We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The name says it all” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Passionfish

Passionfish
Reserve with OpenTable
Passionfish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Congress Ave
Description: Doing what we know, to save what we love! A sustainable seafood restaurant focused on saving our oceans. Awards: - Zagat rated #2 Best Seafood in Bay Area 2012 - Repeatedly named "Best Restaurant in Monterey County" by Monterey County Weekly readers. In 2012, Passionfish was voted Best Selection of Wines by the Glass, Best Restaurant in Monterey County, Best Restaurant in Pacific Grove, Best Seafood Restaurant, and Best Sustainable Restaurant (a record-breaker for the Weekly's 22nd annual Best of Monterey County poll). - Participant in the Monterey Bay Aquarium's Seafood Watch program. - Selected in April 2012 to be on the Ameriorganic list. - Certified green by the Monterey Bay Green Business Program. As the first officially green restaurant in Monterey County, Passionfish sets an example with a strict policy of sustainable and environmentally friendly purchasing.Passionfish is owned and operated by Chef Ted Walter and his wife, Cindy Walter. With an ever changing menu that features the freshest sustainable seafood, slow cooked meats, farm fresh organic greens and delectable house-made desserts, your experience is guaranteed to be unique EVERY time you dine with us. The chef’s simply inspired dishes reflect his philosophy of serving healthy, flavorful, and ecologically sound meal choices. All are complimented with a Wine Spectator award winning wine list, priced well below what you might expect.Over the past eight years, Passionfish has earned a noteworthy reputation for Chef Walter’s unique California cuisine. His simple, inspired recipes have been published in:- Bon Appetit magazine - Ocean Friendly Cuisine: Sustainable Seafood Recipes from the World's Finest Chef's - The Food of Fisherman's Wharf: Cooking and Eating from San Francisco to Monterey Passionfish has also been featured on KRON TV's "Bay Cafe", Rachel Ray's "Tasty Travels" and the Discovery Channel's new healthy lifestyles program.Join us for dinner and experience the NEW good life!Our Passion - Be sure to check out these organizations and to support our ocean friends:Monterey Bay Aquarium Tag-A-GiantSeafood Watch Eco TrustFish WiseLeatherback Turtle TrustLiving Oceans Marine Fish Conservation Network Marine Stewardship Council NOAAOceana Oceans Alive Plastic Pollution CoalitionSea Turtle Restoration Project Sea Web Seafood Choices Tagging of Pacific Predators The Coastal Alliance for Aquaculture Reform The Institute for Fisheries Resources
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The name says it all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

From their goal of sustainability to the creativity of the chef, here's a restaurant that really does fish right. So many choices, any fish lover could eat here night after night and hardly ever repeat. Wonderful preparations done right! Great light crusty bread, too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JPWOTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    825
    298
    83
    47
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Outstanding Seafood Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We recently dined at Passionfish for a special event and every member of our group was very, very happy with the quality of the food and excellent service. I suspect this may be one of the best seafood restaurants we have visited in Northern California, and we have tried a lot. We asked several difficult questions regarding the fish and preparation and the staff really knew their stuff and delivered a far above average meal. The wine list was excellent, as well, with several boutique wineries not usually seen in restaurants at any price. I do wish the atmosphere was a little more intimate, but one cannot have everything.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A tasty splurge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Went here for a treat when visiting Pacific Grove. It is pricey, and portions are not huge, but it was delicious. When ordering, I asked about textures & flavors of the fish they had that night, and steered away from the "flakey white fish" dishes, because I know I'm often disappointed by lack of flavor & texture when I order them. Had the halibut and it was quite good- husband had the scallops - also good, although there were only 3. We shared a starter (tomato & beet salad) and a desert (chocolate flourless cake) - both very good. All in all we had plenty to eat. I found myself eyeing starters at other tables and wishing I could taste them - a good indication for a return visit - when we are up for another splurge. They talk about having a wine list with lower markups than elsewhere. That may be true, but price range seemed about the same. Had 1/2 bottle that was good, but still quite a splurge for us at $31.
Total bill for 2 before tip: around $110 - but that was with a 10% off food coupon from a local hotel, so must have been about $118 before that. (There were some dishes in the $16-20 range, so it doesn't have to be quite that expensive - the halibut was near the top end, at $32, the scallops were $26, I think).
I noticed some reviews complained of noise & lack of atmosphere - we didn't find that to be the case. Not an "elegant romantic" place - but a simple, nice, well-appointed & comfortable spot--and although there were plenty of diners, we did not experience it as noisy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingWriter55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

A little pricey compared to other restaurants but the seafood is very good. The restaurant is kinda of old fashioned but it was still very nice. The waitress was friendly and polite in explaining the dinner options. Overall, we will be back if we are in Monterey again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 839DaveN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our favorite fish restaurant in California”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

We have come here over the years, making special trips from the Bay Area. We are never disappointed as the fish is amazing, prepared in wonderful ways and we are always impressed by the solicitousness of the staff. The prices do not take away from the enjoyment as they are reasonable, especially for the locale.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank flyginnyfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Passionfish also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 

Been to Passionfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing