We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FOOD, FUN, FANDANGO”

Fandango Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Fandango Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Located on the beautiful Monterey Peninsula, in the heart of Pacific Grove, California. Featuring Mediterranean & European Style cuisine. Enjoy our fresh seafood, giant sea scallops, and Fandango’s famous rack of lamb... all on our wood burning grill. In addition to our hearty pastas, paella, lamb shank, and osso bucco.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Fine dining, ambiance, conviviality and history all meet here under restaurateurs Pierre & Marietta Bain. Fellow travelling gourmets will know what I mean when I refer to Pierre being the Sirio Maccioni of the Monterey Peninsula. After hosting the best and brightest for many years as maitre d'hotel running the venerable Club XVIII in the iconic Lodge at Pebble Beach, Pierre has too many stories I would pay hansomly to hear but the remaining Pierres and Sirios don't do that.
In short, the Bains are entirely on point(s) w/ their tag line "Food.... Fun... Fandango". The Rack of Lamb is the best around, period. sweet and succulent Sea Scallops, my fave paella, coucous lamb shank, scampi, the ebullient yet professional staff, a warm an intimate Mediterranean decor and yes Pierre's accent is thick and very real.
We travel for fine dining and will get real. Is Fandango a top ten best meal ever? No. But there is so much more for Fandango IS an occassion and you will have an awfully fun time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlexIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FandangoRestaurant, Manager at Fandango Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review and your kind words! We are so happy you enjoyed the Rack of Lamb and our signature Paella! We hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (668)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

439 - 443 of 669 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

Managed to get a table at short notice. Brilliant wine list, good variety of Californian wines. Food was very good particularly the rack of lamb from the specials. Really nice atmosphere and a window seat to watch sunset.

Thank 2Spens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FandangoRestaurant, Manager at Fandango Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

We are so happy you enjoyed the Rack of Lamb! Thank you for the wonderful review and we hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Cute as pie but not nearly as delicious. Wilted salad had been dressed long before serving. Paella ingredients tasted like they'd been frozen. Veal piccata was unseasoned. Thumbs down.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RHTraveler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FandangoRestaurant, Manager at Fandango Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

We are so sorry you did not enjoy your meals with us. We are always happy to talk to you directly to try to make your visit as enjoyable as possible. We appreciate your feedback and will look into your comments. We sincerely hope you will visit us again. Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The service was first class and provided help with directions and information on the Monteray area.I highly recommend this restaurant for those looking for good quality food at a respectable price. The atmosphere is good. Try to get a table in the front room if you are interested in a more romatic setting.

1  Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FandangoRestaurant, Manager at Fandango Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed a wonderful meal with us! We hope you join us again for your next special occasion and thank you for choosing to dine with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Fandango is located in the old part of Pacific Grove where it appears that the buildings have been renovated and updated - but not ruined. They have retained the old town atmosphere. The menu is quite varied and extensive. At his recommendation I chose the Osso Buco. I would recommend this without reservation. Our waiter was knowledgeable and helpful. He knew the menu and was able to describe the dishes that were interested in. He was attentive without being cloying. Drinks were ample. Fairly expensive but worth a splurge.

TIP - Be sure to ask your waiter about the various selections that you may be interested in (or not interested in. You never know). Our experience was that he was very helpful and I actually changed from my initial choice. And was very pleased with the selection.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LHANN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FandangoRestaurant, Manager at Fandango Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so happy you enjoyed the Osso Buco and appreciate your recommendation. We hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fandango Restaurant also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 

Been to Fandango Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing