We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce Local's Favorite”
Review of Red House Cafe

Red House Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Monterey, CA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“NIce Local's Favorite”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Quaint is an accurate descriptor. The food is very good and contains unique items like a blue cheese cassserole/quiche. The wine selection is also very nice and reasonably priced. We're happy to return - try to make reservations, though. It can get quite crowded at times.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traveljunkie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, Owner at Red House Cafe, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Traveljunkie26-Thank you for the nice review. Thank you for dining with us. We are delighted that you liked the blue cheese casserole/ quiche as well as the wine selections and prices. As a local, we hope you will come see us often. Please find us on Facebook, Pinterest, and Twitter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    655
    288
    45
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner @ the Red house Cafe”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Excellent food, excellent service and an easy walk from our B & B. Even when our order was initially in error, it was immediately addressed and food out within minutes. Thought the house Red wine was really good. Fairly crowded there and on a Tuesday night, so seemed a favorite with locals, since many parties included several people and children. Very cosy, comfortable ambiance and again enjoyed the food and service. Dinner inside since evening and slight nip in the air.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dottie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, Owner at Red House Cafe, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dottie L-Thank you for visiting us for dinner. We are happy that you liked the food, wine, service, and ambiance. Thank you for your excellent review. Please come see us again. Please find us on Facebook and Pinterest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely little restaurant”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I liked this restaurant so much for dinner that I came back for breakfast the next day. Food was great. I really loved their dessert which was one of the reasons to come back the next day for a good breakfast. The service was really friendly sincere. It's a small place which almost feels like your eating in someones home. The wine suggestion of my waitress was really good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GerhardvN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, Owner at Red House Cafe, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
GerhardvN-Thank you for visiting us twice. What a lovely compliment to us! We are delighted to hear that you liked the food, desserts, wine, and the service. We look forward to your next visit. Please find us on Facebook and Pinterest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
126 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Deserves every good review!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Red House is a true California delight. Of course beautiful sunny day, sitting on the porch helped, but the eclectic menu, super friendly service, great food and reasonable price is an unbeatable combination. And the fresh, giant cookies are also excellent. We had good meals in Carmel, just a couple of miles away, but the small town vs tourist destination difference is remarkable... find time to stop there. And just down the street my wife found an interesting jewelry store that has a lot of loose semiprecious stones... and they had beautiful items at terrific prices..

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rick422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, Owner at Red House Cafe, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
rick422-Thank you for dining with us. We are glad that you liked our menu, service, food, and prices along with our giant cookies. Thank you for the great review. Please find us on Facebook and Pinterest. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Delicious breakfast”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The restaurant is comprised of quaint and cozy rooms - menu was small-ish but everything looked delicious. My friend and I both really enjoyed our meals (berry pancakes and brioche french toast). Service was very friendly and we were seated promptly - everything was fantastic!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, Owner at Red House Cafe, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
laurenguertsen-Thank you for your nice review. We are happy that you liked your breakfast entrees and the "friendly service". We look forward to your next visit. Please find us on Facebook and Pinterest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red House Cafe also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 

Been to Red House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing