We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old School Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Deer Haven Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Deer Haven Inn
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Placerville, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old School Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

We have tried a few of the lodgings in the Pacific Grove area. Stumbled on this one as a last minute accommodation and was greatly surprised. This traditional motel has updated the rooms to a current look (and comfy too). Fireplace in room makes for a warm environment in the usually foggy area. Friendly, helpful staff along with a great location (quiet but close to town) makes for a very good choice. Will stay there again next trip to Pacific Grove.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oaspms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    99
    22
    9
    7
See reviews for
83
104
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is great and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were standard motel type rooms, the fireplace was nice. My daughter had bites on her after the first night so I think there were bed bugs. There was also a bug in the bed and a couple on the walls. The sheets and towels also had stains on them. I would not stay here again because of that-its a shame as its a great location but cleanliness is a must for me, I can live with 'tired' furnishings if everything is clean!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank islandgirl3374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictorandRP, Owner at Deer Haven Inn, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
We would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you have suffered during your stay with us. We take any issue regarding the cleanliness of our hotel very seriously. This proved to be more difficult to pinpoint and address however, because we were not made aware from you or any other guest of any of the issues described, and our attempt to contact you through private messaging has gone unanswered. Nonetheless, since this review we had a thorough inspection of all of our rooms through Clark, a foremost specialist in pest control and abatement, and no pest activity was found in any of the rooms. Our linens are cleaned and sanitized for us through Mission Linen, and our housekeeping staff is taught to inspect every piece of linen before it is to be used in our rooms. Housekeeping has been made aware of the issue, and more time has been allotted for them to perform this inspection for a higher level of quality assurance.

When guests stay with us for multiple nights, it gives us the opportunity to address any issues that the guest may have and gives us a chance to make the duration your stay a more pleasurable experience. Unfortunately during your stay this opportunity did not arise, but please contact us personally. We look forward to hearing from you and resolving any of your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

This was a nice inn located ideally in the beautiful town of Pacific Grove. The room was good, though a bit on the smaller side. The managers were very friendly and helpful. They helped us out with any questions or minor issues that we had.The breakfast was nice too. We ate outside on the table with the fire pit. The surroundings are gorgeous; you have the beach and Asilomar state park and resort a 3 minute walk away. It was about 10 minutes from Monterey.
Overall, our stay was pretty good. We will likely return when we are vacationing in the area again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xaina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

I enjoyed my stay and the staff was very friendly and helpful...and made me more at ease when I had to leave my dog in the room while attending a meeting. While I wish I could have asked for a second floor room, I understood that I was placed in a dog friendly room. But it's not like I stayed in the room much, as I thoroughly enjoyed the woodsy area and paths, and easy access to the beach. And during the night, was very comfortable. I would definitely stay there again, and with such a nice management team I WILL :D

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosamundLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Based on our two night stay we feel pleased with the cleanliness, decor and value of the Deer Haven Inn. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel this won't work for you. It was just what we were looking for-clean, reasonable and in a good location. The managers were very friendly and helpful. We didn't intend to use their "basic" breakfast. There are several good spots for breakfast and grocery stores for fruit etc. They have both a microwave & fridge in the room as well as flat screen TV. I found the least expensive rate on their website.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmc_kw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We took a day trip to Pacific Grove and decided to spend the night. Stayed nearby before, but on the way there Deer Haven caught our eye. Very reasonable price, and newly remodeled. We spent one night and it was pleasant and quiet. We were in walking distance to beach and also Monarch Butterfly habitat. One of my favorite suprises about the trip was the are deer wandering the neighborhood. Not only are they around but I swear one posed for a picture. I guess Deer Haven's not just a clever name.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPandJustin, Front Office Manager at Deer Haven Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Let us thank you for your positive feedback. At Deer Haven Inn, it is our goal to provide outstanding service and rates. Glad to hear that you had no trouble navigating through Pacific Grove. We look forward to having you back as our guest. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pacific grove
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Under new ownership and being remodled also is a great place to stay...Rooms are well decorated with not the usual ..Very friendly owner/ manager...giving excellent service....beds slept very good nice continental breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 68angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPandJustin, Front Office Manager at Deer Haven Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! At Deer Haven Inn, it is our goal to ensure outstanding customer service and exceptional rooms. We have gone under intense renovation and we are very happy with outcome. We look forward to having you back as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pacific Grove hotels
0.8 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#2 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
1.1 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#6 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Haven Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Haven Inn

Property: Deer Haven Inn
Address: 750 Crocker Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3727
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pacific Grove
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
#4 Business Hotel in Pacific Grove
#4 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Deer Haven Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Deer Haven Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Haven Inn And Suites
Deer Haven Hotel Pacific Grove
Deer Haven Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing