We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice calming place to stay”
Review of Deer Haven Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Deer Haven Inn
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I Loved our room and the fireplace was nice to fall alseep in front of. The next morning we woke up and saw deer near our front door. We will be back to stay another night when we are in the area

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvette e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPandJustin, Front Office Manager at Deer Haven Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. The team is grateful that you had a very exceptional stay. After intense renovation and change, our rooms look even better! The neighboring deer also look forward to seeing you back as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

267 - 273 of 303 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

Pacific Grove was the second stop of our Central Coast road trip the last week of September.

My first impression, which was of the office where we checked in, was not positive. If the office was not clean and was obviously in need of some repairs, what would our room be like?

As it turned out, the room was nice. New paint, crown moulding, nice linens. The room also included a gas fireplace equipped with a thermostat. Since it was rather cool, we used the fireplace to keep the room comfortable during the night.

While there was little to complain about, at about $210 with taxes -- almost exactly the rate for our wonderful room at the Inn at Morro Bay the night before -- the Deer Haven Inn was not a terrific value. It was a gussied-up motel room, and would have been a reasonably good value at $150.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grumpy_Dutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPandJustin, Front Office Manager at Deer Haven Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Let us thank you for your review. At Deer Haven Inn, it is our goal to make sure your stay is more than exceptional. We apologize if the receptionist did not give you a positive experience. After intense renovations and change, we are happy with the end results. We hope we can get another chance to have you as a guest. Our rates and rooms look better than ever!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed here one night this past week and were very happy with our room. This is not a fancy place, but our room was clean, updated and very quiet. The location is perfect if you want to walk through the conference center grounds to the beach. We saw 5 deer on our walk and spent a good amount of time on the beautiful beach that is just a quick 5 min. walk from the hotel. A very basic breakfast was available in the AM in the front office. No complaints here - would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs in a king room with fireplace. I prefer being upstairs so you're hearing peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPandJustin, Front Office Manager at Deer Haven Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Our goal is to provide outstanding service and exceptional rooms. We have gone under a lot of renovations and change. Our rooms look even more amazing! We look forward to having you back as our guest. Glad you were able to enjoy the beach and the neighboring deer. We definitely have a lot of comments regarding how quiet and nice the area is. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Pros: It was clean and located in a quiet neighborhood. The room itself was a little tight with two queens and four people, but not unreasonably so. I did not have much interaction with staff, but the man at the desk when we checked in was nice.
Cons: There are two reasons for the low rating. First is the price. $140+ is overpriced for just a room with basic amenities. More importantly is the lack of sound insulation between rooms. We could here every word spoken by the woman next door. In the middle of the night not only were we woken up by the man upstairs getting out of bed, but we then could actually hear him him urinate. When he flushed the water gushed through the plumbing that is located right next to the head of the bed.

Room Tip: Single level floor room or upstairs rooms might have less noise from the neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kirsten01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I spend one night at this convenient motel, silent, well located and clean. The restroom had a door separating bath/toilet from the sink. The staff was pleasant. It's a value for money inn, in the end. I recommend the place for a short visit to Monterey Peninsula.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xavier M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPandJustin, Front Office Manager at Deer Haven Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. At Deer Haven Inn,our goal is to provide outstanding experiences. We get a lot of comments regarding how quiet and peaceful the area can be. Looking forward to having you back as a guest in the future. Our renovated rooms look great!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Deer Haven Inn was a place we always chose to stay when we visited the Monterey area. This was the first time we'd been back since ownership of the Inn changed hands and we were not overly pleased. This is really sad for us because it's in a lovely spot...walking distance to the ocean and a very short drive to the quaint town of Pacific Grove. Now we have to go to the trouble of finding another "favorite". Unfortunately for the new owners of Deer Haven Inn, there are several Inns and hotels in the area so I don't think it'll be too difficult.

The first problem we encountered was at check-in. We had reserved a room in advance. We arrived a couple minutes before 3 p.m. (which is the check-in time). The clerk at the front desk said: "No problem...your room is ready." Well, it wasn't. Our room hadn't even been touched by the housekeeper yet. So, I walked back down to the front office to alerted the clerk of the issue. He looked at me blankly, smiled stupidly and said: "Check-in time is actually at 3 p.m. and you're early." I reminded him we were on PST and according to my watch--and the clock over his desk-- it was already past 3 p.m. To this, he didn't even apologize nor did he offer us an alternate room. He just gave me that ridiculous grin again and said: "I'll call the housekeeper...give her 5-10 minutes." 5 or 10 minutes!!!! I know, ridiculous! We decided to just drive over to Pacific Grove and have some coffee instead. It was too late in the day to cancel the room and look for somewhere else to stay.

I will admit that some renovations have taken place since our last stay hence the "average" rating. The room we stayed in had been completely re-done. It was basic but clean and fairly comfortable. The room had a fireplace (gas) as well as a fridge and microwave. Although we always found the rooms at Deer Haven Inn to be clean and comfortable, it was nice to see things updated and a bit spruced-up. The pillows however, were tiny and lumpy. There was one extra pillow over the clothes hanger but this wasn't enough. We couldn't call the front desk to ask for more pillows because the phones had been removed. Normally, this wouldn't be a problem (most people today have cell phones...) but the phone number to the front desk was not posted anywhere either. We would've had to trudge all the way down to the front office in our PJ's...very inconvenient.

The next, and last, issue we faced was breakfast. It was suppose to open at 7:30 a.m.; we were there by around 8 a.m. It was absolutely dreadful! There were cold Costco muffins put out (obviously had been frozen); a couple of kiddie cereals; 2 sorry-looking apples; and a few slices of bread for the toaster. That was it for food! There was some coffee--regular and decaf--and, a few (like 3) packets of Lipton tea bags and some powdered hot chocolate mix (also about 3 packets). No one was in the breakfast area that we could see to ask for more of anything...I guess they weren't expecting more than 2 or 3 people to come down for breakfast. It was really weird! Nothing like the previously owners/staff who often hung around and chatted with guests during breakfast. The breakfast had never been spectacular but, at least in the past, the food was edible and guests had some choices.

The long-and-short of it is, we won't be staying there again. We also noticed the room rates had gone up. Which would be fine if we actually got some value for our money. We'll be spending our hard-earned dollars elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SunnyCalGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPandJustin, Front Office Manager at Deer Haven Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Let us thank you for your feedback. Our goal at Deer Haven Inn is to provide outstanding service and exceptional accommodations. On behalf of the staff, we would like to apologize if your room was not ready at the appropriate time. This comment will be reviewed by management . After intense renovation and changes, we are happy with the outcome. Our rooms and breakfast have vastly improved. Our new team is ready to share new guest experience and hospitality. We hope we get another opportunity to show you a amazing experience. Also, a tip for traveling in the future, look up community events and check rates online. Hotels and Inn's rates are increased based upon this during busy months. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We were looking for an Inn close to Asilomar Conference Grounds, we discovered Deer Haven Inn and it was perfect. The place was full and yet quiet. We literally had new furniture installed that afternoon and the place looks so nice, very clean, and bright just perfect for us. The young man at the desk was very helpful in all ways and a very nice smile, warm and welcoming his other helper (his Dad) was so nice and fun to talk with. The fitness center is a good walk on the beach. We definitely would come back on our next trip and tell our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiamondJim3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pacific Grove hotels
0.8 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
934 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pacific Gardens Inn
Pacific Gardens Inn
#8 of 17 in Pacific Grove
322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
0.8 mi away
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
#13 of 17 in Pacific Grove
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Haven Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Haven Inn

Address: 750 Crocker Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3727
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pacific Grove
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pacific Grove
#4 Business Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range: $87 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Deer Haven Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Deer Haven Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Haven Inn And Suites
Deer Haven Hotel Pacific Grove
Deer Haven Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing