We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful home and gardens” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old St. Angela Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pacific Grove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old St. Angela Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful home and gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Our family truly enjoyed our stay at the Old St. Angela Inn. The Inn has been very well maintained; the rooms were super comfortable. Diane's breakfasts were outstanding with an artichoke frittata the first morning and strawberry croissant french toast the next. No one in our family went hungry. They serve cookies all day, and afternoon wine if you are interested. It was a little chilly while we were there, but we did manage to sit in the gardens one afternoon. Beautiful plantings, a firepit and water garden. The InnKeepers are very gracious.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2Trvl034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    34
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
25
128
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Albany, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Old St Angela Inn is a cozy and charming bed and breakfast. Comfortable and nicely decorated rooms, a wonderful garden, excellent breakfast in the morning. Only a block from the ocean where you can walk along the beautiful rugged coast line. A real gem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jog4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitola, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed here for our anniversary in September...total last minute & boy it was awesome the Inn Keepers are so nice & friendly took very good care of us & all the goodies & food were yummy. We had a greaden view room on the bottom floor & it was so nice & cozy. We hung out in the graden by the gas fire pit & just enjoyed the calm quiet morning taking it all in. We were only there for the night but plan to return so.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Our first impression when we arrived at this B&B was its coziness. Just a short walk from the bustling town and beaches, make this place so convenient but peaceful. Room was comfortable, and the fireplace make us feel at home. Breakfast was great, and our son was looking forward to the surprise on the next meal! During our stay, the living room was so crowded during the afternoon tea, so we just grab our snack and headed to our room.
If asked whether we would stay here again, the answer would be YES!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asianchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, California
Level Contributor
260 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

B&Bs can be hit or miss propositions - you never really know what you're going to get until you arrive. So it was a great experience to find a place that exceeded our expectations in most respects. The room was large, well-furnished and very comfortable. Some of the rooms have great views of Monterey Bay. The breakfast was perfectly prepare from scratch and filling. They served a snack with wine at 4:30 and had coffee/tea/cookies available all day long. Our hosts were helpful and attentive to our needs and questions. The parlor was also large and comfortable. I put myself up there for a couple hours while my wife went shopping nearby in Monterey (only a few minutes away). I even found a good book to read on the shelves. Only two, very minor negatives. The bathroom in our room was very small - not missing any functionality, just small. And the bed's comfort level was only so-so, but since I am prejudiced by an incomparably comfortable bed at home, my ratings of hotel beds are not to be trusted. As with any first class B&B in a popular area, the price is a bit on the high side, but definitely worth it for a one-night getaway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Rooms are lovely. The staff are very warm & friendly. The morning breakfast and afternoon wine, tea & appetizer are phenomenal. Convenient location-Short walk to Monterey's Old Cannery Row, beaches, & shopping.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 7578112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
467 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Oct 24-27, 2012
I stayed here for 3 comfortable nights. I based my selection on the TA reviews and web site. Coming down from Highway 1 through Seaside and Monterey, this property is not hard to find. There is plenty of street parking in this very safe neighborhood. Dianne McKneely warmly welcomed us, showed us around, informed us about the complimentary
wine/tea service from 4:30 to 6:00, and showed us to our room.
The reason this B&B doesn't earn a 5-star rating, is basicly because I elected to select one of the smallest rooms, Otter Cove. The price-to-size of the room is correct. The bed is, I believe, a double, but extremely comfortable. I will admit that I have never before slept 10.5 hours. The size of the room meant stumbling to find the bathroom during the night. The toilet seat faces a wall about 12" away. There is a mustiness around the toilet area. I can hear the adjacent guests through the party walls.
The breakfasts are outstanding and done with imagination. I usually like to eat early, so breakfast beginning at 8:30 is a bit late for me.
I always found Dianne and Jerry to be friendly and engaging as well as helpful regarding the resto and day trip options. Downtown Pacific Grove and Asilomar is within a mile, and Carmel is just beyond 17-Mile Drive.
If you choose one of the larger rooms, this place is ideal--look no farther.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank alohatripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.0 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Martine Inn
Martine Inn
#3 of 8 in Pacific Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old St. Angela Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old St. Angela Inn

Property: The Old St. Angela Inn
Address: 321 Central Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2934
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Old St. Angela Hotel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing