We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely return!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old St. Angela Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Will definitely return!”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Very much enjoyed my stay at Old St Angela Inn. Will heartily recommend it! Pros--clean, comfortable, quiet, room; within walking distance to the Monterey Bay Aquarium, ocean, and nice restaurants. They have a nice coffee/tea station setup with cookies. Plenty of extra touches to make you comfortable--fireplace, games, books, wifi, but no tv (which is a good thing when trying to have a romantic, relaxing weekend). Breakfast was nice--fruit, pastries, yogurt, granola, french toast croissants w/ bacon.

Cons,...mmm. No "real" ones. Should probably put info on wifi access (password/WEP key) in room so that you can get to the internet easily at night after the hosts have turned in for the evening. (...I guess I could have called the hosts, who were quite gracious, but I just didn't think it would have been very polite to bug someone at 11pm just to get a password. I survived just fine w/o the internet for 1 night...)

I had a lovely visit and I'm looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wynwzrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    34
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
26
133
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

I see a lot of websites for B&B's and I realize that what I want them to look and sound like is The Old St Angela Inn. We've stayed there twice and each time, it was just WONDERFUL. The property sits just one block from the beautiful ocean walk in Pacific Grove and a short walk from the town center.
Each of the rooms is spacious, clean, beautifully decorated and thoughtfully laid out. Our first visit, we stayed in the Crow's Nest. We had a view of the blue Pacific from our bed. The second time we stayed in the Nantucket room. No view, but just a stones throw from the breakfast common room. This made us feel like we were staying at Grandma's house, as there is a constant supply of coffee, decaf, tea, soft drinks and cake or cookies available.
Some places say they're going to give you a sumptuous breakfast, but this place really delivers a gourmet treat. You can smell the fresh baked, scratch muffins from the time you wake up. The ever courteous owner served us an artichoke-red pepper strata and crispy (non greasy) hash browns. I can still taste its, it was so delicious. And, always accompanying it is fruit salad, fresh muffins and whole fruit.
We were attending the Pebble Beach Pro/Am, and when we returned to the inn at the end of the day, she had a tea time treat set out. Lots of cheese and crackers, hummus, olive tapenade, cookies, fruit, and a rum coffee cake that was out of this world. We sat in the comfy living room and chatted with the other guests. Everyone had pursued something different that day, biking along the gorgeous ocean front or hiking in the local Big Sur mountains.
This place is just wonderful. I wish you could see it. I want to go back soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zippypurplekitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We have stayed here numerous times and have never had a bad experience! Some of the rooms are not very large, but all the baths have Jacuzzi Tubs & wonderful linens & accessories. The king bed room is spacious enough for a longer than one night stay with a view of the garden & quiet location. Last year for our wedding anniversary we stayed three nights, and on the first night we were surprised when we went to our room after greeting the owners there was an iced bottle of nice Champagne! A very generous touch! Their breakfasts are to die for and served in a greenhouse type of breakfast room, and if warm enough you can sit on the brick patio in the garden w/ a fountain/stream & a firepit. Perfect sitting room for reading & the "tea" time in the afternoon is also wine & delicious hors d'oeuvres(you could make a meal!) A romantic & relaxing time!

Room Tip: The balcony room in the front has ocean views but can be a bit noisy as it faces the street. We love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaLynnie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Very accomodating hostess who can cook the most delicious breakfasts! Their wine and late afternoon appetizers were so welcomed after our drive down from San Francisco. Our rooms off the garden were small but the public areas of the house are inviting and comfortable. The famous aquarium and bay is close by this nice picturesque neighborhood. And the surprise was to see deer wandering down to their home in the park! Restaurant recommendation of Joe Rombis was right-on. We highly recommend this inn.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peetsheets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We were referred here by another B&B and it turned out to be great! We stayed in the Otter Cove room, which as mentioned was small, but adequate for our needs. We ended up staying two nights because of the great location. Our room was off the garden and was very quiet. We could park near our room with off street parking (a few spots), but on street was easy as well. Very clean. Free WiFi. But the best part is the location which is close to the beach, close to the Aquarium, close to the Monarch preserve. We walked everywhere. The B&B had a lot of selection for breakfast, serving a hot breakfast, but also fresh muffins, fruit, cereals, juices and breads were available. To top that they leave apples and oranges and fresh cookies out during the day. The cookies and all their baked goods were to die for. They also had a lovely tea time with complimentary wine and appetizers. We loved hanging out in the living room by the fire, enjoying wine and hot artichoke dip and grapes while we chatted with the other guests and exchanged "to do" ideas. The hosts were very friendly, helpful and informative...but really, go for the location and the cookies!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed in the Otter Cove room which had a window seat overlooking the lovely garden. The room is a bit small so if you're looking for more space, try one of the other rooms. It suited us just fine. The hosts were very hospitable and the breakfast and afternoon refreshments were yummy. Our room was very clean and had cute decorative touches. A great B&B!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyQZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbrae, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Gracious hosts, scrumptious breakfasts, perfect location, and clean, comfortable rooms. Everything is nearby - -Acquarium, Lover's Point, excellent restaurants, and the quaint downtown of Pacific Grove. Just one block from the Bay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank californian10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.7 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,981 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
0.1 mi away
Martine Inn
Martine Inn
#2 of 8 in Pacific Grove
449 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old St. Angela Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old St. Angela Inn

Property: The Old St. Angela Inn
Address: 321 Central Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2934
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old St. Angela Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Old St. Angela Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old St. Angela Hotel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing