We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of First Awakenings

First Awakenings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed August 4, 2016

Nothing too interesting to say here. Their food was above average, but nothing incredible. There's a long wait, but it is what it is. The cool thing is that they're located in an old cannery that has been transformed into a cute, small-town mall. You may have to be seated outside and it gets cold, so bring a jacket just in case!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank bex112016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,030)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

389 - 393 of 1,030 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2016 via mobile

They have great food, I had a turkey avocado Benedict, my husband had a little bit of everything, all good but the raspberry pancakes were awesome. My son got Mickey Mouse pancakes and hot cocoa with enough whipped cream to keep him happy. We sat outside and it was nice, we had no problems with the birds and all the employees were helpful and fast.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank JCAC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 3, 2016 via mobile

A great menu, plenty of choice, staff very helpful. It's quite a big place if you include the outside area, so although it was busy and popular the wait didn't appear to be too long. Would recommend a visit.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank 705alastairb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

Although they close at 2:30pm they let us come in around 2:20 and place our orders. Within 10mins we had food on our table. We had ordered crepes and garden burger. Both were delicious. Their potatoes are really good. Service is great and it is just .1 miles from monterey bay aquarium so you don't need to eat at the aquarium and can simply come here for nice brunch or lunch.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank 167tarar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 30, 2016

This was my second visit to First Awakenings, a short walk after you've been to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Last time I was just with adults, but this time I was with my daughter and her 8 month-old son. We had a 20-minute wait but were seated promptly within the time frame. Our server was very responsive to our need to keep things moving, as a child of that age will not sit long, although he spent some time in a high chair and enjoyed banging the plastic cups around. We both enjoyed our Veggie and Blue Shroom omelets, and you can substitute fresh fruit for the potatoes. When you ask for coffee or tea, you get an entire pot. The atmosphere is very pleasant sitting outside, and they do have some gas heaters as it's often quite chilly as you are near the ocean. The only issue is that there are quite a few pigeons around, and if the servers don't clear the tables off right away, they are on the tables eating the leftovers. It's a bit off-putting while you are eating, and I wish they would be using some kind of disinfectant to clean the tables after the birds have been on there. However, since it's outside, there probably isn't much they can do about keeping them away.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank speechdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed First Awakenings also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to First Awakenings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.