We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Planning to Return”
Review of Deer Haven Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Deer Haven Inn
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Although the exterior of the "Inn" looks cute and renovated, the interiors leave much to be desired. Although there weren't any outward signs of dirt, things simply didn't have that clean, crisp feel that one usually hopes for when staying in a room. The floors didn't seem clean and there were other funky elements, my favorite of which were the picture frames which were screwed directly into the wall, after which the screws had been painted over.

None of the staff was engaging or put actual effort into being polite. The continental breakfast was rather disappointing and, although we got a good deal on the rate, we were still rather disappointed. Fortunately, there is so much to do that we spent little time in our room. Pacific Grove is certainly a wonderful place to go, so don't hesitate to make the trip. The wifi did work and that was very useful as we explored our options.

Although Pacific Grove is a charming town and you can walk to the water from here, it is not terribly convenient, unless you want to gaze at the entrance to Asilomar. It's too far from town to walk comfortably, especially at night.

All in all, there are probably good reasons why most of the pictures on the website show the building exteriors, deer and other local highlights. There are only two small pictures of the room interiors available with good reason.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank squirrelswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPandJustin, Front Office Manager at Deer Haven Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. At Deer Haven Inn, it is our goal to provide outstanding rooms and service. We apologize if the rooms did not meet your expectations. The staff is fortunate enough to read in your review that you enjoyed pacific grove and the local attractions. We hope that we can get another opportunity to showcase our renovations at the Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
There are newer reviews for Deer Haven Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

245 - 251 of 285 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

We'd left booking a place in the Monterey/Carmel area until the last minute and the choice of the Deer Haven Inn was a bit less researched than many of the places we had stayed on our trip. It was a Saturday night and the places that seemed better were all booked out, so we took a risk. At $160/night it wasn't cheap, so it was a little disappointing.

Essentially it was a slightly-tarted up old motel. It was clean, freshly painted, and well-located for our purposes, but that's about all I can say. The room had all the usual facilities you could expect, but was basic and the bathroom was tiny. The breakfast was the strangest one I have ever had - pick up a tray of basic items (mostly run out) from the tiny reception office, put them on thin plastic bowls and plates, and take them back to your room.

If you know what you're getting it is fine. But it wasn't memorable for the right reasons.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ex-sandgroper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPandJustin, Front Office Manager at Deer Haven Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Let us thank you for your feedback. At Deer Haven inn, it is our goal to provide an exceptional experience. We apologize if we did not meet your standards. After intense renovation and change, we are happy to report that our rooms and breakfast have vastly improved. Hotels and Inns base their rates on community events in the area (tip for the future). The team hopes that we get another opportunity to have you back as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Nice bed, good price, free parking and clean...that is about it. Noisy environment, thin walls, weak Continental Breakfast.......some areas poorly maintained...over rated

Room not ready until 4pm

If you desire a residental location, a one night visit and a trip thru Aislomar conference center that leads to a beach access...this might be a place for you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LJS95602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPandJustin, Front Office Manager at Deer Haven Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Let us thank you for your feedback. We apologize if your experience was less than exceptional. At Deer Haven Inn, we have been going through intense renovation and changes.. Our breakfast has vastly improved and our rooms look better than ever. We hope that we get another opportunity to have you stay as our guest. Also we are a 5 minute walk from the beach and we offer the best competitive rates in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had the upper corner room with two queen beds. The fireplace was great to have. There was a small refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker in the room which was great to have especially the frig- kept water and food cold (left overs from dinner). The Inn has been upgraded and nicely decorated. It's also located in a nice area. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fyerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPandJustin, Front Office Manager at Deer Haven Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your nice review. The team is very grateful that your experience was more than exceptional. Our renovations are near complete and the changes have been wonderful. We look forward to having you back in the future! All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Perhaps it was the peaceful corner room upstairs that made me enjoy my stay so much. The room was very spacious, had a king bed, a rather romantic gas fire place, ample wardrobe space, a generous bathroom counter which was separated by a door from toilet and bath.
A refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker and a flat screen TV rounded off the updated accommodation. I learned that the hotel had recently been remodeled - except for the reception which is overdue and apparently coming soon. The choices of the continental breakfast, however were not satisfactory which might have to do with the limited space in the reception.
Coastal walks, Monarch butterfly grove, Pacific Grove's shops and restaurants are all in close proximity. I was there for The "2013 Pebble Beach Pro-Am" Golf Tournament, and anyone playing this sport will be in 7th heaven here.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs will be less prone to the noise of parking/starting cars.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Borisrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPandJustin, Front Office Manager at Deer Haven Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Let us thank you for your review! We are glad that you enjoyed the local attractions and had a great time navigating through the area! At Deer Haven Inn, our goal is to make sure your experience is more than exceptional. Our breakfast has vastly improved and our rooms look even better! . We hope we get another opportunity to show you a wonderful time at Deer Haven Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I Loved our room and the fireplace was nice to fall alseep in front of. The next morning we woke up and saw deer near our front door. We will be back to stay another night when we are in the area

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvette e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPandJustin, Front Office Manager at Deer Haven Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. The team is grateful that you had a very exceptional stay. After intense renovation and change, our rooms look even better! The neighboring deer also look forward to seeing you back as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Pacific Grove was the second stop of our Central Coast road trip the last week of September.

My first impression, which was of the office where we checked in, was not positive. If the office was not clean and was obviously in need of some repairs, what would our room be like?

As it turned out, the room was nice. New paint, crown moulding, nice linens. The room also included a gas fireplace equipped with a thermostat. Since it was rather cool, we used the fireplace to keep the room comfortable during the night.

While there was little to complain about, at about $210 with taxes -- almost exactly the rate for our wonderful room at the Inn at Morro Bay the night before -- the Deer Haven Inn was not a terrific value. It was a gussied-up motel room, and would have been a reasonably good value at $150.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grumpy_Dutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPandJustin, Front Office Manager at Deer Haven Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Let us thank you for your review. At Deer Haven Inn, it is our goal to make sure your stay is more than exceptional. We apologize if the receptionist did not give you a positive experience. After intense renovations and change, we are happy with the end results. We hope we can get another chance to have you as a guest. Our rates and rooms look better than ever!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pacific Grove hotels
0.8 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
823 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
606 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
#14 of 17 in Pacific Grove
438 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#8 of 17 in Pacific Grove
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Haven Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Haven Inn

Address: 750 Crocker Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3727
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pacific Grove
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
#4 Business Hotel in Pacific Grove
#4 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range: $118 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Deer Haven Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Deer Haven Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Haven Inn And Suites
Deer Haven Hotel Pacific Grove
Deer Haven Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing