We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Dated but Adequate” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lovers Point Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lovers Point Inn
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
ALOHA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dated but Adequate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Rooms are a bit dated and small but well kept. In a great area near Lovers Point Park and across Ocean View Blvd from The Beach House Restaurant. It was cold and foggy most of each of the three days while we were there with two other couples so we had limited views and no sunsets. Since we were sight seeing all day each day we used our rooms to plan our trips and sleep.

Service in office was great, good Coffee most of the day and some breakfast munchies in the AM.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Our new management is working on upgrades that will exceed our guest expectations. We appreciate you staying with us and hope you will visit again soon, when the weather is better.
Thank you for your review and thank you for your business.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    255
    137
    64
    37
See reviews for
155
413
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

The location is lovely. You can walk around the bay and watch the seals. There is a small beach area. We were blessed with gorgeous weather in the afternoons. The room itself was lacking. The colors were nice and the bed was great but the layout of the room was poor. The countertop area near the sink was taken up with the kitchen appliances. There was no place to put anything. The bathroom was very small. There was an uncomfortable wicker love seat and chairs. The walls were very thin, we could hear our neighbors easily. I realize this is an expensive area but we were very disappointed in the room for the price. You can see the ocean standing outside the room or at the window but first you see the other motel which is closer to the ocean and parking lots.

The service was lacking. On our second day no soap or body wash was left in the room in spite of it being used the first day. We were left 1 wash cloth, 1 hand towel and 1 plastic glass for 2 people. When we told the young girl at the desk the next day, she didn't even have the sense to apologize, just said they were short of staff the day before. When we went to check out, they had us staying 2 extra days and were going to charge us accordingly. They finally found us in their records and straightened it out. They did offer us a small discount for the problems after the fact, but that entailed a couple calls to them when the disocunt didn't show up on our credit card charges. I handed them something for their mail bag which still hadn't arrived a couple weeks later. I don't know if it ever did arrive as we quit even asking. Fortuantely it was not anything of great significance.

The breakfast was nothing great and there was no place to sit except outside. The mornings were cold and overcast so we had to take it back to the room. The whole stay was very disappointing. We won't be back and wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bogeysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
I am so sorry that you experienced problems during your stay at Lovers Point. The items that you mentioned will be discussed with the manager so corrections and additional training for housekeeping and front desk will be addressed. This is not typical of our hotel so your review is very important so we know of the experience and make improvements.
Please accept our sincerely apology for any and all inconveniences to your.
We do appreciate your business.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We went to Lovers Point inn and loved the cookies and the friendly staff. The rooms on the top floor have great ocean views! The rooms where small but newly redone and very clean. A good chiose when staying at Pacific Grove.

Room Tip: The higher rooms have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
We appreciate your review. Its good to hear that you enjoyed the view from your room and your stay with us. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again soon.
Thank you so much for this review.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

My fiancee and I stayed at the Lovers Point Inn in Pacific Grove at the beginning of September, 2013. The trip was a great experience.

The Lovers Point Inn is a lovely place to stay. We only stayed for one night. It is a small motel-style inn that faces the Pacific Ocean. From the doorway to our room we could see Lover's Point itself. There is a small but beautiful park at the base of the point with a path that leads along the coast and goes directly to Cannery Row and points beyond. We walked this path to Cannery Row. This path was a major selling point for us because it was so beautiful and relaxing.

As for the hotel itself, the room was adequate. It wasn't fantastic, it wasn't horrible, it just was. The decor in the room was nice, it was decorated in dark blues and light browns. There was a pretty area set up as a sitting area, with 2 chairs, a table, a coffee table and a small loveseat. I love the idea there, however the room wasn't that much bigger than a standard room, so it felt a little small with all of this extra stuff in there.

The bathroom was HILARIOUS! It is so tiny, you have to practically turn around to get the toilet paper. Make sure you close the door BEFORE you sit down. If not, you won't be able to close the door. Also the showerhead was not fantastic, however I think it was more a of a water pressure. There really wasn't any water pressure at all - the shower was more of just a way to get wet/clean rather than a wonderful relaxing experience. But then again, that is the purpose of a shower. :)

There was a coffee maker, a microwave, a refrigerator and a portable fan in the room. We brought our own coffee, but, as most coffeemakers are nowadays in hotel rooms, it took the pods, not actual filters and ground coffee, so make sure that you take your own filters with you if you are going to bring your own coffee. The refrigerator was awesome - it wasn't the teeny tiny one that you normally find in a hotel room - it was much larger and was able to adequately handle our leftovers from dinner and pretty much anything else we would've wanted to put in there.
I know it sounds weird that there was a portable fan in the room, but it was one of those really nice ones that blow cooled air. As far as we could tell, there wasn't air conditioning in the room, which makes sense for the climate of that area. I am not sure if there was heating, we had no need for it. Our room did not get a cross breeze because our window faced the property next door, so we used the fan while we slept and were still a little warm. I ended up kicking off the covers. The bed was probably one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in in a hotel. Wow! It was so comfortable it was difficult to get up in the morning.

Our overall feeling about our room was that we were glad we were not staying there for an extended period of time, however it was adequate for the one night, and it would have been adequate for a weekend. It didn't seem to flow very well, as the counter top for the vanity area was taken up by the microwave, upon which the coffeemaker sat, which made it feel like nothing was planned out very well.

The hotel staff, however, was very helpful and friendly. Being there for only one night, we didn't have the opportunity or the need to interact very much with the staff, but the interactions we had were positive.

All-in-all, we would probably come back here again because of the location rather than the accomodations.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a window facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyVanMetre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review of our hotel and the surrounding area. The area is amazing. Our hotel is small and it's location is perfect for our type facility. As I have mentioned in previous replies, we have new management and upgrades are ongoing as we strive to improve the rooms and amenities.
We appreciate your business and for taking time to write this review. Please plan to visit again when you are in our area.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We booked in before 3pm and had to come back for check in. There was a line up for an hour of others doing the same thing. We ended up going across the road and having an early dinner and coming back. Our room was overcrowded with furniture but clean and had a comfortable bed. Took us a while to find the fan thinking at first it was a heater! So glad we found it as room was very hot and the windows did not have security screens. Not really ocean views as all you can see is a tiny view mostly car park and the motel next door. Lift was not working properly. Breakfast was good and the outdoor area is nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zenshideaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
I am sorry that you experienced problems with check-in, this is not typical of our hotel. The elevator has been repaired and is not in good working order. Thank you for you review so we can make necessary improvements.
We appreciate your business and hope you will visit again when you are in our area.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our time at this hotel. The view is gorgeous. There is a great restaurant across the street. The people who run the hotel were very nice and welcoming. The room was clean and well kept. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PandP92081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
You are so right, the area and the views are amazing. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and all that the area has to offer.
Thank you for choosing Lovers Point, please plan to visit again soon.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

For some reason I checked my booking for this motel a few days before we arrived and found that my original booking made months before had not been transferred on to the computer system! I made several phone calls but the staff eventually sorted it all out and we were given the room I had booked on arrival. The staff on duty were all very friendly and helpful. Our room was nicely decorated and very clean with a small bathroom and a view of the sea (over another motel) on the 3rd floor. The only thing we didn't like was the balcony running directly outside the window so that everyone walked past. Our room was quiet though and the overall winning factor is the location in Pacific Grove, opposite a small park with the most beautiful views and walks. It was a short, pretty walk along the coastal path to The Cannery where we hired bikes and explored the area. The breakfast area in reception was small but there was a good choice of food and I enjoyed sitting on the pretty street patio outside looking towards the sea. We ate at the excellent restaurant The Beach House each evening (directly across the road). We were so glad that we had stayed here instead of one of the hotels in Monterey as Lover's Point is such a beautiful location!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaggieMaguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
I am so sorry about the confusion on your reservation, put glad that everything worked out and you were pleased with your visit.
We appreciate your business and hope you will visit again soon.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
3.4 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.9 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,526 reviews
1.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lovers Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovers Point Inn

Property: Lovers Point Inn
Address: 625 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lovers Point Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lovers Point Inn is located on the coast of historic Pacific Grove, California. Just moments from the beach, we are centrally located between Monterey and Pebble Beach. Within a mile is Cannery Row and the famous Monterey Bay Aquarium, as well as many choices for fine dining, shopping, and other family experiences. We have a variety of one and two bed rooms, many with ocean views. A perfect place for a getaway for the entire family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lovers Point Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lover`s Point Hotel Pacific Grove
Lovers Point Hotel
Lovers Point Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing