We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Rosedale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rosedale Inn
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Escondido, California, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

The King Suite was of excellent size. Situated somewhat secluded across from the Asilomar Conference Center the inn is a quick walk through the pines to the beach. The staff is friendly and helpful and the continental breakfast was enough. The WI-FI in room 120 was not good unless you stood near the entry door and the room itself was dated and in need of some TLC.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moffett4950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose3_12, General Manager at Rosedale Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at our Inn and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    130
    48
    18
    9
See reviews for
83
183
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Had a nice time in Monterey Bay area. About 5 minute walk to the beach through Asilomar grounds. Breakfast in the morning was nice in the breakfast room (a little small, but had the opportunity to meet other hotel guests). Staff very friendly.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank M2J3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose3_12, General Manager at Rosedale Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at our Inn and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed in room 117, a deluxe King Suite. It was very quiet. We never heard any neighbors and only the backup beep of a truck in the morning but otherwise no traffic noise. This room has a private patio off the bedroom where we sat and watched the squirrels. As others have said the bathroom is not heated so I wore slippers and was ok. Also it was during a warm Spring time so the sun warmed the living room during the afternoon. Opening the window and drawing the curtains and turning on the ceiling fan was helpful to cool it down. I imagine during cold days it would be nice to have the warmth. I loved the location as it is super close to the water and among the trees. A rural feeling but close to all the sites and things to do. Didn't use the whirlpool tub but found the shower adequate. Soft water which was nice. Good breakfast as others have said.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sky22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose3_12, General Manager at Rosedale Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at our Inn and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
246 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed here during a recent trip to a wedding.

We stayed in a room in the back of the property and found it to be quiet. With the quad set up we did hear a couple complaining at breakfast about people hanging outside and night in their quad. The hotal staff reassured the couple that they had spoken to their neighbors and did offer to move them if they felt it was needed

Our room was updated and fine. Lots of room and everything worked well.

We loved the access to the beach and what a short walk it was.

Breakfast was good but the area to eat is a little tight. We ended up eating outside on a patio behind the office. Was quiet and the weather was great.

Would return and stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parcapecod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose3_12, General Manager at Rosedale Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at our Inn and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Very quiet location, we had the deluxe king room, had separate living area. Our spa tub was nice, but the hot water ran out before tub was filled! Low flow shower head worthless, water barely rinsed off soap when showering. Nice breakfast room, homemade waffles, hard boiled eggs, cereal, fruit, toast, pastry, coffee, tea, juice....etc. great selection! Would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tcruzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose3_12, General Manager at Rosedale Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at our Inn and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Calif.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed in suite 104 at the Rosedale Inn. To start with, the breakfast was much more than I had been expecting. The two room suite that we had had been remodeled and was very comfortable, clean, and quiet. Unfortunately they had taken some shortcuts. There was a gap between the tub and the wall that was about two inches wide and open to the inside of the wall. They did not replace the old doors so that there were rusted hinges and old door hardware. The wall heaters had the thermostats directly above the heaters so that the heater shut off soon after it started. The modern faucet in the bathroom had a control knob that hit the mirror frame when you tried to get hot water.

Room Tip: Avoid room 104.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose3_12, General Manager at Rosedale Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at our Inn and hope to see you again very soon. We have also addressed the concerns you mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This is a very nice, recently remodeled motel directly across from the Asilomar conference site. Rooms have new baths, great large HDTV with many channels, fireplace, complimentary breakfast, room coffee and popcorn. And free wi-fi
The AAA rate of $80 was amazing.
The staff were wonderful.
I would struggle with anything negative to say, but a couple minor things were the refrigerator was so noisy I had to unplug it because I couldn't sleep at night.
Also, despite the great rate, make sure you confirm each daily rate because I added on a saturday stay after the fact, and even with the AAA rate, it was $144 vs $80, which seemed to be an awfully large jump for just a day of the week and they didn't tell me at the time. But I highly recommend this place, and especially if you have a conference or vacation at Asilomar, where they charge you a fortune for room and board (you can't just choose one) and the rooms are rustic, some without phones or TVs)

Room Tip: I didn't really notice any different in rooms. the area is quiet. just check the rates as I me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank florey603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose3_12, General Manager at Rosedale Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at our Inn and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pacific Grove hotels
0.7 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
743 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
567 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#6 of 17 in Pacific Grove
816 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
#13 of 17 in Pacific Grove
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosedale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosedale Inn

Property: Rosedale Inn
Address: 775 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3701
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Pacific Grove
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rosedale Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Reservation Counter, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Rosedale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosedale Inn Executive Hotel Pacific Grove
Rosedale Hotel Pacific Grove
Rosedale Hotel Executive Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing