We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a welcome feeling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old St. Angela Inn
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
195 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Not a welcome feeling”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have been to PG several times and love the area. Chose this place based on reviews. I don't want to be hovered over at all, but the feeling here was a well oiled business, not a welcoming "gee we are glad your here" vibe. The place is spotless and as a well run business they seem to have thought of everything a traveler might want in a B&B except warmth and sincerity. The location is a couple of blocks from the water on a busy street. Rooms on the front are noisy at night as well as in the morning. Additionally with an uncovered skylight, morning comes too early and the breakfast room is all windows so you need your sunglasses to eat unless you want to be blinded by the light.
I actually left my phone charger cord there. I didn't realize it for a couple of days. When I called Diane, the owner said she indeed had it. Wouldn't a courtesy call have been a nice gesture. She said shed get it off to me the next day which she did -- for a price. To be sent 90 miles via UPS cost me $14 -- for a cord. Feels really rip off to me. I'm sure I paid for her gas to drive 2 blocks. Just didn't make me feel like I want that experience again. So sad ....

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tunasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    34
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
25
131
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Outstanding hospitality, fantastic beakfasts, great location. Annex is best value but rooms are very small. Avoid room off of dinning room (might be too noisy). Great location for visiting acquarium. Rooms are very clean. Afternoon snacks well worth participating in.

Room Tip: Excellent value, fantastic location, best B and B breakfast ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Great location. The breakfast was excellent and so was the room. However, the reception was odd. We got there at 6pm because we were traveling and got stuck in traffic. The gentleman (we assumed one of the proprietors) was a little curt and showed us to our room. He never asked if we needed anything or inquired if we wanted to know where to go for dinner. He was clearing up the wine and munchies and closed the door behind him. We were left with trying to figure out where to get dinner on our own. We found a map and went walking and found a thai restaurant which was good. For a b&b there was more interaction between the guests than the owners. I found that odd as most places are very engaging.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trippingcalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Great location to the aquarium, beach, and main street in Pacific Grove. The breakfast was good and the room was comfortable. The outdoor fire pit and living room space were very warm inviting. The morning staff was friendly and helpful, though it was a bit odd to not see the proprietors in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMR111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of visiting the Monterey area, and stayed at The Old St. Angela Inn. I had stayed here a few years ago, and this was another great visit. The owners, employees, gardens, rooms, breakfasts, afternoon snacks, all were fantastic. We hope to return again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riorobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The Old St Angela Inn is in a good location and provides very friendly service. Coffee and biscuits are always available, which is a nice touch. Although we arrived too late for "afternoon tea" the breakfast was excellent. Our room was in the main body of the house and provided a comfortable bed and good ensuite facilities. The only minor criticism was that it was a little dark.

It is very difficult to find fault with the Old St Angela (except perhaps that it's quite pricey) but we have come to the conclusion that we are simply not B&B people. The decor and furnishings are very quaint and the general ambience really made us feel that we were intruders in someones house and, on balance, we prefer the more impersonal nature of a hotel.

Please don't let my comments above put you off the Old St Angela as somewhere to stay, it's really very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Touring_Bikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

We stopped here on our way from SF to LA. The owners are both extremely nice and welcoming, and the Inn is very comfortable. They have cookies and appetizers every night and breakfast was delicious. The inn is only one block from the beach, and a few blocks walk from the aquarium and Cannery Street.
I highly recommend this place for a stay in Monterey.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LBpsu83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.7 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
1,966 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
0.1 mi away
Martine Inn
Martine Inn
#3 of 8 in Pacific Grove
439 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old St. Angela Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old St. Angela Inn

Property: The Old St. Angela Inn
Address: 321 Central Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2934
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old St. Angela Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Old St. Angela Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old St. Angela Hotel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing