We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family vacation up the Coast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pacific Gardens Inn
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The hostess was very warm and friendly. She made a special tray of tea fixings for us to enjoy outside at the jacuzzi. Breakfast was simple, but enjoyable. The rooms are casual, rustic, and nice for a family. We enjoyed the fireplace and spacious size. Great location - across the street from Asilomar - the public conference grounds which are open the the public. We hung out there a few nights and enjoyed the warm fire and comfy leather chairs and couch. It is also located a quick walk from the beach.

Room Tip: No pool but a jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 321 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

What a great little down-to-earth gem! Clean spacious rooms with an on site owner, who does everything he can to make you comfortable. Nice, ample continental breakast and wine and cheese in the evening, where you can mix with the other guests. A lot of printed local info is available in the lobby. Also, Robert and his staff are a very knowledgeable about the attractions in the area. A wonderful stay. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badbrian46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We had a great stay. The owner and staff were very friendly, delicious breakfast (real muffins, scones), wine and cheese from 5-7 was a nice touch. We enjoyed the two hot tubs. It was walking distance to the beach and Asilomar Conference Grounds. Plus, close to a 'locals' favorite restaurant, the Fish Wife. Our suite was large with a full kitchen (popcorn maker) and wood fireplace. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

What luck we chose Pacific Gardens Inn! Such a lovely location, across from Asimolar, surrounded by beautiful trees and vegetation, with the ocean minutes' away. It's not fancy, but so comfortable. Robert, the gracious owner, checked us in, giving us great information for exploring the area. We were upgraded to a quiet room, fireplace, frig, popcorn popper, popcorn kernels, coffee, etc... two queen beds, a table and chairs, lots of room. Enjoyed poking around Pacific Grove and walked a short distance to dinner at the Fishwife. Definitely good value. The included wine and cheese reception was very nice, as well as the continental breakfast in the morning. All the staff was friendly and professional.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank af3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had an enourmous suite with sitting area,dining area, kitchen (fully equipped) and two bedrooms. Laundry facilities downstairs. The reception team were very welcoming and helpful. There was a fireplace in the room and in reception, very cosy as its quite chilly at the moment in pacific grove.
A short walk from the beach, and minutes from the famous scenic drive (which wasn't that scenic compared to the rest of the coastline you can visit for free). Cycling and driving distance from Monteray, which is much more touristy.
Breakfast and cheese and wine were both excellent. Much better than anywhere else we stayed. Plentiful supplies of food.
The owner recommended a really good deli for amazing sandwiches and cake.
The Fishwife restaurant at the end of the road also had a very good menu.
We stayed 4 days, but you could easily use up longer time there if the weather was better.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antonia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this Inn. Everyone who works here was so warm and welcoming. We felt like we were visiting with friends. The wine and cheese in the afternoon was a really nice plus. The dining area was cute and comfortable. Our room was very nice and large for a B&B. The nice touches with coffee and popcorn were appreciated. Breakfast was plentiful and yummy. The location was perfect for our romantic getaway!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gayle c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Rooms need updating, but other than that, this is a quaint bed and breakfast inn with a good location. The breakfast consists of a variety of breads such as muffins and scones plus hardboiled eggs and cereal. Their coffee earned an A+ and the glass mugs and juice glasses were a nice touch. Also this was the only B&B of its type in the nearby area to have a conference room- small but adequate. The next door conference grounds (Asilomar conference facility) is probably larger for those needing more space for meetings.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Astrodog614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pacific Grove hotels
0.7 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
856 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
337 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Gardens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Gardens Inn

Address: 701 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pacific Grove
#3 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range: $147 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pacific Gardens Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pacific Gardens Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Gardens Hotel Pacific Grove
Pacific Gardens Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing