We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great, not awful”
Review of Rosedale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rosedale Inn
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The positives: clean, spacious, quiet, a 5-minute drive from a strip mall that has decent coffee (I'm not fond of the in-room swill). Jacuzzi tub is relaxing.

The less-positives: when you get a two-room suite, it's generally with the intention that one or more members of your party will sleep in the second room. The well-worn sofa bed with springs practically poking through was so uncomfortable that our child jumped ship and slept with us. Not that any of us had a good night's rest in our bed; I suspect the mattress was past its pull date.

If it's rainy during your visit and you decide to turn on the television, expect the reception to be dreadful as it's satellite rather than cable. A minor quibble.

Aforementioned jacuzzi bathtub is big enough for a family, but that may be a little awkward for your party. It took forever to fill and yes, we felt guilty about all that water. With all their signs about conserving H2O, you'd think they'd have downscaled the bathtub a little.

The free breakfast is standard fare, heavy on the bread group, We spent about a minute looking around -- the orange juice wasn't bad -- before heading to aforementioned strip mall area (bagel bakery, real coffee).

If the weather is cooperating, which it wasn't during our stay, you could hike the few miles into town. But this is not a place where you park your car and walk everywhere you need to go. For me, that's important. I also thought the price was a little high for the amenities, but after reading the reviews of neighboring properties, maybe that's what you pay in Pacific Grove to avoid dirt and vermin. Not awful, just nothing special.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank EmanneercsAllowed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose3_12, General Manager at Rosedale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about our Inn. Guest satisfaction is our number one priority and we take all concerns and suggestions very seriously. I have noted all your concerns and will do everything in my ability to get that corrected. We hope you will come back and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 371 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed in 1BR king room, Comfortable bed, Clean room with a fireplace and Jacuzzi tub. Check in was easy, and staff was friendly. Only downside is that bathroom access is only through the bedroom. We will happily stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dsmittys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose3_12, General Manager at Rosedale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. We truly appreciate you for taking your time to write about our Inn. We hope to see you again at our beautiful Inn soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and 5 yr old son and I stayed in the Rosedale Inn for the second time recently. Here are the reasons we loved it. 1. We really prefer having a 1 BR suite with a separate door. How else to reconcile adult schedules with an 8 PM bedtime? The rooms are spacious, quiet, and good value. 2. The location is fabulous. It is a short walk to Asilomar beach and great tidepooling. The butterfly grove is also walkable, as is the Fishwife, our favorite PG restaurant. Downtown Monterey is a straightforward and beautiful drive away. 3. Breakfasts are not fancy, but ample, with good variety and healthy options. 4. Staff were all very friendly--they called us as soon as our room was ready to check in a little bit early.
We will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthBayDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose3_12, General Manager at Rosedale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We truly appreciate you taking your time out and writing about our Inn. We hope your stay was wonderful and hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We spent 5 nights in Pacific Grove, 4 of them at the Asilomar Conference Center. For the last night, we moved across the street to the Rosedale Inn and felt like we had landed in the lap of luxury! The room was well appointed, the bed was good, the staff extremely helpful and the location top notch. We hope to return again with our family. It was also reasonably priced for the area.

Room Tip: We were able to use our AAA card for a discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose3_12, General Manager at Rosedale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. We truly appreciate you for taking your time to write about our Inn. We hope to see you again at our beautiful Inn soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The Rosedale Inn is an unexpected gem!!! Lovely rooms with plenty of windows! Beautiful setting!
Wo nderful receptionist! (Owner/manager, perhaps?) Fireplace is an added bonus...
Spa treatments can be obtained IN YOUR OWN ROOM!!!!!! Even though it's technically located in Pacific Grove, one could EASILY stay here while visiting Monterey. Looking forward to another day here!
E/O
Santa Barbara, CA

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elzPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose3_12, General Manager at Rosedale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. We truly appreciate you for taking your time to write about our Inn. We hope to see you again at our beautiful Inn soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The new manageris totally on the ball and is beyond helpful with any arrangements you might need. I'm in PG for a conference at Asilomar but they were full somI opted for a night at the Rosedale. They willing accepted delivery of 8 floral centerpieces for me when Asilomar wouldn't. That's just an example of their flexibility. Miguel was working the front desk at check in and he was warm and welcoming. This matched his extreme helpfulness in a few phone calls before arrival, as I married to work out some paperwork for my company. The room is lovely and comfortable, down to the paper towels and dish soap available to help you clean up at the bar sink. Quiet and restful. Adjustable heat. Plenty of towels, nice amenities too. We'll definitely be back. Thank you to the staff for preparing for us. By the way, this is a four- minute walk from Asilomar State Beach.

Room Tip: We were in 118 and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northstarvalerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose3_12, General Manager at Rosedale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are happy that we were able to accomodate you and your needs and we hope to see you again at our Inn soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

After living in Monterey County for twelve years, and now returning as tourists once or twice a year, I can tell you that trying to find a relatively well priced hotel room that isn't a hole is difficult. The Rosedale Inn is delightful. We will return here from now on. Newly renovated, stylish bathrooms, very comfortable beds with ample pillows, spacious rooms, and a less than five minute walk to Asilomar Beach. Very friendly service to boot!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Msandersoncmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose3_12, General Manager at Rosedale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We truly appreciate our guest’s feedback and suggestions. We are extremely happy to hear that your stay at our Inn was a pleasant one and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pacific Grove hotels
0.7 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
858 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pacific Gardens Inn
Pacific Gardens Inn
#7 of 17 in Pacific Grove
321 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
#14 of 17 in Pacific Grove
447 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#8 of 17 in Pacific Grove
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosedale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosedale Inn

Address: 775 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Pacific Grove
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range: $100 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rosedale Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Rosedale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosedale Inn Executive Hotel Pacific Grove
Rosedale Hotel Pacific Grove
Rosedale Hotel Executive Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing