We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sooooo peaceful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pacific Gardens Inn
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Winston-Salem, NC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“sooooo peaceful!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had two nights here recently and LOVED the location---away from the tourist-trappy Monterey (but still just a few miles away) and so near the water. The breakfasts were great, rooms too. THey also have wine and cheese every afternoon. And wood fireplaces in the rooms and even a popcorn popper (they provide the popcorn and bowl). Pacific Grove is great---halfway between Monterey and Pebble Beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breinings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    107
    41
    8
    5
See reviews for
121
104
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rogue River, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent one night here in early August. Since we had our dog the availability of dog friendly rooms is a definite plus.
The room was clean and comfortable. My husband enjoyed the wine and cheese tasting...I'm not a big wine fan. The continental breakfast was quite good.
The location is wonderful, amidst large evergreens but only a short walk to the beach.

Room Tip: We were in a downstairs room which was a bit noisy from people walking overhead. If we stayed there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CollenF913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel had it all - free wi-fii for the children, log fires, free wine and cheese and hot spas for the adults.

The room was huge, super clean and massive beds.

We loved this place.

Not cheap but entirely worth it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelgeek77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
178 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights as a last minute trip with my wife. Even though rooms are dated, they are meticulously clean and very quiet. The wood burning fireplace added a nice touch to the cool evenings. The continental breakfast was fresh (brought in daily from a local bakery) including large bagels, pastries, muffins and rolls. The front desk staff were very friendly and hospitable, almost as if this was their own house. Shower pressure was minimal but that's how it is in the whole area with their water restrictions (still got the job done) and the toiletries were high quality. Book directly with the hotel, you get the best deals directly thru them.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamaicabitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, CA, USA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our family stayed 3 nights at the Pacific Gardens Inn. Overall we were very pleased with the experience. As other reviewers have said, this is an older property and a little outdated. However, that was quickly overlooked by the size and design of our room, the location, and the outstanding staff/owner. We traveled with 2 adults and 2 small kids (5,2). Our room was a 1 bedroom large suite. As far as hotel rooms go, this was one of the largest I have stayed in. It was the size of a decent apartment and included a full kitchen, dining table, living room, fireplace, bedroom and separate vanity and bathroom. As a family with two little kids who like room to move, it was perfect. There was a bit of a musty smell in the room but we opened the windows and it was quickly gone. The owner is a very nice man who was quick to help us plan our trip to Big Sur. During one of our conversations my son noticed a toy car on his shelf. He was kind enough to let him play with it. However, it didn't stop there. The next day I came out of the room to find a number of toy cars waiting for my son to play with. He said that he had them left from when his children grew up there. That's the type of individualized service that will keep me coming back. It's a nice property, good rooms, great rates, and located in one of the prettiest areas of California. Overall this was a pleasant stay and we hope to visit them again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjogg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised at how nice the place was considering the low rate for the area. About $130 for 1 night is very reasonable for the Monterey/Carmel area. The room had a cozy fireplace which we did use. Very quaint and rustic feel. Our building had no second story, so it was nice not to be hearing people above us. Only problem was the bathroom sink was a bit clogged, and they did make every effort to unclog it but to no avail. They were very apologetic about this. Just a bit sluggish for the water to drain. Nice continental breakfast and very nice owner who I had the oportunity to speak with. Would definetely stay there again for a longer Monterey are stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive, Iowa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed with my wife and daughter two nights in late July. The property consists of multiple, two-story frame buildings that encircle the reception building and parking lot. This was not the newest or best-maintained property in the market, but that was mitigated by the size of our unit [two bedrooms (Q, T/T), kitchen / dining area, living room, bathroom, two televisions], closet space, cleanliness, great location, and a very competitive rate. The complimentary continental breakfast was a nice feature. Our second-floor unit had its own deck overlooking the rest of the property. This was among the quietest properties I've encountered in the past 30 years even though there was no vacancy. The neighborhood is heavily wooded, and within walking distance of the beach. The air is very fresh. The property is two blocks north of a very good seafood restaurant. It is also very close to the start of the 17-Mile Drive (to Carmel via Pebble Beach) and just a short drive from the Monterey Aquarium. For women shoppers, there are a surprising number of high-quality consignment clothing stores in Pacific Grove. Even though we had never heard of Pacific Grove, it turned out to be a great place for us to hunker down for the night.

Room Tip: There is very little noise in the neighborhood. So the only consideration in picking a quiet room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pacific Grove hotels
0.7 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#2 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#6 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Gardens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Gardens Inn

Property: Pacific Gardens Inn
Address: 701 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pacific Grove
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pacific Gardens Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Pacific Gardens Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Gardens Hotel Pacific Grove
Pacific Gardens Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing