We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burger perfection!”
Review of Red House Cafe

Red House Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We loved this place so much, I am posting this while we're still eating!
Cute little place, friendly staff (sorry about our neon shoes blinding the staff, lol), excellent service and the juiciest tastiest burgers we have had in YEARS! We will definitely stop by again the next time we are near Pacific Grove.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maikekai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, Owner at Red House Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Maikekai-Thank you for visiting us. We are pleased to hear that you liked the staff, service, and burgers. We won the "Best Burger" award for 2013 from the Monterey County Weekly's Readers Poll, so we hope you will come have another burger with us. Please find us on Facebook as there is a photo of our Cheeseburger that you might enjoy seeing. Thank you for your fabulous review. Please stop by and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,068)
There are newer reviews for Red House Cafe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

747 - 751 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Red House Cafe is in "downtown" Pacific Grove. The food is classic California with fresh ingredients, and outside dining available. It is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and is well worth visiting.

Thank OlympicWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, Owner at Red House Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

OlympicWest-Thank you for visiting us from Seattle and thank you for calling us a "Nice Little Restaurant". We appreciate your kind words. We look forward to your next visit. Please find us on Facebook where you will see a photo of a "cute little house" and a "fun little place." Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Read the positive reviews on both Trip Advisor and Yelp, so plugged in the address on our recent trip to the Monterey Peninsula. We were not disappointed. Informal feel; flip flops and shorts were right at home. Charming cafe, attentive service and good food. Modern American menu, so the ability to find everything from salads to sandwiches to fish, chicken, pasta & beef. You could eat light or show up hungry. We skipped dessert, so can't comment. A steady stream of take out orders in the front room suggest the locals like this place.

Crowded but only a short wait on a Thursday night before 7pm.

Thank BillMacsWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, Owner at Red House Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

BlackSocks...-Thank you for joining us for dinner on a Thursday night. Thank you for liking the "informal feel" and the "attentive service and good food". Thank you for calling our Café "charming", We enjoyed your "charming" review. Please come see us again on your next visit from Maryland and please find us on Facebook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My sister and I had a nice meal here. It was crowded and we were seated on the back porch which had a heater that kept going off so it was a little chilly. The food was good and service was friendly. We would go back again but sit inside.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SFbythebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, Owner at Red House Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

SFbytheBay-Thank you for visiting us. We are delighted to hear that you liked the food and service. Thank you for letting us know about the back porch heater which we will address. We apologize if it wasn't warm enough for you. We hope that you will come see us again. Happy September to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

This place serves some outstanding dishes. Breakfast, linch or dinner. Dog friendly. Grab an outside seat on a sunny day and you wont want to leave.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ultravinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, Owner at Red House Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Ultravinnie-Thank you for your "outstanding" review and thank you for liking our soup! Please come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red House Cafe also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 

Been to Red House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing