We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a treat!!”

Peppers Mexicali Cafe
Ranked #10 of 79 Restaurants in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Fallbrook
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Such a treat!!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This restaurant is a treasure tucked in on a side street in Pacific Grove. Their menu selection is delightfully varied. I had a seafood salad that was absolutely scrumptious. My husband had the cane asada tacos, seasoned wonderfully. We had been to Peppers 5 years ago and remembered it as being a treat (nice to have our memories confirmed). Our waitresses each time were very dear and helpful. This most recent visit to Pacifc Grove, we went twice! I do not eat grain products and when asked if we could have cucumbers for dipping into the salsa, she said, "How about jicima,instead?" It was a great alternative. Really appreciate the friendliness of the staff there.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    143
    46
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
274 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“The Chicken Mole Enchilada - Yummy..!!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Pepper's Mexicali Cafe is our favorite casual dining establishment in Pacific Grove. We just spent 4 days in Pacific Grove, and...as usual, we ended up eating at Pepper's twice in a row despite our determination to try some new restaurants in the area.

This time it was the Chicken Mole Enchilada that was the culprit. It was delicious beyond words...!!

It was offered as a Special. Hopefully it will still be on the menu if you decide to check out Pepper's. They usually offer 10 or so Specials for dinner.

Pepper's is open for lunch and dinner (except Tuesday, I believe), but they do get very BUSY so prepare for a wait.

Highly recommend...!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ebrynnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Restaurant in Monterey Bay area”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Great menu with wait staff who on top of their game. Daily specials and margaritas are only half the charm. You can't get a bad meal here. Everything is great!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 99Woodie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Mexican!”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Went here for the first time last night. Excellent and friendly service from all staff. Awesome selection of cocktails, beer, and wine to choose from. Food was excellent. I had the snapper veracruz and was very happy with the dish. My cocktail, the blood orange margarita, was terrific! Will definitely be back soon. Thanks!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gonetravellin34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
“llaguna seca riding trip”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We went into town from after A mountain bike ride at laguna seca and loved the food,service,and people of pacific grove.I had the best shrimp and A great stuffed pepper.I will go back for more it was awesome.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thewozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peppers Mexicali Cafe also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 

Been to Peppers Mexicali Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing