We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Destination For Relaxing Getaway!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pacific Gardens Inn
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Destination For Relaxing Getaway!!”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We've just returned from a most relaxing stay at the Pacific Gardens Inn. First off, the inn has a stellar location on quiet and rustic Asilomar Boulevard, an easy five minute walk to a very scenic segment of the Pacific coast. Secondly, the staff is extremely attentive to your every need.

Each day at 5 p.m., a savory spread of California wine and cheeses is offered beside a roaring fire in the common room. This is followed in the morning with a filling breakfast that includes a choice of fresh locally prepared pastries, cereal, toast, fruit and hard boiled eggs.

Many of the lodging rooms also have fireplaces. Our room was quite clean, had a very comfortable bed, and provided a wide choice of television stations.

I've saved the best for last -- Pacific Gardens Inn has the most welcoming and reasonable pet policy I've ever encountered. There are no add-on fees, deposits, or draconian rules. The staff only expect the guests to show good judgement and respect when caring for their dog.

Pacific Grove is a wonderful destination, and the Pacific Gardens Inn is a great place to stay!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoliageSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    114
    43
    8
    5
See reviews for
125
111
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cupertino, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

When we first arrived for a 3-night stay, my daughter and I were happy with the wooded atmosphere, small intimate feel, and location. We settled in for a relaxing evening in our room after walking around all day, and things were going well at first. HOWEVER, a large dog started barking in a yard immediately behind our room and KEPT BARKING on and off for more than 4 hours and then again in the early morning, waking us up. A call to the front desk elicited the comment that, "It's a rescue dog." The clerk stated she called the owners to quiet their dog, but nothing changed. Second night was a little better so we decided to stay (we had prepaid). The third night, however, was the worst ever and that poor unhappy dog barked almost constantly for more than 5 hours. Same story the next morning. Despite the positive aspects of the hotel, I will NEVER stay here again.

At one point, I spoke with a gentleman who seemed to be the manager, and he stated that I should let the front desk know and they would be sure the owners kept the dog quiet. Apparently that doesn't work, since I spoke with desk clerks at least 2 times a night for the 3 nights. The young woman on our third night said, "Well, I asked them to quiet the dog but I can't make them do it."

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Second visit, will return again if possible. Great location, close to asilomar beach where you can watch the surfers. We also saw a whale this time. Owner/manager and staff very friendly and welcoming. Great closet this time and shower. Plenty of hot water but be conservative. I really like this cozy lodge-like atmosphere over larger hotels. Wifi, kitchenettes. Great visit.

Room Tip: Entire location is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland, CA
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We had a 2 BR room at the Pacific Gardens Inn and found it absolutely delightful. We have stayed at other places in the same area. We like the Asilomar area, which is very quiet and close to Asilomar Beach and the start of 17 Mile Drive, and not heavily trafficked at all, yet somehow only a short drive away from PG's main drag, Monterey, and Carmel. Our first impression was very welcoming, with Robert the owner greeting us, and the lobby with lit fireplace, comfy chairs and tables. If you are a grown up, you will love the wine and cheese they serve here every evening, perfectly timed for a little relaxing nosh and downtime in between a day spent outdoors and dinnertime. The staff and owner have great recommendations for the area, and there is even a computer for guests' use. You will also appreciate the coffee and continental breakfast served here mornings, so you can stop by before heading out for an incredible morning walk on Asilomar Beach and the trail that leads along the dunes to Spanish Bay and 17 Mile Drive. If you are a kid, you will love that you are able to bring your dog with you, that there is a kitchen where snacks can be kept, the hot tubs, the popcorn makers in the rooms, and the free wifi and cable television for when you are pooped after a day of digging in the sand and sightseeing in the area with your parents and ready to flop on the sofa. If you are the family dog you will appreciate not being left at home without your people, and running around on Asilomar Beach. Pluses are: the management and staff, large rooms, a great price (for the area), offstreet parking, comfortable beds, multiple TV sets in the 1 BR and 2 BR suites, and genuine family and pet friendliness. We actually travelled with two other families and the only complaints I heard were that the showers were a bit low and weak pressured, and taps in the bathroom stiff. Also not all of the rooms had dvd players which was a bummer when we wanted to put on a movie for the kids. But they can always watch Netflix on the laptop.... since the wifi is free. Décor is slightly dated, but no more than I'm sure you would find at vacation rentals in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravelingfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Erie, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

What other say is true, it's rustic, comfy and location, location, location. Rooms are clean, staff are amazing and the price and service make this the place you want to be.
Robert the owner, if friendly, hands on, gets to know people. You can see he is proud of his business and takes pride. Yes this is not 5 star, but we are not looking for 5 star in this area. 3 minutes from ocean, many nice places to walk and enjoy the fresh air. The breakfast, is simple but good we enjoyed it both days. This was our second visit to Pacific Gardens Inn and we already cannot wait to come back.
Wanted to make a special thank you to Annette. She is an absolute PRO! While carrying on with her front desk duties she overseas the wine and cheese get together, she makes people feel comortable, encourages conversation between guests and for those that do not want to chat she respects that as well. We remembered Annette from our first stay. Bottom line is we feel like family when we stay there and are very happy we found this hidden gem.

Thanks Robert, keep up the good work.

Jim and Liesma - Mississauga, Ontario.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bflojim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stayed at the Pacific Gardens Inn for a conference that was taking place across the road at Asilomar. The accommodations are on par with the area....rustic and well maintained. The room was quite comfortable. There were minimal signs of wear and tear. The bed was soft and the bathroom was quite clean. I'm ranking it a 3 because I have stayed in fancier hotels but I would definitely return to Pacific Gardens Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExploreOurUniverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My cousin and I stayed at the Pacific Gardens Inn for one night on our way home from visiting relatives in the Bay area. It is surrounded by trees and was very quiet. It is an older place but clean and pretty well kept up. We had a 2 Q room upstairs (206) and didn't hear hardly any other people, cars, etc. It had a fireplace that was all set up with matches to light it. It didn't have small kindling so the fire went out quickly as the larger logs didn't catch but we didn't fool around with it to try for a lasting fire. Popcorn and machine was provided but we were too full from our dinner (and the wine & cheese and crackers provided earlier in the lobby) to try it out. Asilomar Beach is a short walk across the street through the Conference Center's parking lot. The breakfast was filling. Besides scones, muffins, danish there were two choices of cereal and some hard cooked eggs. Pacific Grove is a charming town and I may bring my husband back for our anniversary.

Room Tip: I always like upper rooms so you don't hear footsteps but it seemed like it was pretty quiet any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sky22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pacific Grove hotels
0.1 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
282 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
364 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
333 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
594 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#7 of 17 in Pacific Grove
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Gardens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Gardens Inn

Property: Pacific Gardens Inn
Address: 701 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pacific Grove
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pacific Gardens Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pacific Gardens Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Gardens Hotel Pacific Grove
Pacific Gardens Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing