We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OMG the Beef Bourguignon . **To Die For**” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Normandie - CLOSED

Le Normandie
Cuisines: French, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Seal Beach, SO CA USA
Level Contributor
181 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“OMG the Beef Bourguignon . **To Die For**”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Exceptional evening! And OMG** the Beef Bourguignon was 2 DIE 4!
Greeted by our lovely/gracious/enthusiastic owner, maitre d', wine sommelier, and waitress Marie Christine, we enjoyed a "dinner to die for", feeling as if we were right in France!
Through the no-rush evening, we enjoyed live classical jazz in the background at just the right volume. While Marie greeted new arrivals - most by first name- and bounced around from table to table making sure all our needs were met.
Marie's husband, Frances, is the chef, while their daughter-in-law Natasha is also a young upbeat waitress, along with her husband (and son of the owners) Chris helped.
All in all, one of the best French experiences! And we found it on YELP & TripAdvisor!

Menu & wine list is hand-written and changes weekly. HELLO, do you ever see this in a restaurant? Marie arrives in the morning to cook and prepare for the evening with her husband/chef. The bread is made on the premises. These people care about your experience, and it shows! Le Normandie is destined for greatness! If Trip Advisor had 6 stars, Le Normanie qualifies!

We travel extensively, as I am married to a flight attendant with a top airline. We have experienced numerous restaurants in France, and this was a WINNER!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    10
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best food and service we have ever had!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

Christine the owner and the waitress treated us like we were long time friends. The food was excellent, the music and the atmosphere was great. After having dinner at Le Normandie's the first night in town, we loved it so much, we canceled our reservations at another restaurant the second night and went back to Le Normandie!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ERICnLEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing, best duck confit this side of the Atlantic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

I am not sure what I like more, the food or the wonderful family who owns the place. We have eaten in every good restaurant in pg and this place is by far our favorite. Not to be missed.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Munastravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmel, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“On a regular basis, it is consistantly the best restaurant I have eaten at in the Area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

Family owned, family operated, Le Normandie has been a favorite of ours for the past 8 years. When in doubt of where to go, we always go there. We can always count on the food being consistent great, and the family service perfection. Favorites are, salmon with fresh tarragon sauce... nothing like it anywhere. Bread fresh out of the oven. Desserts are always great... from the traditional home made French apple tart, the warm triple fudge brownie with a scoop of gelato, or the fresh triple cream cheesecake with a double thick crust.

No matter what your order it will be perfect.

The family hails from the region of Normandy in France and the food is a reflection of that.

how often do we eat there? WEEKLY!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank nicholas b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfectly executed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

I'm do not want to repeat too much that has already been written, great atmosphere, acoustic guitar player, lovely food, fresh bread and the lobster bisque was sooo perfect and all the wine choices were fabulous. The main courses were cooked perfectly.

I wish the family all the best for the future and hope the chef continues to innovate/create and enjoys bringing a smile to each and every diner.

It's just a shame we didn't have the space to share a dessert.

Thank you!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scoobeesnac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Normandie also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing