We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casual spot with large menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of First Awakenings

First Awakenings
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Casual spot with large menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Went for lunch and ordered the pumpkin wheatgerm pancake. It was really good and unique. I had never had wheatgerm pancakes before but I loved the chewiness of it. The best way I could describe it is that it's similar to eating a warm oatmeal cookie. The location is also convenient since its right between the aquarium and lover's point.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiNyLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    448
    196
    53
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
pleasanton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great brunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Wait up for 40 minutes.. But it was worthy..nice food with good service as expected!!! Definitely will come again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alturas, California
Level Contributor
222 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Outstanding Breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

My friend and I ate here after reading the rave reviews and now here is mine- this place is wonderful! The weather was perfect so we chose to eat outside on the patio, which is comfortably laid out with a nice fire pit that was burning. Our server was very nice and our food was excellent! I really enjoy when restaurants leave the water pitcher and a carafe of coffee on the table for your convenience. I had the eggs, bacon, and potatoes and it came with a delicious English muffin. The amount of food looked daunting when it arrived, but it was so good I was surprised at how much I did eat! My friend had an omelet and asked for extra crispy bacon and she raved over both. We admired the blueberry pancakes that arrived at the next table and smiled at the doggies on the patio with their owners trying to score some of the bacon they were surely smelling! This is the spot for a great breakfast!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenipela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
144 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Totally Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Their "All That Razz" 12 inch pancakes are a must. The crepes are excellent also. Unless you are unbelievably hungry don't make the same mistake as I did and order more than one of the pancakes, though the leftovers did make a nice breakfast the next day. It seems if you get there before 9:30AM on a Sunday you can walk right in. Starting at 10:00AM the line begins to build. Comfortable outdoor patio with a fire pit is a nice alternative to sitting inside. Don't do the meter parking on the street in front of the outlet mall where the restaurant is located. Rather, park in the mall parking lot behind the mall or just drive a few blocks into Pacific Grove for free street parking. It's a big, delicious and very reasonably priced breakfast. Easy walk to Monterey Aquarium, Cannery and Pacific Grove.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Place for Breakfast and Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

The lines will give you a clue...good food and fair prices. The lines might also scare you off but check in first. The service is fast and they are generally faster than they say. Lots of outdoor seating for those beautiful Pacific Grove days.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank central_coast_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First Awakenings also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 

Been to First Awakenings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing