We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful home and gardens”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old St. Angela Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful home and gardens”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Our family truly enjoyed our stay at the Old St. Angela Inn. The Inn has been very well maintained; the rooms were super comfortable. Diane's breakfasts were outstanding with an artichoke frittata the first morning and strawberry croissant french toast the next. No one in our family went hungry. They serve cookies all day, and afternoon wine if you are interested. It was a little chilly while we were there, but we did manage to sit in the gardens one afternoon. Beautiful plantings, a firepit and water garden. The InnKeepers are very gracious.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2Trvl034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    34
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
26
131
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Albany, California
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Old St Angela Inn is a cozy and charming bed and breakfast. Comfortable and nicely decorated rooms, a wonderful garden, excellent breakfast in the morning. Only a block from the ocean where you can walk along the beautiful rugged coast line. A real gem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jog4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitola, California
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed here for our anniversary in September...total last minute & boy it was awesome the Inn Keepers are so nice & friendly took very good care of us & all the goodies & food were yummy. We had a greaden view room on the bottom floor & it was so nice & cozy. We hung out in the graden by the gas fire pit & just enjoyed the calm quiet morning taking it all in. We were only there for the night but plan to return so.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Our first impression when we arrived at this B&B was its coziness. Just a short walk from the bustling town and beaches, make this place so convenient but peaceful. Room was comfortable, and the fireplace make us feel at home. Breakfast was great, and our son was looking forward to the surprise on the next meal! During our stay, the living room was so crowded during the afternoon tea, so we just grab our snack and headed to our room.
If asked whether we would stay here again, the answer would be YES!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asianchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, California
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

B&Bs can be hit or miss propositions - you never really know what you're going to get until you arrive. So it was a great experience to find a place that exceeded our expectations in most respects. The room was large, well-furnished and very comfortable. Some of the rooms have great views of Monterey Bay. The breakfast was perfectly prepare from scratch and filling. They served a snack with wine at 4:30 and had coffee/tea/cookies available all day long. Our hosts were helpful and attentive to our needs and questions. The parlor was also large and comfortable. I put myself up there for a couple hours while my wife went shopping nearby in Monterey (only a few minutes away). I even found a good book to read on the shelves. Only two, very minor negatives. The bathroom in our room was very small - not missing any functionality, just small. And the bed's comfort level was only so-so, but since I am prejudiced by an incomparably comfortable bed at home, my ratings of hotel beds are not to be trusted. As with any first class B&B in a popular area, the price is a bit on the high side, but definitely worth it for a one-night getaway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Rooms are lovely. The staff are very warm & friendly. The morning breakfast and afternoon wine, tea & appetizer are phenomenal. Convenient location-Short walk to Monterey's Old Cannery Row, beaches, & shopping.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7578112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
572 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Oct 24-27, 2012
I stayed here for 3 comfortable nights. I based my selection on the TA reviews and web site. Coming down from Highway 1 through Seaside and Monterey, this property is not hard to find. There is plenty of street parking in this very safe neighborhood. Dianne McKneely warmly welcomed us, showed us around, informed us about the complimentary
wine/tea service from 4:30 to 6:00, and showed us to our room.
The reason this B&B doesn't earn a 5-star rating, is basicly because I elected to select one of the smallest rooms, Otter Cove. The price-to-size of the room is correct. The bed is, I believe, a double, but extremely comfortable. I will admit that I have never before slept 10.5 hours. The size of the room meant stumbling to find the bathroom during the night. The toilet seat faces a wall about 12" away. There is a mustiness around the toilet area. I can hear the adjacent guests through the party walls.
The breakfasts are outstanding and done with imagination. I usually like to eat early, so breakfast beginning at 8:30 is a bit late for me.
I always found Dianne and Jerry to be friendly and engaging as well as helpful regarding the resto and day trip options. Downtown Pacific Grove and Asilomar is within a mile, and Carmel is just beyond 17-Mile Drive.
If you choose one of the larger rooms, this place is ideal--look no farther.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank alohatripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.7 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,973 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
0.1 mi away
Martine Inn
Martine Inn
#2 of 8 in Pacific Grove
445 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old St. Angela Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old St. Angela Inn

Property: The Old St. Angela Inn
Address: 321 Central Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2934
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old St. Angela Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Old St. Angela Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old St. Angela Hotel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing