We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite 4 dots, but close”
Review of Olympia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Olympia Lodge
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not quite 4 dots, but close”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We've been coming here for 30+ years. You can't beat the location & the comfortable size of the rooms. It's quiet & within walking distance of the beach paths, and (if you're up to it) restaurants. However, the bathrooms are definitely dated and very, very small. The shower heads' water misers make it a challenge to rinse your body, not to mention get shampoo out of your hair.

Yes, the place is old, and can smell stuffy when you first get into your room. But you're near the ocean, so just open up the sliders & air out the room. We have always found the staff to be friendly and accommodating.

The continental breakfast is more than adequate. 2 cereals, teas, coffee, yogurt, fruit, rolls, bagels, donuts, etc., vary from day to day.

And if you're unhappy because the TV is small (which it will be), then stay home. Pacific Grove is a getaway.

Room Tip: Higher rooms with balconies can give you a peek of the ocean through the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nickie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    78
    61
    34
    19
See reviews for
68
99
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

As another commenter expressed the front desk makes it clear that they are sold out and there will be no possible way to change rooms..This would have been fine if we got the room we paid for in advance but got stuck in a cramped room with two beds for just my boyfriend and I. Called the front desk to ask why we had been placed in this room and he proceeded to tell me that after I made our reservation people paid more to upgrade pushing us down to the bottom of the list without even knowing... Thanks Olympia Lodge I am so happy I get to spend my Christmas gift in a cramped room with no balcony no view and not even a courtesy call to say we could of upgraded before you sold all the rooms to "higher bidders" ... Poor hospitality.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank Kelli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pacific Grove hotels

SDFunSun
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Very friendly staff who were quite upbeat and helpful. Nice room, not too small, not too big, just right for two singles traveling together. Some gripe about the "sliding door" entrances but I found it different and not a problem; gave a lot more light into the room if wanted.

We got there a bit early and room wasn't ready so they allowed us and some other friends who were staying at another hotel to convene in their small lounge area an share some wine and beer we had brought with us; no problem.

Nice selection of muffins and bagels for a morning snack.

All in all, quite nice and reasonable for Pacific Grove.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDFunSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

You can hardly get closer to some very nice attractions in Pacific Grove. We came here using a Groupon rate, so of course the price was amazing.

The staff is very nice. The rooms are simple but very clean and well maintained. Don't come here for the view. Come here for the quiet and access to whatever you want to do in Pacific Grove - the ocean, butterfly garden, etc.

Room Tip: Get your discount coupon for An Choi restaurant next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalifTravelerOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Hotel is old and musty. If you have any allergies or breathing issues stay away. We stayed one night and when we got home our clothes smelled musty. I woke up with breathing issues due to the mold in the room. I think 3 star rating is wrong. I gave it a two star because the room was clean and staff friendly. But what a health hazard.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Budalinek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay here. The room was very nicely decorated and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only thing that could use improvement, would be to update the T.V.'s.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debo675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We just returned form a 2 night stay (Jan 18-20) at The Olympia Lodge using a Groupon Voucher ($119 for 2 nights). We were in room 212, vaulted ceilings, 2 Queen Beds, armoire 2 chairs & ottomans, a closet and small bathroom. We arrived a little after 5PM and entered the room via a sliding glass door, which as others have said is a bit strange. Immediately we were hit with sauna like heat, someone apparently left the radiant baseboard heat on. It was so hot we couldn't stay in the room as my family and I broke out in a sweat. We contacted the front desk and they said said, just leave the door open to air it out, it should be OK within the hour. Sure, but how can we leave and lock up when the only access is a sliding glass door? Answer is, you can't. We waited the hour or so and it got a bit cooler but not tremendously.
While stripping off our clothes waiting to cool down, we surveyed the room and notices a few very noticeable flaws. (Please see the photos). The first was the closet, missing a handle and while they were on track they were only on a top track, which left them swinging if you touched them.
The second was the shower head, I'm 6'3" tall and the shower head was at my shoulder, I had to do the limbo to wash my hair.
Third was the bottle cap next to the armoire, no explanation needed.
Last but not least was the bed, the picture is exactly as we found it. The pillows compress so much they shouldn't bother putting them on the rather hard bed. My back & neck are certainly paying the price of $64.50/night.

We did not take advantage of the Continental Breakfast, so I can't comment on the deliciousness of the offerings.

The location is good. The woman at the front desk was very pleasant. The sunsets at the beach are beautiful.

Is it worth the Voucher Prices? Probably, but as the old adage goes, You get what you pay for.

Would I stay here again? No.

As to why we did not complain to the front desk about all the issues, it was made clear to us as we checked in that they were completely booked for the weekend and felt it would have been a futile request to change rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank NYer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.1 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#2 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
1.9 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.8 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#6 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
#13 of 17 in Pacific Grove
3.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages
Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages
#1 of 4 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympia Lodge

Property: Olympia Lodge
Address: 1140 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2398
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Olympia Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Olympia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympia Hotel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing