We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Passionfish

Passionfish
Reserve with OpenTable
Passionfish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Congress Ave
Description: Doing what we know, to save what we love! A sustainable seafood restaurant focused on saving our oceans. Awards: - Zagat rated #2 Best Seafood in Bay Area 2012 - Repeatedly named "Best Restaurant in Monterey County" by Monterey County Weekly readers. In 2012, Passionfish was voted Best Selection of Wines by the Glass, Best Restaurant in Monterey County, Best Restaurant in Pacific Grove, Best Seafood Restaurant, and Best Sustainable Restaurant (a record-breaker for the Weekly's 22nd annual Best of Monterey County poll). - Participant in the Monterey Bay Aquarium's Seafood Watch program. - Selected in April 2012 to be on the Ameriorganic list. - Certified green by the Monterey Bay Green Business Program. As the first officially green restaurant in Monterey County, Passionfish sets an example with a strict policy of sustainable and environmentally friendly purchasing.Passionfish is owned and operated by Chef Ted Walter and his wife, Cindy Walter. With an ever changing menu that features the freshest sustainable seafood, slow cooked meats, farm fresh organic greens and delectable house-made desserts, your experience is guaranteed to be unique EVERY time you dine with us. The chef’s simply inspired dishes reflect his philosophy of serving healthy, flavorful, and ecologically sound meal choices. All are complimented with a Wine Spectator award winning wine list, priced well below what you might expect.Over the past eight years, Passionfish has earned a noteworthy reputation for Chef Walter’s unique California cuisine. His simple, inspired recipes have been published in:- Bon Appetit magazine - Ocean Friendly Cuisine: Sustainable Seafood Recipes from the World's Finest Chef's - The Food of Fisherman's Wharf: Cooking and Eating from San Francisco to Monterey Passionfish has also been featured on KRON TV's "Bay Cafe", Rachel Ray's "Tasty Travels" and the Discovery Channel's new healthy lifestyles program.Join us for dinner and experience the NEW good life!Our Passion - Be sure to check out these organizations and to support our ocean friends:Monterey Bay Aquarium Tag-A-GiantSeafood Watch Eco TrustFish WiseLeatherback Turtle TrustLiving Oceans Marine Fish Conservation Network Marine Stewardship Council NOAAOceana Oceans Alive Plastic Pollution CoalitionSea Turtle Restoration Project Sea Web Seafood Choices Tagging of Pacific Predators The Coastal Alliance for Aquaculture Reform The Institute for Fisheries Resources
Manasquan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
315 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Tasty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

The duck confit, gorgonzola salad, and burrata were all the best we had ever had of such food. If you want fresh, tasty food, I don't think you can go wrong here. The surrounding excellent restaurants means that only the best ones survive here.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SeeTheWorld4Peace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    843
    302
    86
    48
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“consistently good, always a pleasant experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife and I have been going to Passion Fish for years. We were introduced to it while attending the historic car races at Laguna Seca. The chef consistently prepares wonderful meals and the staff (which by the way, when we would come years ago, were primarily high school kids) is helpful and regularly present a growing knowledge of the wines they offer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 69FairlaneRagtop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“best value for money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

nothing more to add than; excellent! great food, service, wines! ecologically thinking on top of that and very decently priced!

Bravo!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaonachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What a wine list!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant was recommended by several people and they were not wrong. It's housed in a modest one story building, very unassuming outside. The interior, while cozy makes efficient use of space and is very stylish. We were seated in a room of tables with banquette seating along the walls and chairs along the aisle. The seating is cozy so don't plan in having a confidential conversation. The wine list is amazing, packed with small wineries not big names. There is a great selection of wine by the glass, half bottles, full bottles and a few large formats. All are priced at retail, not the typical 200-300% mark up. My husband ordered a bottle of Gamay. It arrived at our table a bit warm for our taste. Our server was more than happy to quickly provide an ice bucket. We both ordered the Dungeness crab and avocado salad. It was delicious! The crab was flavorful and cold. I ordered the seared scallops and my husband ordered the sturgeon. Both were excellent. We topped off the meal the dessert. I had the chocolate torte and the suggested wine pairing...perfect! My husband had sorbet topped with raspberries in Gewurtztraminer reduction. It was delicious too. We throughly recommend Passionfish. Their passion for fish...and dedication to sustainability shows!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dutchess2245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Passion for Fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were on our N. CA journey during the Famous Pebble Beach Car Show and stayed in Pacific Grove( B & B) and walked to Passionfish. We were pleasantly surprised how GOOD the food is and attentive the staff are. I would dine there again when I return to the area. The preparation was simple and very flavorful, and the price is perfect. We celebrated my son's B'day and they had that covered too !!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Passionfish also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Passionfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing