ocean and a few short minutes walk to the Monterey Bay Aquarian, yet away from the general tourist crowd. Lots of harbor seals and sea birds were resting along the ocean next to the trail. In the living room at the Inn there are two pairs of binoculars, we borrowed one with our walk. We actually saw a Mother Seal nursing a baby seal. The walk is also a marine mammal feast for the eye.
All the rooms were decorated to the early America theme, with antique furniture, but the bed is comfortable with both firm and soft pillows and nice shower/tub. The tub has a whirlpool, but I did not try. We had the Bay View room, it is lovely with the view of the ocean. The daily freshly cooked hot breakfast was so tasty. I complained why it is served at 8:30. Then I found out the continental breakfast with coffee and tea was ready at 7:30. The afternoon tea was another nice surprise and treat, with wine and cheese, freshly made dips and a freshly baked treats( one day is a chocolate cake another day is lemon square, both sinfully good.) We had our afternoon tea in the garden right next to the waterfall, with one of the local history photo books from the living room. In one evening we relaxed in the garden again, someone else started the pit fire. It was warm and romantic.
This stay changed by old stigma with B&B. We will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie4896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stangeladm, Public Relations Manager at The Old St. Angela Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
We are so pleased that The Old St Angela Inn was a positive B & B experience for you! Our hope is that this is a place where people can come and re-calibrate in the comfort of our cozy inn nestled a block away from the Pacific. Please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

... with a beautiful garden courtyard, complete with fountain and various tables and chairs. One can see the ocean from the front porch, so close, just a couple blocks away! When we arrived, there was a crackling fire going in the fireplace; so tempting to snuggle into one of the many couches or armchairs and read a book there. I regretted that I missed out on my chance to get a slice of that homemade cake that was sitting out in the afternoon.

We didn't notice any noise in the house from any guests, and we didn't hear any street noise, either. We had a delightful breakfast of a buffet of fruit, yogurt, and muffins. The hot entree was croissant strawberry French toast that morning, and it was delicious and unique. I liked the assortment of small tables, instead of one big table for breakfast. I'm not all that sociable in the morning, and it was nice to have a little table to ourselves. The breakfast room is a bright room with an entire wall of windows. The breakfast area had a water jug and little cups for guests, as well as a little fridge (which we put some food in for the next day). We were hardly here long enough to enjoy all of the great amenities. Maybe we can stay longer next time!

Room Tip: This spacious room (Garden Gable) is on the 2nd floor and has a twin, a rollaway bed, a Queen bed (I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AprilDvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stangeladm, Public Relations Manager at The Old St. Angela Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your detailed and kind review. We so appreciate it. Please stay longer with us next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We have been coming regularly to this inn for over 15 years (3x in the past year alone!) and have always loved it. But the inn has a new owner who lives in another state. It is being run by a couple who have no idea how to treat guests. I was screamed at for getting a glass of milk from the fridge, something I have done for years. If the rules have changed, why not inform me in a civill and polite manner? Why be so nasty? We had already noticed a change for the worse in the ambiance but after being subjected to such rude and unprofessional conduct we left early with a heavy heart. So many years, so many lovely memories. We will never return but will always hold a special place in our heart for the 'old' Old St. Angela Inn.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank alicejesset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stangeladm, Public Relations Manager at The Old St. Angela Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
I am sorry you had a negative experience during your last visit. Although the kitchen of an inn is typically off limits to guests due to health and safety regulations, you are right to say that you deserved a kind explanation rather than a terse directive.

As to the changes in ownership and staff, collectively, the new team at the inn has over 75 years’ experience in the service industry. The new owner, not only is interested in his client's comfort and well-being, as proven by both new and planned upgrades to the inn, but is also committed to their intellectual life, as demonstrated by the inn’s new library, which is populated by local authors, like John Steinbeck, tomes chronicling Monterey history, as well as a plethora of key resources on the marine life of our vast and beautiful coastal waters.

We do hope you might reconsider and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.0 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,951 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Martine Inn
Martine Inn
#2 of 8 in Pacific Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old St. Angela Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old St. Angela Inn

Property: The Old St. Angela Inn
Address: 321 Central Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2934
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old St. Angela Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Old St. Angela Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old St. Angela Hotel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing