We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wished I'd seen the wine and cheese...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pacific Gardens Inn
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2008

Loved reading all the reviews of the Pacific Gardens Inn and especially liked the descriptions of the warm and hospitable setting many others encountered on check-in when they came across the evening wine and cheese event.

I arrived at 8:40 on a Friday night after a three hour drive and at the end of a long business day. The front desk was unmanned (and wine and cheese was long over) when I got there and a sign indicated that the receptionist was away for a moment and would be back soon.

I waited about five minutes and then asked the two teen agers also standing at the desk how long they'd been waiting for the check-in person to return. They said they'd been waiting about ten minutes, so that meant she hadn't been around for about 15 minutes now, and it wasn't looking good for me to just be able to get my key and get to my room.

I walked behind the desk and stuck my head into a small office there in which a woman named Areli was sitting. I told her about my plight and asked her if she could help me, and she said "I'm not working now" but came out anyway with reluctance and carelessness to check me in and give me my key. I was struck by her rude tone and thought that if that were her best efforts toward greeting a guest she probably should have done nothing instead.

I wanted good instructions to find the room since it was dark but she waved her hand and went back to the office. I had trouble finding #102 as its door is completely hidden from view, and parking at the inn is limited and insufficent.

Parked on the other side of the motel and walked to where I thought #102 should be, inserted my key in the lock, and nothing happened. I looked at the key tag and realize it said "101" so I assumed that they'd moved me to the next room and I went to that door, and unliocked it to see a room full of luggage, wine, clothing, and all the nice things people bring with them on a vacation week-end.

So after having waited 15 minutes for service and then having to ask for it from someone who delivered it unwilingly, I had been given someone else's room key.

I returned to the office and met Kirsten , the receptionist on duty,who instead of apologizing about my welcome was quick to state she'd been with another customer. This I already knew from the information on her little desk sign, so I asked for the correct room key and finally got it, about 25 minutes after I'd arrived.

At this point it would have taken a big turnaround to make me happy with this inn, and that was not to be. I found the beds unusually hard and the sound of all the plumbing noises from the adjoining rooms were as loud as any I've ever heard-makes Motel 6 seem like a Four Seasons in that category.

The two teenagers who'd been waiting at the desk with me also walked by my room and without solicitation remarked on how rudely I'd been treated by Areli.

I can tell from the attention to detail that is apparent in other aspects of the inn that the owners are caring and that they mean to offer everyone a good experience.

My suggestion to them is that they invest in a cell phone for reception and that the sign on the desk when check-in is absent read "Please call this number from the phone in the lobby to reach our check-in person if no one is here".

That alone would have kept me away from begging for service form Areli, who didn't want to proivde it, and it would have probably been a better bet for their insurance company, who wouldn't have had to worry about keys being issued to rooms that are already occupied.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ramonaloewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 321 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2008

We got a great room, fireplace, fridge, popcorn& popper, NO microwave. They had wine, cheese, crackers, and salami and coffee and tea. It's across the street from the Asilomar Conference Center and walking distance to the beach. We brought our dog - there was no additional charge, just a $30 security deposit. In the morning they had scones, fruit, cereal and bagels, juice, coffee & tea, cocoa. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dazyls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2008

My family and I just enjoyed a wonderful, peaceful stay at the Pacific Gardens Inn. We had the two bedroom suite. It was basically an apartment with plenty of room and a full kitchen. The staff was super nice and helpful. The hotel was quiet , so quiet that you can even hear the ocean at night. THe wine and cheese reception was perfect and so it the morning breakfast. We were so sad to leave.

we will be back later this year. It is in a great location, away from the traffic of MOnterey yet close enough to do all your activities!!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kathykatvalencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2008

We had a wonderful time...it was an enjoyable, comfortable, and entertaining stay.

The accomodations were more than expected. And the surrounding area was so beautiful and tranquil. But, for us, the best feature was the camaraderie experienced among the guests during the breakfasts and the wine & cheese gatherings.

Everyone (especially the owner, Bob) was so outgoing and communicative. My wife was thrilled to be able to meet so many friendly folks (we usually stay in large hotels). We looked forward to each night's wine and cheese (and the breakfasts, too.)

Summary: We loved our stay! We've already told many folks about it. And, we'll be back!

billinavon@aol.com

Stayed: April 2008
Thank stcbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2008

We have been staying here for years...always with children and love it! They have popcorn in the room. The fireplace is great when it is a colder evening. Love the spas, breakfast, wine and cheese.
Always have had a great experience!

Stayed: September 2007
1  Thank happycampersdhac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

Pacific Gardens Inn is a small B&B with large rooms and larger hospitality. You'll be well taken care of by Robert, the new owner-operator and his staff. He ensures your stay is good and was raised in the area, so knows everything. Nestled in the quiet pines across from Asilomar Beach Resort and next to 17 Mile Drive / Pebble Beach, only a minute walk to Calif's most magnificent seashore, with its joggers, otters, seals, & surfers.

You definitely want to stay in the Asilomar area of PG, for the coastline and beaches, ocean air, the deer everywhere, and the quietness. Enjoy it all by renting a bike! We have been coming here for years every chance we get. They are often sold out in advance, that shows you how popular this inn is with returning guests. In this upscale area, the room rate is great! Rooms are large, with fridge but no microwave, and most have real fireplaces, and sometimes can accommodate small dogs. We are particular about where we stay, and Pacific Gardens is always clean & comfortable, and the beds sleep well. Laundry onsite. The best continental breakfast served in the area is right here. Wine and cheese is offered nightly in the lobby, the perfect snack before enjoying dinner at numerous well-known great restaurants in downtown Pacific Grove (try Favaloro's Big Night Bistro, The Passion Fish, Peppers, and Holly's for breakfast!). Only minutes away lies Monterey, the Aquarium, Cannery Row, Point Lobos, Carmel.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Fastracmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2008

We usually stay in Carmel where we would have paid double for the same accomodations! The area is very quiet. We stayed in 208 which is a two bedroom, one bath suite with full kitchen, livingroom and fireplace. It has a partial ocean view which was a nice bonus! One of the most powerful showers we have had in the Carmel area with all their conservation efforts. All the employees were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. If you think "continental breakfast" is pastries in a plastic bag, you will be pleasantly surprised at PGI. Breakfast included hot chocolate, coffee, tea, oj, cereal, fresh fruit, bagels, scones, pastries and hard boiled eggs. The two in-ground jacuzzis were kept at the perfect temperature during our stay. There were covered garages (no doors) which is nice when there is mist in the morning. While the Inn is not elaborate, it is very comfortable and clean with comfy beds. You can't go wrong here and there are restaurants within walking distance. Would not hesitate to stay there again.

Stayed: February 2008
2  Thank 356PorscheGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pacific Grove hotels
0.7 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
858 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
338 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Gardens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Gardens Inn

Address: 701 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pacific Grove
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range: $147 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pacific Gardens Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Pacific Gardens Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Gardens Hotel Pacific Grove
Pacific Gardens Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing