We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Place but Accommodations Are Just Ordinary”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Olympia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Olympia Lodge
Santa Clara, California, USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly Place but Accommodations Are Just Ordinary”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Two queen beds occupy most of the smallish room. The rest of the space is filled with a pair of oversize rattan easy chairs. There is no writing surface and no chair to sit at a writing surface. The room featured a teeny bathroom -yes, teeny not tiny. We had an oversize analog TV; the owners should spring for HD TV sets. Well, the staff was welcoming and friendly. The room was clean and tidy

Room Tip: try another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wymanvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    77
    60
    34
    19
See reviews for
66
98
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
194 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have stayed here many times and always very happy with our stay. We always upgrade to room 209. No elevator so if stairs are o.k. we think this is BEST room. Top floor corner room very quiet large room with king bed, small fridge, micro , coffee pot and hair dryer. We have never had a problem with wifi service. Front desk always friendly and very helpful. Breakfast very small area and minimal choices. Cold cereal, juice, bagels, English muffins, jam, cream cheese, butter and big plus peanut butter YEAH. Oh of course coffee and teas and coco. Would highly recommend and with TravelZoo deals can't be beat

Room Tip: I,m sure all rooms great but upgrade to balcony top floor room if stairs aren't probmem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Located just minutes from the beach in Pacific Grove. Walking distance to beach, Point Pinos Lighthouse, and golf course. Room was in fine condition. Not wonderful or new, however clean and in good condition. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast had coffee, tea, milk, juice, cereal, yogurt, donuts, bagels, pastries, toast, oatmeal....Price was good, room was fine, location was wonderful. Had a view of the ocean from our room.

Room Tip: Some second floor rooms have a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ack31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Overall a good experience. It is very close to the Point Pinos Lighthouse and the beach so I can't complain too much. Front desk was friendly. Breakfast was cereal, fruit, yogurt etc. - no hard boiled eggs - which seems to be the norm everywhere. Room was clean and I liked the sliding shutter door entry - except that there were no windows to let fresh air in unless you wanted to use the screen door. Other negative was NO hairdryer and the biggest negative for my hubby was very spotty internet. I don't know if it's just the area or this place, but it made for difficult phone calls. Also, if you return late to the hotel good luck finding parking. We had to park on the street both nights.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heidid377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Room is spare and clean. Tiny bathroom was missing soap and shampoo when we arrived, but cheerful service made up for that. Sliding louvers are annoying, don't really keep light out. Overall, for bare bones accommodations at a good price with a gorgeous location, you can't do better.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RHTraveler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We've been coming here for 30+ years. You can't beat the location & the comfortable size of the rooms. It's quiet & within walking distance of the beach paths, and (if you're up to it) restaurants. However, the bathrooms are definitely dated and very, very small. The shower heads' water misers make it a challenge to rinse your body, not to mention get shampoo out of your hair.

Yes, the place is old, and can smell stuffy when you first get into your room. But you're near the ocean, so just open up the sliders & air out the room. We have always found the staff to be friendly and accommodating.

The continental breakfast is more than adequate. 2 cereals, teas, coffee, yogurt, fruit, rolls, bagels, donuts, etc., vary from day to day.

And if you're unhappy because the TV is small (which it will be), then stay home. Pacific Grove is a getaway.

Room Tip: Higher rooms with balconies can give you a peek of the ocean through the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nickie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

As another commenter expressed the front desk makes it clear that they are sold out and there will be no possible way to change rooms..This would have been fine if we got the room we paid for in advance but got stuck in a cramped room with two beds for just my boyfriend and I. Called the front desk to ask why we had been placed in this room and he proceeded to tell me that after I made our reservation people paid more to upgrade pushing us down to the bottom of the list without even knowing... Thanks Olympia Lodge I am so happy I get to spend my Christmas gift in a cramped room with no balcony no view and not even a courtesy call to say we could of upgraded before you sold all the rooms to "higher bidders" ... Poor hospitality.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank Kelli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pacific Grove hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.1 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
1.9 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.8 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#6 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
#13 of 17 in Pacific Grove
3.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#2 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages
Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages
#1 of 4 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympia Lodge

Property: Olympia Lodge
Address: 1140 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2398
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Olympia Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olympia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympia Hotel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing