We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay in quiet area”
Review of Rosedale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rosedale Inn
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
NW Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay in quiet area”
Reviewed May 18, 2011

We selected the Rosedale for its location and were very pleased, as it was very quiet at night. Our room was very nice and large, with a king bed, which was very comfortable. There were two armchairs and a small table between them, which was nice for watching TV. The room was nicely decorated. We also had a fridge and microwave along with a small bar-type sink, dish soap and a few dishes and flatware. There was also a coffee maker and supplies as well as some microwave popcorn. The bathroom was large and had a jetted tub and there were nice Bath & Body Works amenities. My one area of frustration was with the TV remote. The Rosedale had DISH and the remote was difficult to figure out, and there were no instructions for it. It would not simply turn on the TV. It required enabling a few other modes, and my husband finally figured it out, by trial and error. Of course, we only discovered this when we returned to the room in the evening when there was no one in the office to assist us.
The breakfast in the morning was a typical continental; various breads/bagels to toast, yogurt, dry cereals and instant oatmeal, fruit, tea/coffee/juice. Although many other reviewers have taken issue with the breakfast, my husband and I found it quite adequate. The local newspaper was provided in the breakfast room. I only wish they had heated the breakfast room, as we were rather chilly even as we ate in our jackets.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    130
    50
    19
    9
See reviews for
85
185
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

Expecting at minimum, basic needs, I experienced none !! I stayed four nights. There was NO wireless service; the Heater did NOT work, NO hot water (only warm). Initially the television did not work. Every morning, I tried to make a reservation at different Motels, but they were all full up.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kukae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose3_12, Manager at Rosedale Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
We are very sorry that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us last time. We are pleased to say that all rooms have been completely renovated and updated. Please stop by the next time you are in town and check us out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

I'll say upfront that I can't really be objective, because we fell in love...with the 3-year old daughter of the manager. We stayed at the Rosedale for 4 nights, and made sure to visit this little girl at least once a day, just to see what adorable thing she would do or say next.

Another thing that robs me of objectivity is that the Rosedale manager literally saved our vacation — saved us from a different hotel, a hotel from hell. I wandered into the Rosedale at night, and she was so nice and accommodating, that we were able to go from a one-room place where we didn't even want to touch anything to a two-room beautiful suite, and still not break our budget. We never once entered our suite without an overwhelming sense of gratitude, just for being there.

We stayed in Suite 104, which opened to a king-size bed attractively made up, and a large flat-panel tv. Through one door was a bathroom with all the amenities, plus a jacuzzi-type tub FOR TWO.

Through another door was a kitchen area (microwave, refrigerator, sink, coffee maker, place settings) that connected to a living room with another tv, desk, sofa, and fireplace. (Our one disappointment is that the gas flames only rose an inch or so, mostly hidden behind a ceramic log, so you couldn't really sit and "watch" the fire, but it did add some heat and ambiance.) At the far end of the living room was another door leading to our small patio, with two chairs and a small table.

The breakfast included various fresh fruit and yogurt; corn flakes, cheerios, and granola; bread, bagels, and English muffins; milk, juice, and coffee (regular coffee, hawaiian hazelnut, and decaf, all freshly brewed); sweet muffins and danish — and the local newspaper.

It lost one star from our cleanliness rating only because the staff was very lax about carefully washing the breakfast dishes (you could see dried orange pulp on most glasses) and ignored the trash receptacle that was filled to the brim. On the other hand, our room was always clean.

I loved that the Inn was literally across the street from the entrance to Asilomar Park and a short walk to the beach. The office staff was always friendly, efficient, and accommodating...and even let me use their computer a couple of times.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank equalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2010

Found an excellent deal online. Booked a Queen room and was upgraded to King suite on arrival because the queen room was not ready. This even though we were about 20 minutes ahead of actual check-in time.
Room was very clean and tastefully decorated. We used the mini fridge for our soda and restaurant leftovers. Fireplace kept us pleasantly warm at night. Jacuzzi was an added treat. Had to spend some time figuring out how to work the remote to the large flat screen TV. Might be nice to have some instructions. But that didn't distract from enjoyment of our stay. The bed was neither too firm or too soft, it was just right!
The Breakfast was a nice, economical start to our day. My husband is very picky about his coffee but commented several times about how good it was.
It is away from the busy downtown area but that is what made it so relaxing. The raccoons would come at night to check out the trash cans, but other than that, we never heard our neighbors.
We were in town for business/anniversary trip and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2TXtravelers46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

We were pleasantly surprised to drive up and find this cozy inn. Although we were early, the management gave us the key, and suggested we catch lunch down by the ocean, which we did, and upon our return our room would be ready. Indeed it was. It was spacious, and beautifully appointed. The bed was comfortable, the room, clean. The management was friendly. The continental breakfast adequate. A stones throw from Pebble Beach and 17 mile drive. Just lovely.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSchm26136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2010

The place was a slightly dated but great value for money. Very quiet and had a great sleep. Our place even had an older spa bath! We had a couple of minor issues such as a blocked toliet but these were promptly remedied by the receptionest. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caleb5268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Comfortable and clean. Gas fire and a jacuzzi. You help yourself to breakfast in one of the chalets. Main grumble was that the breakfast cereals were all sugary, but I suppose that is the American way. I never got their wifi connection to work but there was a good unsecured neighbour. The plumbing was occasionally noisy. The motel office could not give recommendations on where to eat but the Thai restaurant on the main street was tasty and good value

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmcc150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pacific Grove hotels
0.1 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
282 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
793 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pacific Gardens Inn
Pacific Gardens Inn
#7 of 17 in Pacific Grove
315 reviews
0.7 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
594 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#8 of 17 in Pacific Grove
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosedale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosedale Inn

Property: Rosedale Inn
Address: 775 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3701
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Pacific Grove
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rosedale Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Rosedale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosedale Inn Executive Hotel Pacific Grove
Rosedale Hotel Pacific Grove
Rosedale Hotel Executive Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing