We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mermaid House”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lovers Point Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lovers Point Inn
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Salt Lake City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mermaid House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I recently stayed in the Mermaid House of the Lovers Point Inn, it is beautifully furnished. The staff was exceptionally polite and helpful. It has a beautiful view of the bay that is across the street. I took a short walk down from the hotel and was delighted to find a beach where the seals were laying around, a very enjoyable sight. I would recommend anyone going to the Pacific Grove area to stay at this hotel. You will get wonderful assistance and a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lakotadawnmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the Mermaid House at Lovers Point Inn. Your comments are appreciated.
We appreciate your business and look forward to having you stay again.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    272
    140
    68
    38
See reviews for
165
448
24
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spicewood, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I'll start with the positive. The location is perfect. Located across the street from the scenic Lovers Point near Monterey, Ca. it is a beautiful location for a motel. The staff is friendly. However, the room we had was very small and worn. The heater did not work (and there is no AC, not that this is much of an issue in Monterey if you are on the Bay. The other rooms looked like they may have been a bit larger. But this is not an upscale place by any means. We paid for two nights, but left (without refund) the second night and went to the Hyatt Regency at the old golf course. I'll review it later, but it was really nice and worth the small additional cost.

Room Tip: If you stay here, go for second or third floor for some view - that's all you get at this motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spacwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
We are sorry that you were not pleased with your stay at Lovers Point. We apologize for the inconvenience to you.
We do appreciate your business and wish you safe travels.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

It's been several months since our stay. I just came across the trip advisor card with Roosevelts name written on it. Roosevelt is the friendliest, most outgoing member of a hotel team we've ever met! Each person from the Manager down was outgoing and helpful, but Roosevelt was very eager to make sure our stay was as comfortable as possible. We had everything we needed, the only shortcoming was the space to the left of the bed. The only way in and out was to climb over the bed because it was too close to the wall.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Athniall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you so much for recognizing Roosevelt, I will share your comments with staff and management. We all appreciate your business and the review.
Please plan too visit again soon.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel was ok. It was clean and the best part was that the bed was so comfortable. I was going to give the a very good rating, until I got the copy of my bill when we checked out. I was charged 1.75 for each bottle of water that we drank. Mind you it was put on the tray where the plastic cups and ice bucket are and no signs whatsoever stating if you drink this we will charge you. It was Kirkland brand water. We used 2 bottles and were charged 3.50 this is enough to buy the whole case. Worst was that we brought our own water and it was in the fridge. We used this to put in our CPAP machines because it was room temperature. Granted it is only 3.50 however, it is the point that they do not tell you in any way that you will be charged. I could see if it was Evian or something. There are alot of hotels in this city that are by the water. Maybe because of the lack of integrity at this hotel you should stay some where else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chihuahuaCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
I am so sorry about the confusion with the bottled water, there should have been a small sign stating the charges, we put it in the room for the convenience to the guest. We will make sure these signs are put in with the water to eliminate this problem.
We appreciate your business and hope you will choose to stay with us again when you are in our area.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

I chose this hotel for the ocean park across the street and the public transportation available right outside the door. On top of that, I got the wrap-around ocean view, with the accompanying breezes, a well-laid-out room with all the amenities of convenience - coffee, microwave, frig, a rotating fan (coastal CA.'s version of AC) and really comfortable beds (2 queens at opposing ends of the room, 4 pillows each and more in the closet). The space is tight, but works well where it is needed. Breakfast had hard boiled eggs, peanut butter and yogurt to add protein to the regular continental, with umbrella tables outside facing the park. We had no problem with parking, with catching the bus and with finding our way around from this centralized location. This is an old motel, but it appears that it's care is a top priority.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Your remarks are greatly appreciated, we are so glad that you enjoyed your visit to Lovers Point.
Your comments and your business is greatly appreciated. We hope you will visit again soon.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at the Lovers Point Inn during our first stay in Pacific Grove, and loved it! The staff were great, and the location is perfect for taking morning walks along the bay, and the park across the street is beautiful. We rented Kayaks for the day just adjacent the Park, and though it was too chilly to swim, could have swam right there at the beach too. We love Lovers Point, and this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Lovers Point and the nearby area. The appreciate you taking time to write the review so others know of your experience.
Your business is very important to us, we hope you will make us a regular stop when you travel to our area.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willits, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We got this room by luck. It is just one more example of a once very nice hotel that is in need of a major remodel. That said it was a great location for the feast of lanterns. Easy walk to downtown pacific grove for dinner. Staff was a bit rough, buy very nice. I still have a problem paying $180.00 for a 1960's room.

Room Tip: If you do not care about an ocean view stay on the 1st floor, less$$$$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Our new management is working to insure our facility is clean and comfortable at a competitive price. I am so sorry the accommodations were not what you expected and apologize if there was any inconvenience to you.
We appreciate your business.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
3.4 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.9 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
1.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,937 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lovers Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovers Point Inn

Property: Lovers Point Inn
Address: 625 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Lovers Point Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lovers Point Inn is located on the coast of historic Pacific Grove, California. Just moments from the beach, we are centrally located between Monterey and Pebble Beach. Within a mile is Cannery Row and the famous Monterey Bay Aquarium, as well as many choices for fine dining, shopping, and other family experiences. We have a variety of one and two bed rooms, many with ocean views. A perfect place for a getaway for the entire family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lovers Point Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lover`s Point Hotel Pacific Grove
Lovers Point Hotel
Lovers Point Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing