We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“in the woods and close to the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rosedale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rosedale Inn
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
California
1 review
“in the woods and close to the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

very nice location in the woods and walking distance to Asilomar beach.
The room was very clean and cozy but a little dark and in need of a mirror in the room.
Most of the bathroom was nicely upgraded, except the jacuzzi tub, which was very tired. I would prefer a new shower and skip the jacuzzi. The breakfast room was quite small, but the breakfast selection was fine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACali4niaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose3_12, General Manager at Rosedale Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at the Rosedale Inn and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    126
    47
    18
    9
See reviews for
80
182
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Rosedale Inn is a basic old style motel with rooms that have been upgraded. Grounds were neat and landscaped with ample parking. Our king room was satisfactory – large enough, well maintained and everything working correctly. Gas fireplace, in-room coffee, refer, microwave. No A/C – but probably seldom gets hot here to justify it. Windows open for fresh air along with ceiling fan. Service was good, smooth check-in & check-out with no issues. My small issue was that the TV was set incorrectly to a 4:3 format although the stations were broadcasting in a HD format. Why have a wide screen TV if it’s incorrectly set-up?

Free breakfast served stale pastries and poor quality waffle batter. Other items were okay. Next morning we went to Pavel's Backerei for our breakfast. Biggest issue here was the room was too small. Two tables with 4 chairs per table is not enough. Tables were already full at 8:30am when a family of 5 walks in…… nowhere to sit??? Outdoor tables were available, but it was too cold outside. May not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose3_12, General Manager at Rosedale Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your constructive criticism. We have taken note of the items you stated that were in need of our attention and will definitely put that on our to do list. We hope you will give our property another chance and stay with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san Diego
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed at this Inn a few years ago and we were happy with it then. Since that time...the rooms have been totally re-decorated and this time we really LOVED our stay here. We stayed in a bigger unit...a suite with a bedroom, wet bar area with a fridge and a living area. It was nicely decorated and very clean.
The separate breakfast room (in another building) is great...has a nice option of breakfast foods and delicious waffles! A bigger version of a continental breakfast!
The woman who checked us in was super sweet and friendly.
Lastly, there are great roads to take walks on and we always go over to the Asilomar Conference Center...there are roads to walk on and a nice rec center with a gift store.
Will definitely go to the Rosedale Inn again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pah8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose3_12, General Manager at Rosedale Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review and choosing to stay with us again. We love when our guests return and send their family/friends over as well. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed here to be close to the natural surroundings of Pacific Grove and it was a great location! The Inn is located among the forests, beaches, golf course and nature trails of the Monterey Peninsula at Pacific Grove. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean and spacious and recently renovated in a modern chic decor. It included a microwave, sink and mini frig in addition to the spacious bath. A computer with internet was lacking on premises but WIFI was available for your smartphone. No Pool. A breakfast of hot waffles and fresh fruit was provided. The accommodations were a good value for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose3_12, General Manager at Rosedale Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at the Rosedale Inn and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceres, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

My girlfriend and I decided to take a spur of the moment trip a couple days before our anniversary so we decided to look for hotels in Pacific Grove due to the secluded area that's usually quiet. Our stay was excellent! Lady at the front desk was very helpful when we found our fireplace in the room wouldn't turn on so she came right to the room and lit it for us. Bed was really comfy and the jacuzzi tub was huge. Breakfast had everything from bagels, to waffles, to cereal. Will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Check-out is 11am so make sure to play your day accordingly. Breakfast is from 8-10am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sblock6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose3_12, General Manager at Rosedale Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Rosedale Inn to be a part of your special day. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again very soon. Thank you for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
237 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 452 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

First, the positives: the front desk young lady manager is wonderful, eager to have the guests enjoy their stay, very welcoming and helpful. The breakfast room and the food are fine, and cozy. This place, unlike most in the Monterey Peninsula, thankfully does NOT allow pets. (I love dogs, but not in hotel rooms I may sleep in.)

The room was remodeled in spots, and looked it. A sort of hodgepodge bandaid approach. Neither rustic nor modern--sort of a modern-on-rustic hodgepodge bandaid approach.Our room did not resemble the inn's website photos, which gave the impression of a somewhat elegant interior. The fireplace is a nice touch, though we didnt need it.

There is NO desk to work on so while the wifi is a nice bonus, the laptops must be used ON the lap. The mgr told us only the larger rooms have a desk. thsi confirmed my impression that they should have consulted a better interior designer before the remodel (at least, of the basic rooms).

The room had a musty smell at first . Leaving the windows open helped.We had a view from our back bedroom window (where the screen was falling off the window, adding to the rustic impression!) of the patio . Based on the view, I was glad not to have paid extra for a patio that overlooked a leaf-strewn patch of dirt.

The exterior pink-painted building did not look redone on the outside. We were in one of the buildings four rooms, behind the main lobby/lodge.

Bed was very comfortable.

Bathroom appeared clean, except for a single long hair in the tub.

Make sure the small refrigerator in the room is plugged in. We didnt realize ours was not, and the leftovers from dinner were warm when we took them out the next day.

There's nothing really wrong here--it just isn't as good as the hotels own site, and these TA reviews, led us to believe it would be. I would try another place in PG next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calinurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose3_12, General Manager at Rosedale Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your constructive criticism. We have taken note of the items you stated that were in need of our attention and will definitely put that on our to do list. We hope you will give our property another chance and stay with us in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Rosedale Inn is a wonderful hidden gem. Please do not share this secret with too many family and friends, or I never be able to get back in. Totally remodeled, the King Suite was a fantastic bang for the buck. Conveniently located in Pacific Grove between Monterey, Pebble Beach, and Carmel-by-the-Sea. Continental breakfast included. No pool, but 2 large flat screens and a fireplace. Just a real nice place and a pleasant surprise. Staff is outstanding, and willing to do what it takes to make the customer happy!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkR53092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose3_12, General Manager at Rosedale Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We really appreciate you taking your time out and writing about our Inn. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pacific Grove hotels
0.7 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#2 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#6 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosedale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosedale Inn

Property: Rosedale Inn
Address: 775 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3701
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Pacific Grove
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rosedale Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rosedale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosedale Inn Executive Hotel Pacific Grove
Rosedale Hotel Pacific Grove
Rosedale Hotel Executive Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing