We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice helpings.”
Review of First Awakenings

First Awakenings
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Abilene, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice helpings.”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We chose this restaurant based on the previous reviews on tripadvisor, and it did not disappoint. The food was very tasty, the service was good and the atmosphere was relaxed and casual. The location is convenient if you are biking along the Monterey Peninsula or shopping on Cannery Row.
It was good enough that we ate here twice on our vacation.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarisseB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    460
    198
    53
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highly recommend for breakfast.”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We chose First Awakenings based on other TripAdvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. I had Heartland Frittata and my husband had eggs benedict - both were excellent. We also split a "plate size" blueberry pancake, which was one of the best pancakes I've ever had. The server suggested the pancake (instead of the full order stack). I didn't see it on the menu, but maybe I missed it. They bring a whole pot of coffee and pitcher of water, which was nice. We sat outside next to the open fire pit, which was perfect. Great service, excellent food. Walking distance from the Aquarium.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pancakes!”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

If you love pancakes you must come here! Came here for a quick breakfast and it was packed! Our waitress was very nice and the food was delicious with good prices. I got the Blueberry Wheat Germ Pancake and it was unexpectedly delicious and really HUGE. You must come if you love pancakes!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The hot spot for breakfast”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

This joint jumps on the weekends! There is always a short line to wait. The food is good, the portions are large. Outside seating is fantastic for the good weather days. Many people eat here and then head for the Aquarium across the street.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Traveldawg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Went there because of the reviews!”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

I frequently use trip advisor. I am delighted with my meal with First Awakenings. The staff was friendly and quick. The bacon was crisp, but not burnt. I am picky about my eggs-very picky. The waitress was amazingly accommodating. I like my eggs fried-hard. Most chefs will not/do not cook them enough. My eggs were PERFECT! Crunchy on the edges. I ordered one pancake-which was huge! The syrup was warm-wonderful. The only reason for less than a perfect score was the waitress never returned with additional butter after my request. She gave me the check-so I am confident that she completely forgot. (Please note-she was very friendly and happy!) The second reason was the pancake was not hot-warm. I felt that the pancake had a "funny" taste, but am certain that this is because I am not used to scratch pancakes. It was fluffy and cooked even in the center. I went on a Tuesday morning, did not have to wait and was given a choice of 2 tables. There is outside seating-which would have been lovely had it not been raining. There was a fire pit and fun painting on the surrounding walls. A perfect location to pick up the Ocean View Blvd.

Helpful?
1 Thank Katryna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First Awakenings also viewed

 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to First Awakenings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing