We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Olympia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Olympia Lodge
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Located just minutes from the beach in Pacific Grove. Walking distance to beach, Point Pinos Lighthouse, and golf course. Room was in fine condition. Not wonderful or new, however clean and in good condition. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast had coffee, tea, milk, juice, cereal, yogurt, donuts, bagels, pastries, toast, oatmeal....Price was good, room was fine, location was wonderful. Had a view of the ocean from our room.

Room Tip: Some second floor rooms have a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ack31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 239 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

Overall a good experience. It is very close to the Point Pinos Lighthouse and the beach so I can't complain too much. Front desk was friendly. Breakfast was cereal, fruit, yogurt etc. - no hard boiled eggs - which seems to be the norm everywhere. Room was clean and I liked the sliding shutter door entry - except that there were no windows to let fresh air in unless you wanted to use the screen door. Other negative was NO hairdryer and the biggest negative for my hubby was very spotty internet. I don't know if it's just the area or this place, but it made for difficult phone calls. Also, if you return late to the hotel good luck finding parking. We had to park on the street both nights.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heidid377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Room is spare and clean. Tiny bathroom was missing soap and shampoo when we arrived, but cheerful service made up for that. Sliding louvers are annoying, don't really keep light out. Overall, for bare bones accommodations at a good price with a gorgeous location, you can't do better.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RHTraveler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We've been coming here for 30+ years. You can't beat the location & the comfortable size of the rooms. It's quiet & within walking distance of the beach paths, and (if you're up to it) restaurants. However, the bathrooms are definitely dated and very, very small. The shower heads' water misers make it a challenge to rinse your body, not to mention get shampoo out of your hair.

Yes, the place is old, and can smell stuffy when you first get into your room. But you're near the ocean, so just open up the sliders & air out the room. We have always found the staff to be friendly and accommodating.

The continental breakfast is more than adequate. 2 cereals, teas, coffee, yogurt, fruit, rolls, bagels, donuts, etc., vary from day to day.

And if you're unhappy because the TV is small (which it will be), then stay home. Pacific Grove is a getaway.

Room Tip: Higher rooms with balconies can give you a peek of the ocean through the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nickie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

As another commenter expressed the front desk makes it clear that they are sold out and there will be no possible way to change rooms..This would have been fine if we got the room we paid for in advance but got stuck in a cramped room with two beds for just my boyfriend and I. Called the front desk to ask why we had been placed in this room and he proceeded to tell me that after I made our reservation people paid more to upgrade pushing us down to the bottom of the list without even knowing... Thanks Olympia Lodge I am so happy I get to spend my Christmas gift in a cramped room with no balcony no view and not even a courtesy call to say we could of upgraded before you sold all the rooms to "higher bidders" ... Poor hospitality.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
11  Thank Kelli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Very friendly staff who were quite upbeat and helpful. Nice room, not too small, not too big, just right for two singles traveling together. Some gripe about the "sliding door" entrances but I found it different and not a problem; gave a lot more light into the room if wanted.

We got there a bit early and room wasn't ready so they allowed us and some other friends who were staying at another hotel to convene in their small lounge area an share some wine and beer we had brought with us; no problem.

Nice selection of muffins and bagels for a morning snack.

All in all, quite nice and reasonable for Pacific Grove.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDFunSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

You can hardly get closer to some very nice attractions in Pacific Grove. We came here using a Groupon rate, so of course the price was amazing.

The staff is very nice. The rooms are simple but very clean and well maintained. Don't come here for the view. Come here for the quiet and access to whatever you want to do in Pacific Grove - the ocean, butterfly garden, etc.

Room Tip: Get your discount coupon for An Choi restaurant next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CalifTravelerOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.1 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
933 reviews
1.9 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0 mi away
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
#13 of 17 in Pacific Grove
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
0.8 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#7 of 17 in Pacific Grove
864 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympia Lodge

Address: 1140 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2398
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Pacific Grove
Price Range: $93 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Olympia Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Olympia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympia Hotel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing