We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Very Nice Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lovers Point Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lovers Point Inn
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Carver, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Very Nice Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We had a very pleasant stay in this clean, efficient, nicely decorated inn. The staff was pleasant and very helpful with directions and dining suggestions. It is in a beautiful location and from the second floor the views of the ocean and park were lovely. It's very convenient to the Monterey Bay piers and aquarium and is surrounded by a great variety of restaurants.

Room Tip: The second and third floors have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas W, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Betsey W,

Thank you for taking the time to review Lovers Point Inn. I'll be sure to pass on your positive comments about our staff. We take pride in our hotel and your words mean a lot to us. We're glad you enjoyed our location, views, and it sounds like you had a great time in Pacific Grove! We hope to see you again soon, thanks again.

Thomas W.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    232
    128
    61
    35
See reviews for
142
382
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed here on our honeymoon that was booked by our travel agent...and it was terrible. Our room was shockingly bad... Our view was the main floor elevator, it was used frequently and it was very loud, people using our window as a mirror while waiting for the elevator, then realizing we are in our room trying to relax. We did close our curtains which made our room depressing during the day. No AC & we couldn't open our window at night for air because of the elevator/ ice machine and vending machine that was running constantly. When we arrived we asked to be moved to another room that night or the following day, they said they had rooms available but we were told we would have to pay for the room and would not receive a refund for the other room... Would rather sleep in my car then have to stay there again...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas W, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Melissa V,

Thank you for taking the time to review Lovers Point Inn. I'm sorry our rooms did not meet your expectations. Since our location does have exterior corridors, rooms next to our glass elevator will hear an audible noise from the elevator in use. I apologize for the inconvenience. I will bring up your concerns with management and see if there is something we can do to address your comments. Thanks again for your review.

Sincerely,

Thomas W.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

The room looks NOTHING like the picture shown. I had a terrible stay, barely slept afraid some insect would crawl on me, or worse, thinking there were bed bugs!! I would NEVER recommend anyone stay here. I want my $$ back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonrisas79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas W, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear sonrisas79,

Thanks for taking the time to review Lovers Point Inn. We take pride in our cleanliness and would never allow guests to be exposed to insects. Our location has never had bed bugs, in fact, all of our beds are brand new. I'm sorry you had trouble sleeping, next time we will be more than happy to have our maintenance inspect your room to give you the peace of mind that your room is free of any unwelcome guests.

Sincerely,

Thomas W.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Stains on the carpet, mold on the shower curtain, the walls thin paper. This place is a beach shack hotel: good if you want to walk to Lover's Point & don't care if where you stay is loud & grimy. Otherwise, try one of the many other inns nearby.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cateperry123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas W, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear cateperry123,

Thanks for taking the time to review Lovers Point Inn. I'm sorry our rooms did not meet your expectations. We work extremely hard to ensure our rooms are clean and comfortable. I've never before heard of guests seeing mold or stains on our carpet. I will have our head housekeeper personally inspect each one of our rooms to ensure we're keeping up with our own cleanliness standards.

Sincerely,

Thomas W.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Basically it's the location that sells and the service is not dreadfully bad. (As long as you have nothing to complain about.) From reading everyone else's review; ours was nothing in comparison - and we didn't complain during our three day stay. We booked 6 weeks in advance, requested third floor;...thank you, past the elevators and opposite end, furthest from the stairs. Clean room, working fan, comfy bed but NO roller bed per my request to have in my room prior to my arrival. Daughter had to sleep on the floor like a dog; so sad...but she was not complaining. Breakfast was nicely presented, which is now the standard in lots of overnight stays and much appreciated. The morning of our check out, my husband reminded me to inform the front desk to not reserve our room until they have someone check the tub. We were not able to use it 'AT ALL' because the tub was not draining. It could of been worst...if everything was tops, guess what? You' be paying an average of $350 a night...overall we enjoyed our stay. IT'S THE LOCATION...and price was affordable for the stay. Thanks for trying Lover's Point Inn staff; maybe next time.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas W, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Katherine S,

Thanks for taking the time to review Lovers Point Inn. I'm glad you enjoyed our location and breakfast as well. I'm sorry to hear about your roll-out bed, I will address this with our front desk staff to ensure we are taking care of requests properly. Thanks again for your review!

Sincerely,

Thomas W.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our family stayed here over the weekend for a wedding. The room had two very comfortable beds, but was a little cramped. We have a 1 and 4 year old so with all of their stuff the room felt a little tight, but it was ok. There is no AC so we were very hot at night, even with the windows open. They provided 2 fans but it didn't help. It was older but clean, and they provided breakfast which was cereal, bagels, toast, yogurt, etc. not fancy but fine for us.
The best thing about the place was the location. You are right across from great beaches for kids, rocks to climb on, and you can easily walk the trail into Monterey if you don't want to drive. We saw dolphins, sea lions and otters in the morning. There are not too many restaurants nearby, but several along Lighthouse drive, just a quick drive away, as well as many restaurants in Monterey.
If you stay here, don't expect luxury, but it is a decent hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluepeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas W, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear bluepeople,

Thank you for taking the time to review Lovers Point Inn. I'm happy to hear that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable and enjoyed our location as well. I will look into the issues you addressed so we can ensure the best guest experience. Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Thomas W.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
o
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel looks way better on the website photos than in reality. The room was musty and dated and when I mentioned this to the person on the front desk, they didn't seem to care and said that all the rest of the rooms were full. Since I paid a lots of money for the room, this was disappointing.
Breakfast was okay- cereals and breads mainly, a simple self service type of scenario. The views outside the hotel are amazing...the location of the hotel in Pacific Grove is stunning and I enjoyed an early jog along the cliffs. Pity about the disappointing room...but top marks for location.

Room Tip: ask for room that is newer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liv52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas W, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear liv52,

Thank you for taking the time to review Lovers Point Inn. I'm glad you enjoyed our location and ocean views. I regret to hear that our rooms did not meet your expectations. Guest feedback is extremely important to us and helps us improve our guest experience. I will look into your concerns about our rooms and make sure we're exceeding guest expectations. Thanks again for your review.

Sincerely,

Thomas W.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,459 reviews
1.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.9 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 648 reviews
0.8 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lovers Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovers Point Inn

Property: Lovers Point Inn
Address: 625 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Lovers Point Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lovers Point Inn is located on the coast of historic Pacific Grove, California. Just moments from the beach, we are centrally located between Monterey and Pebble Beach. Within a mile is Cannery Row and the famous Monterey Bay Aquarium, as well as many choices for fine dining, shopping, and other family experiences. We have a variety of one and two bed rooms, many with ocean views. A perfect place for a getaway for the entire family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and TravelClick so you can book your Lovers Point Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lover`s Point Hotel Pacific Grove
Lovers Point Hotel
Lovers Point Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing