We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Great Location!!!”
Review of Deer Haven Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Deer Haven Inn
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in August with our dog. Rooms are updated and modern, very clean! Our room had a microwave and refrigerator. Linens were nice and room had gas fireplace and hardwood floors. All staff we encountered were friendly and helpful! Location couldn't be better. Easy walk to Asilomar and Asilomar Beach. Great location for visiting Carmel and Monterey. Continental breakfast was nothing special but adequate. They had mini bagels, pastries, cereal and toast. Also available was coffee, tea, juice and hot chocolate. The price couldn't be beat, the best in town and pet friendly!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BucketListTravelers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

204 - 210 of 296 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2014

Although staying in Monterey,CA. can be expensive. We found this small Inn just outside of Monterey. The Inn is in a residential area surrounded by pine trees. The area was very quiet. The rooms looked liked they were recently updated and very clean. The bed was very comfortable. They have a continental breakfast which was average with a few tables to eat outside. The only negative thing was the walls are not insulated too good and we could hear the people in the next room.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cilla-203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at Deer Haven Inn. Our room felt updated & very nice with hardwood flooring, nice linens, gas fireplace, crown molding. Loved the location right across the street from Asilomar & about 2 blocks to the beach. Continental breakfast had enough options to get us going for the day. Great location to visit Monterey, Carmel, Big Sur. So glad we stayed at this Inn in Pacific Grove & definitely plan on returning.

Room Tip: A few rooms are single story with no one above so they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BarbLea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and could definitely have stayed another night if we weren't on a schedule. The room was clean, it had hardwood flooring and a fireplace which was perfect. Breakfast was bagels, toast, pastries and cereal, along with juice, tea,coffee and hot chocolate. Very close to the nature reserve which is nice to walk along and take photos of seals and whales. Also nearby is the 17 mile drive and Pebble Beach. Wonderful hotel in a wonderful location. Hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJS2871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

The facility is basically an older motel that has been redone with nice modern touches. Room floors are hardwood (beats moldy carpet any day!), gas fireplace in our room, and there is crown molding where the walls meet the ceiling - not really necessary, but makes the room look much nicer. Helpful to have two double beds and nice to have the continental breakfast before embarking on the day's activities.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Nothing can beat an affordable/clean room on the Monterey Peninsula. In my room, there were hardwood floors and all of the furniture was clean and updated. Staff was kind and helpful. They have a nice little continental breakfast setup with pastries, cereal, coffee, etc. The whole property had "good vibes" and no riff-raff. To stay in a hotel room that is comfortable like my own home, was awesome. I will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giuliana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

The best part of deer haven inn was that right when we were checking in, a family of deers were crossing the street, it couldn't get any welcoming than that! They just upgraded their rooms with hardwood floors, granite in the bathrooms, and our room had a cute fireplace. If you are also traveling with pets, this is the place for you! It is a pretty small inn within a neighborhood so it was very quiet, which is what we wanted. I am strict about cleanliness, and Deer Haven Inn fit my standards.

It's driving distance to Monterey and very close to downtown Pacific Grove. I would highly recommend checking this place out as we were very happy!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pacific Grove hotels
0.8 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
910 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
622 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#7 of 17 in Pacific Grove
860 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
#13 of 17 in Pacific Grove
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Haven Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Haven Inn

Address: 750 Crocker Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3727
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pacific Grove
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pacific Grove
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
#4 Business Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range: $88 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Deer Haven Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Deer Haven Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Haven Inn And Suites
Deer Haven Hotel Pacific Grove
Deer Haven Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing