We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pacific Gardens Inn
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2014

This was our third stay here. This place is awesome. Given a choice we wouldn't stay anywhere else in the area. I actually don't feel good about reviewing this place, because it does get busy, and it's one of those places that you want to keep all to yourself. We stayed in a 2 bedroom with two young boys. The only thing that you could say is that maybe the rooms could use an upgrade, having said that, they are fully equipped, kitchen fire place etc and every thing works. Besides with you kids or pets you don't want it to be too fancy. We absolutely love this place!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caliroadtrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob b, Owner at Pacific Gardens Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 321 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

This was our first stay at the Pacific Grove Inn and were thoroughly impressed with the warm, inviting welcome by the staff. Customary check-in times are at 3 p.m. but we arrived earlier than expected and our room was ready which was quite comfortable and in a quiet location that we requested. Location can't be beat if you wish to walk to Asilomar Beach. The Inn is well kept and efficiently run by Robert and his staff. We highly recommend the Inn for its overall customer service and competitive pricing for the area. It can't be beat!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms in the back tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonaCasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob b, Owner at Pacific Gardens Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Great place, nothing fancy but the location is fantastic! Just 3 minute walk to the beautiful Asilomar beach. The Inn is located on a quiet , woodsy street- very pretty and quiet. Robert was super friendly and helpful. Easy access to Carmel, downtown Pacific Grove and 17 mile drive. Would stay here again!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ilovemaps247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We've stayed here several times, in fact we find it perfectly located to the ocean, Carmel, Monterey and it's pet friendly. The evening happy hour is a nice touch with wine and goodies. It's a great base for biking the area. They also offer a nice buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

My husband and I just moved to CA from FL 10/2013. We didn't have the funds to fly back to FL for Christmas (over 2K), so we decided to take a road trip over the holidays and SEE California! Our last stop was Pacific Grove. I chose this hotel for its location, pet policy & price.

Pros:
-This hotel allows pets - it almost seemed like the only one around as everyone else there had a dog with them (we had our rat terrier, Fancy)
-From the hotel, it's just a short walk to the ocean; we watched the sunset both nights we were there - it was breathtaking
-They offer complimentary wine and cheese every night - it was nice
-The folks in the office were pretty nice.
-They have cable. It was so cold after the sunset we watch Bar Rescue for a couple of hours!

Cons:
-This hotel is SERIOUSLY outdated and falling apart - literally. They need to invest in the property and give it a make-over, ASAP. They still use physical keys - no cards.
-The beds are so old and terrible - did not sleep well either night
-Strange old/musty smell in the room
-Lights in the bathroom don't reach the shower - that's right, hardly any light while showering
-The floor and linens in the room did look or seem clean - I slept in long pj pants and my hoodie & didn't walk around with my shoes off
-The walls are paper thin - we heard dogs barking, conversations, walking, giggling - you name it.

Overall, I would not stay here again unless it had been renovated. I'll pay extra to feel comfortable in a clean room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tkwillms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We've just returned from a most relaxing stay at the Pacific Gardens Inn. First off, the inn has a stellar location on quiet and rustic Asilomar Boulevard, an easy five minute walk to a very scenic segment of the Pacific coast. Secondly, the staff is extremely attentive to your every need.

Each day at 5 p.m., a savory spread of California wine and cheeses is offered beside a roaring fire in the common room. This is followed in the morning with a filling breakfast that includes a choice of fresh locally prepared pastries, cereal, toast, fruit and hard boiled eggs.

Many of the lodging rooms also have fireplaces. Our room was quite clean, had a very comfortable bed, and provided a wide choice of television stations.

I've saved the best for last -- Pacific Gardens Inn has the most welcoming and reasonable pet policy I've ever encountered. There are no add-on fees, deposits, or draconian rules. The staff only expect the guests to show good judgement and respect when caring for their dog.

Pacific Grove is a wonderful destination, and the Pacific Gardens Inn is a great place to stay!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoliageSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

When we first arrived for a 3-night stay, my daughter and I were happy with the wooded atmosphere, small intimate feel, and location. We settled in for a relaxing evening in our room after walking around all day, and things were going well at first. HOWEVER, a large dog started barking in a yard immediately behind our room and KEPT BARKING on and off for more than 4 hours and then again in the early morning, waking us up. A call to the front desk elicited the comment that, "It's a rescue dog." The clerk stated she called the owners to quiet their dog, but nothing changed. Second night was a little better so we decided to stay (we had prepaid). The third night, however, was the worst ever and that poor unhappy dog barked almost constantly for more than 5 hours. Same story the next morning. Despite the positive aspects of the hotel, I will NEVER stay here again.

At one point, I spoke with a gentleman who seemed to be the manager, and he stated that I should let the front desk know and they would be sure the owners kept the dog quiet. Apparently that doesn't work, since I spoke with desk clerks at least 2 times a night for the 3 nights. The young woman on our third night said, "Well, I asked them to quiet the dog but I can't make them do it."

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pacific Grove hotels
0.7 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
893 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
345 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
618 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
#14 of 17 in Pacific Grove
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Gardens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Gardens Inn

Address: 701 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pacific Grove
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range: $120 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pacific Gardens Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pacific Gardens Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Gardens Hotel Pacific Grove
Pacific Gardens Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing