We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, thoughtfully prepared meal”
Review of Passionfish

Passionfish
Reserve with OpenTable
Passionfish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Congress Ave
Description: Doing what we know, to save what we love! A sustainable seafood restaurant focused on saving our oceans. Awards: - Zagat rated #2 Best Seafood in Bay Area 2012 - Repeatedly named "Best Restaurant in Monterey County" by Monterey County Weekly readers. In 2012, Passionfish was voted Best Selection of Wines by the Glass, Best Restaurant in Monterey County, Best Restaurant in Pacific Grove, Best Seafood Restaurant, and Best Sustainable Restaurant (a record-breaker for the Weekly's 22nd annual Best of Monterey County poll). - Participant in the Monterey Bay Aquarium's Seafood Watch program. - Selected in April 2012 to be on the Ameriorganic list. - Certified green by the Monterey Bay Green Business Program. As the first officially green restaurant in Monterey County, Passionfish sets an example with a strict policy of sustainable and environmentally friendly purchasing.Passionfish is owned and operated by Chef Ted Walter and his wife, Cindy Walter. With an ever changing menu that features the freshest sustainable seafood, slow cooked meats, farm fresh organic greens and delectable house-made desserts, your experience is guaranteed to be unique EVERY time you dine with us. The chef’s simply inspired dishes reflect his philosophy of serving healthy, flavorful, and ecologically sound meal choices. All are complimented with a Wine Spectator award winning wine list, priced well below what you might expect.Over the past eight years, Passionfish has earned a noteworthy reputation for Chef Walter’s unique California cuisine. His simple, inspired recipes have been published in:- Bon Appetit magazine - Ocean Friendly Cuisine: Sustainable Seafood Recipes from the World's Finest Chef's - The Food of Fisherman's Wharf: Cooking and Eating from San Francisco to Monterey Passionfish has also been featured on KRON TV's "Bay Cafe", Rachel Ray's "Tasty Travels" and the Discovery Channel's new healthy lifestyles program.Join us for dinner and experience the NEW good life!Our Passion - Be sure to check out these organizations and to support our ocean friends:Monterey Bay Aquarium Tag-A-GiantSeafood Watch Eco TrustFish WiseLeatherback Turtle TrustLiving Oceans Marine Fish Conservation Network Marine Stewardship Council NOAAOceana Oceans Alive Plastic Pollution CoalitionSea Turtle Restoration Project Sea Web Seafood Choices Tagging of Pacific Predators The Coastal Alliance for Aquaculture Reform The Institute for Fisheries Resources
Santa Rosa, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful, thoughtfully prepared meal”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife and I took a vacation to Monterey in early January 2013, and we were recommended Passionfish. We were so impressed with the food and the commitment the owners have to preparing seafood in a sustainable manner. I enjoyed a wonderful duck confit-- absolutely divine. I also enjoyed a German smokebeer, which is an unusual beer that I have never seen on any other restaurant's beer menu. I applaud Passionfish for putting such a bold, different beer on their menu, and not catering to the lowest common denominator. Well done!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AttyPaulM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    876
    314
    94
    48
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“consistently wonderful”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We are locals and eat at Passionfish several times a year. The food if always good to great. Great collection of wines at very reasonable prices. Good service. The only down side is that it can be a little noisy but when you reserve ask for the Congress Avenue side of the restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank creativity2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fantastic food that’s reasonably priced”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was our 3rd night in California and finally we had a fantastic meal. In fact this meal was one of the food highlights in our 3 week trip. Unfortunately i cannot remember what we ate as it was mid September and i’m only finally getting round to writing some reviews (it’s Jan). I do remember that we had 3 courses and the portions were sensible so you could eat everything on your plate without feeling really fat ... and have room for pudding! The selection of red wine was also excellent and v reasonably priced. I’m so glad we decided to take the drive out from central Monterey to find this place. Passionfish serves fantastic food that’s reasonably priced, in a laid back atmosphere with very friendly service. If we ever come back to Monterey we’d definitely come back here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VickiD79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A gastronomic temple to sustainable seafood”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Passionfish is exactly what the name suggests. The owners and chef respect seafood that is sustainable and know exactly how to cook/prepare certain types of seafood to make them shine. The service is good, the food excellent and the ambiance suggests that the people around me know good food as well. In addition, the value for money is suoerb.This is a unique gastronomic experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fresh and Sustainable”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Great food, reasonable prices. Scallops cooked to perfection, hearty spatzel, and pear bread pudding with caramel sauce. Worth returning for!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank d_riddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Passionfish also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Passionfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing