We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Succulent”

Fandango Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Fandango Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Located on the beautiful Monterey Peninsula, in the heart of Pacific Grove, California. Featuring Mediterranean & European Style cuisine. Enjoy our fresh seafood, giant sea scallops, and Fandango’s famous rack of lamb... all on our wood burning grill. In addition to our hearty pastas, paella, lamb shank, and osso bucco.
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Succulent”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We always stop here for dinner when visiting the Monterey Peninsula. Food is outstanding, along with the server(s). Rack of Lamb is top-notch, along with Escargot!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FandangoRestaurant, Manager at Fandango Restaurant, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We are happy you had a great visit with us! The Lamb is a wonderful choice (a local favorite!) and we are glad you enjoyed it. We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    142
    59
    33
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“New Years 2012, Dinner at Fandango”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Selecting a restaurant for New Years dinner was not an easy choice. We did not want something too fancy but it had to be very good. Plus it had to be close enough to our final drinking venue so that we could avoid a bunch of hoons on the road. That meant that selecting an untried place was just not going to happen. Yeah yeah we know there are ways to do it but we didn’t want to. Some say we were being a little boring. Yeah whatever. We prefer to look at it as being certain of a great meal and being well taken care of. We chose a place that that we have all eaten at a number of times over the years and have always enjoyed. This year’s restaurant of choice was Fandango Restaurant located in Pacific Grove, California. The menu is a blend of Mediterranean and European style cuisine well presented and always delicious. Fandango also has a great wine list that will make anyone happy and allows for the selection of any of their great dishes to be paired perfectly.January 2013 marks Fandango's 26th year in business!
Consistently good food in a nice comfortable environment (you can sit by a roaring fine if you like) with good service at hard to beat prices. A winning formula that has withstood the test of time.
As usual the meal was great (signature dish – rack of lamb) and the wines that were brought to impress each other with were also top notch. The service was sublime with table timing about perfect.Table timing? You know it’s when you never need your waiter as they are there every time you want something (and your glass is never empty) but are never hovering.
Another great meal at Fandango Restaurant!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheDriver_m8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FandangoRestaurant, Manager at Fandango Restaurant, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We are happy you chose to dine with us for NYE! We are glad you had a wonderful time and we look forward to you visiting us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Disappointing and not good value”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Salads were very pedestrian as were the vegetables and potatoes with the main course. My lamb was good, but the parmesan potatoes were lackluster. I didn't finish them. Looking at the tables nearby their food looked similar. It seemed like large scale cooking, indifferent, lots of sauce only one item done decently. It was not at all what we expected, especially considering the price.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Appledog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FandangoRestaurant, Manager at Fandango Restaurant, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We are so sorry you did not enjoy your visit with us! We want all of our customers to have a wonderful time dining with us and we are so sorry you did not care for your salad or your side dishes. We are happy your enjoyed the lamb- it is a house favorite! We sincerely hope you will consider dining with us again and we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere and very good food”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Cozy and inviting with good service. The food was very good. Not the very best meal on on our trip to the area but we would go again. They had a very extensive wine list with very expensive Italian wines. We ordered a high end California Cabernet which was a better deal than the Italians.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FandangoRestaurant, Manager at Fandango Restaurant, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We are happy to offer an extensive wine list and are happy you found a California wine you enjoyed! We hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great Meal - Very Cozy Atmosphere”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We found Fandango on Tripadvisor as we were driving from San Diego to San Francisco and thought it looked like a great place to stop and have Sunday Brunch. Slightly off the tourist path, the restaurant is located just off of the main street in Pacific Grove and is well worth the extra effort to get there.

We were cheerfully and helpfully greeted by the host upon arrival and were seated directly next to a large fireplace. The weather was rainy and cold, so the fire added a great, warm element to the meal.

The restaurant is a converted old house and is cozy, romantic and very comfortable. It has several small, separate rooms that make the restaurant seem like a series of smaller, more intimate spaces than one large place.

The waiter was very attentive and answered all our questions. My wife ordered the seafood paella which was outstanding. If was full of fresh seafood cooked perfectly. She loved it. I ordered ordered the french onion soup and a caesar salad. The soup was perfect and full of onions, while the salad was fresh, light and massive!

Overall, we had a great meal at Fandango and would recommend it for anyone looking for a great dining experience off the tourist trail.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2W3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FandangoRestaurant, Manager at Fandango Restaurant, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for the great review- we are glad you enjoyed our delicious Paella! We sincerely hoipe you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fandango Restaurant also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 

Been to Fandango Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing