We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uh La La !”
Review of Fifi's Bistro Cafe

Fifi's Bistro Cafe
Ranked #27 of 79 Restaurants in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
SF Bay area
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Uh La La !”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Fifi's is an amazing restaurant on multiple levels: cuisine, service, and value. Fifi's is not in a particularly attractive location; the atmosphere is unassuming . The cuisine makes up for anything lacking. Every dish they prepare is marvelous to see and even better to taste. I ordered the " daily special " Sweet and sour Sea Bass" which contained complex flavors & was perfectly prepared; moist with no cloying sweetness or thickeners. Instead fresh herbs like tarragon and braised fresh pineapple brought out the best in this fish. The Bass was accompanied by farro and fresh seasonal vegetables. I would order it again in a heartbeat ! The owners greet each diner personally and know most of them well; a testament to their repeat business. Lots of happy diners at Fif's !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank playgoerSFBayarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    42
    9
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carmel Valley, California
Level Contributor
385 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Consistently good food at reasonable prices.”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Best French Onion soup and Moules Frites this side of the pond! Excellent and sensibly-priced wine selection. Don't miss it (I eat there at least once a month).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watsonville, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“French in PG”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We enjoyed our weekday lunch. The food was very good, many customers. The party at the adjoining table was a little loud, so we enjoyed the latter part of our visit after they had departed a little more.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Our neighborhood eatery”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Our go to restaurant with out of town guests, with neighbors, and with anyone who hasn't been. Open for lunch, dinner and Sunday Brunch. If you like food with a French flair, you are sure to find something that you will enjoy. Our favorites which are perfectly prepared--French onion soup, Fifi's salad, Crispy duck and spinach salad, Quiche Lorraine, Gnocchi Epinards, Duck L'Orange, Moules Frites. The menu is enhanced with a superb wine list and expert waitstaff who can help you with your selections. We return again and again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cnpjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fifi's Bistro”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have been dining at Fifi's every time we visit the Monterey area, which is once or twice per year for many years. It has been our favorite restaurant but let us down this year.
The wine, a Salmon Creek (?) Chardonnay was not very good. The usual decanter in unique Arch de Triumph style is no longer available. The Early Bird or Prix Fixe was very limited and nothing special. Also missing was the onion soup.
Allin all, very disappointing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1keninsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fifi's Bistro Cafe also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 

Been to Fifi's Bistro Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing