We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms, friendly staff”
Review of Lovers Point Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lovers Point Inn
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean rooms, friendly staff”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Was here on Easter Sunday 2014. Staff were very helpful and pleasant.
Room was beyond our expectations. Clean and comfortable. Able to hear noice and voices from other rooms but that is expected for the age of this building. Would stay here again. View from balcony was beautiful !!!!!

Room Tip: If you want to view ocean from room need second floor and higher, ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas W, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Carol H,

Thanks for taking the time to review Lovers Point Inn. We are so glad you chose to stay with us. I'm so happy to hear that you found our rooms clean and comfortable and enjoyed your ocean view. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Thomas W.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    275
    142
    70
    38
See reviews for
166
454
25
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Location is what makes this place a find. It is a typical old beach hotel. The view from the 2nd & 3rd floors are good, although you do look over a parking lot before seeing the ocean. It does have amenities like a refrigerator microwave oven and a continental breakfast. As long as you aren't expecting a 4 star hotel it is doable!!!!! Oh, it is a bit noisy!!!

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for the 2nd or 3rd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yaay4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas W, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear yaay4travel,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed our location and our ocean views as well. Thanks for choosing to stay with Lovers Point Inn and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Thomas
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

The Monterey Peninsula is paved with hotels and motels, so you should not have to settle for this shabby and tasteless place, and certainly not sight unseen! The waters of Monterey Bay could be seen from our third floor room, but only across the noisy parking lot of another motel. There were breezes from the Bay, but the air inside the room was stagnant and reeked of cleaning fluids. The room felt cluttered, you could barely turn around in the bathroom and the mattress was unstable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank No_Mas_Tomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas W, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear No_Mas_Tomas,

Thank you for taking the time to review Lovers Point Inn. I regret to hear that our rooms did not meet your expectations. We are working diligently to ensure a fantastic guest experience and your feedback is very important to us. We hope you can give us another try in the future, thanks for choosing to stay with Lovers Point Inn.

Sincerely,

Thomas
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We have stayed there several times, and would stay again. The location is one of the best things going for it. The beds are great and comfortable. The TVs are modern. Rooms come with a microwave and a refrigerator.

Some reviewers talk about the dated decor, and yes, there is some of that, but I think the view options, location and beds make up for that.

The staff have always been friendly and are accommodating. I am maybe more adaptable than some. This last stay, our bathroom fan was very noisy, but I appreciated it over many finer hotels I've stayed in that didn't have fans at all. The toilet needed some adjusting, but I knew how to work with a handle that needs to be pulled back up etc.

Yes, it could have used repairs, but we got a great price, and I wouldn't complain.

Room Tip: If you want a view room, make sure to ask for it. They do seems to offer discounts for AAA etc, or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoRayeA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas W, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear JoRayeA,

Thanks so much for your review. I'm happy to hear you found our beds comfortable and our staff will be happy to hear your positive comments about them as well. Thanks for choosing to stay with Lovers Point Inn, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American Fork, Utah
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We spent three days here. It was cheaper than most and the view were very pretty. I borke my foot and was on a scooter. There was no ramp only stairs everywhere so if you are going there with any disability do not stay here. It is just to hard. Our water was shut off for a couple of hours which wasn't too bad what was bad is they worked on the room until after 10 pm at night. They finally stopped after several people called and complained about how late they were working on it. Not to be to grafic but if you were in your bathroom (which are extremly small husband had to step into tub to shut the door) you could feel the floor vibrate. If you have more that 2 people in a double room it gets really crowded. I think a room with two people in it with a king bed would be better. The young man that was there when we checked in was really nice and welcoming. The older lady when we checked out not so much. She was very short and you could tell she was irritated just with having to deal with checking someone out of their room. If you want really cheap then stay here but if you want comforable and relaxing i wouldn't recommend it you do hear everything. I think next time we will pay the extra to stay somewhere with a view. It was handy to be so close to the beach but i dont' think it was worth what we paid for it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saldria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas W, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Saldria,

Thanks for taking the time to review the Lovers Point Inn. I'm so sorry you had a hard time navigating our property - I can certainly understand why you were frustrated. We take your comments seriously and we're sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. I've brought this up to Management so we can address how we can better serve disabled guests and I've also addressed the several other issues you mentioned. Thanks for choosing to stay with us (and I hope your foot gets better soon!)

Thomas W.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

If you are looking for a relatively cheap place to stay in a good location on the Monterey Peninsula, this place may be OK. But be aware that it is just a tired old motel with small, dated rooms. The only windows open onto the outside hallway that leads to all rooms so if you open the windows to let in light, everyone going to and from their rooms looks in at you. Our room was near the elevator which is very noisy (bot the elevator itself and the people standing waiting for it). During our stay, there was a problem with the water in one of the other rooms and our water was turned off for 2 hours. When we called to ask why we had no water we were told it would "only" be a couple of hours. Very inconvenient after a day of cycling when you can't have a shower (or flush your toilet). Breakfast is basic but adequate, the room was clean and fresh cookies at the front desk were a nice treat. The best feature of this motel is the location with Lover's Point right across the street. We wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas W, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Pam J,

Thanks for taking the time to review Lovers Point Inn. We are so sorry we had to shut the water off, there was an emergency repair that we worked diligently on to resolve as quickly as possible. I apologize for the inconvenience. I regret to hear that our rooms did not meet your expectations. We are continuously working on ensuring the best possible guest experience and appreciate the time you took to write a review. I'm glad you enjoyed the location of our property and the cleanliness of our rooms - that means a lot to us!

Thomas W.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Although the location is to be admired, this Inn is tired, dated, simple and I suspect surviving only because of it's location and aspirational name. I booked from London, expecting a little more romantic. Alas what I found was a throwback to the 1970's with plastic taps, brown carpets (I mean what hotel has brown carpet these days/) lighting almost archaic, decor picked out a sad sad retro catalogue.

Having said that, the young guy on reception was most welcoming and helpful, the bed was extremely comfortable and it was cheap! Proving that you have to make compromises.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas W, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Jerry A,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review Lovers Point Inn. I regret to hear that our rooms did not meet your expectations. We are currently working hard on ensuring a great guest experience and your feedback means a lot to us. I'm so glad you enjoyed our location and also enjoyed our newly upgraded beds! Thanks for choosing to stay with us and hopefully we can earn your business in the future.

Sincerely,

Thomas W.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
3.4 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.9 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
1.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lovers Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovers Point Inn

Property: Lovers Point Inn
Address: 625 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Lovers Point Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lovers Point Inn is located on the coast of historic Pacific Grove, California. Just moments from the beach, we are centrally located between Monterey and Pebble Beach. Within a mile is Cannery Row and the famous Monterey Bay Aquarium, as well as many choices for fine dining, shopping, and other family experiences. We have a variety of one and two bed rooms, many with ocean views. A perfect place for a getaway for the entire family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lovers Point Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lover`s Point Hotel Pacific Grove
Lovers Point Hotel
Lovers Point Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing