We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Feel at home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old St. Angela Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pacific Grove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old St. Angela Inn
Save
You added The Old St. Angela Inn to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Feel at home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Our first impression when we arrived at this B&B was its coziness. Just a short walk from the bustling town and beaches, make this place so convenient but peaceful. Room was comfortable, and the fireplace make us feel at home. Breakfast was great, and our son was looking forward to the surprise on the next meal! During our stay, the living room was so crowded during the afternoon tea, so we just grab our snack and headed to our room.
If asked whether we would stay here again, the answer would be YES!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asianchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    33
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
25
119
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Piedmont, California
Level Contributor
252 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

B&Bs can be hit or miss propositions - you never really know what you're going to get until you arrive. So it was a great experience to find a place that exceeded our expectations in most respects. The room was large, well-furnished and very comfortable. Some of the rooms have great views of Monterey Bay. The breakfast was perfectly prepare from scratch and filling. They served a snack with wine at 4:30 and had coffee/tea/cookies available all day long. Our hosts were helpful and attentive to our needs and questions. The parlor was also large and comfortable. I put myself up there for a couple hours while my wife went shopping nearby in Monterey (only a few minutes away). I even found a good book to read on the shelves. Only two, very minor negatives. The bathroom in our room was very small - not missing any functionality, just small. And the bed's comfort level was only so-so, but since I am prejudiced by an incomparably comfortable bed at home, my ratings of hotel beds are not to be trusted. As with any first class B&B in a popular area, the price is a bit on the high side, but definitely worth it for a one-night getaway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Rooms are lovely. The staff are very warm & friendly. The morning breakfast and afternoon wine, tea & appetizer are phenomenal. Convenient location-Short walk to Monterey's Old Cannery Row, beaches, & shopping.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 7578112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
464 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Oct 24-27, 2012
I stayed here for 3 comfortable nights. I based my selection on the TA reviews and web site. Coming down from Highway 1 through Seaside and Monterey, this property is not hard to find. There is plenty of street parking in this very safe neighborhood. Dianne McKneely warmly welcomed us, showed us around, informed us about the complimentary
wine/tea service from 4:30 to 6:00, and showed us to our room.
The reason this B&B doesn't earn a 5-star rating, is basicly because I elected to select one of the smallest rooms, Otter Cove. The price-to-size of the room is correct. The bed is, I believe, a double, but extremely comfortable. I will admit that I have never before slept 10.5 hours. The size of the room meant stumbling to find the bathroom during the night. The toilet seat faces a wall about 12" away. There is a mustiness around the toilet area. I can hear the adjacent guests through the party walls.
The breakfasts are outstanding and done with imagination. I usually like to eat early, so breakfast beginning at 8:30 is a bit late for me.
I always found Dianne and Jerry to be friendly and engaging as well as helpful regarding the resto and day trip options. Downtown Pacific Grove and Asilomar is within a mile, and Carmel is just beyond 17-Mile Drive.
If you choose one of the larger rooms, this place is ideal--look no farther.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank alohatripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
163 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have been to PG several times and love the area. Chose this place based on reviews. I don't want to be hovered over at all, but the feeling here was a well oiled business, not a welcoming "gee we are glad your here" vibe. The place is spotless and as a well run business they seem to have thought of everything a traveler might want in a B&B except warmth and sincerity. The location is a couple of blocks from the water on a busy street. Rooms on the front are noisy at night as well as in the morning. Additionally with an uncovered skylight, morning comes too early and the breakfast room is all windows so you need your sunglasses to eat unless you want to be blinded by the light.
I actually left my phone charger cord there. I didn't realize it for a couple of days. When I called Diane, the owner said she indeed had it. Wouldn't a courtesy call have been a nice gesture. She said shed get it off to me the next day which she did -- for a price. To be sent 90 miles via UPS cost me $14 -- for a cord. Feels really rip off to me. I'm sure I paid for her gas to drive 2 blocks. Just didn't make me feel like I want that experience again. So sad ....

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tunasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Outstanding hospitality, fantastic beakfasts, great location. Annex is best value but rooms are very small. Avoid room off of dinning room (might be too noisy). Great location for visiting acquarium. Rooms are very clean. Afternoon snacks well worth participating in.

Room Tip: Excellent value, fantastic location, best B and B breakfast ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Great location. The breakfast was excellent and so was the room. However, the reception was odd. We got there at 6pm because we were traveling and got stuck in traffic. The gentleman (we assumed one of the proprietors) was a little curt and showed us to our room. He never asked if we needed anything or inquired if we wanted to know where to go for dinner. He was clearing up the wine and munchies and closed the door behind him. We were left with trying to figure out where to get dinner on our own. We found a map and went walking and found a thai restaurant which was good. For a b&b there was more interaction between the guests than the owners. I found that odd as most places are very engaging.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trippingcalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.7 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,819 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
1.6 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.1 mi away
Martine Inn
Martine Inn
#3 of 8 in Pacific Grove
4.5 of 5 stars 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old St. Angela Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old St. Angela Inn

Property: The Old St. Angela Inn
Address: 321 Central Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2934
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Old St. Angela Hotel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing