We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Funky Delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Gardens Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pacific Gardens Inn
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A Funky Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

An older motel / B&B in a marvelous location. A throwback to the 50's and 60's but very clean. Our suite had a large sitting room, wood burning fireplace, full kitchen, huge walkin closet and a garage! Across the road from the beach. Extremely pleasant and helpful staff, both Kelly on check in and Robert the next am. Kelly gave us a great dinner recommendation, the Fishwife down the street. Hope to have an excuse to go back sometime, both to the Inn and the restaurant.

Room Tip: We had 109 .. no view but very quiet and private and with a garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MountainPCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    102
    36
    8
    5
See reviews for
117
98
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Meadow Vista, California, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The rates and location are attractive but aging decor and facilities are taking a toll. ////it works well if you are only "sleeping" there, but if you plan on spending time around the room it leaves a lot to be desired. Close to excelant resturaunts and things to do.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louie535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Although we only stayed overnight at the Pacific Gardens Inn, it is a place we certainly will go back to and stay longer in the future! Starting with the ease of booking and the next morning checking out, it was all very friendly. We have 2 dogs we travel with so we had a pet friendly room. There was no smell or prior doggie visits and everything was very clean. We loved the fireplace and the fact that it burned real wood, not some fake fireplace! The cheese and wine in the afternoon was great...just enough to get us thru until dinner at one of the local places. The same with breakfast the next morning. They had hard boiled eggs, bagels, muffins and fruit along with coffee and juice. The charge for all of this was very resonable and that is why we will stay longer next time! Of course the location was perfect, just across from a short walk to the beach. See you again next time, Robert and staff!

Room Tip: Request rooms on the second floor. It seems a little more quiet toward the back and you get a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kauaitoez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangevale
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This may have been my third or fourth stay at Pacific Gardens Inn. I have stayed with my sister, with a traveling companion, and by myself. This time, I received an upgrade from the mini suite to a larger suite(Room 212, I believe) with a nice view to the west towards the ocean. If I opened the windows, the breeze from the coast was delightful. This larger suite had a full kitchen, large refrigerator, a stove, dining table and chairs. There was a foldout couch in the living room and a double queen bedded separate bedroom. Televisions in both rooms. The room was in the back of the property.
Bathroom had a screen window to let out the steam from the shower/tub. The InnKeeper is Robert who has a hands on approach to the management and is usually around to chat with the guests. The front desk staff are pleasant. The maids are very nice as well.
Breakfast is fine: juice, coffee, bagels with creme cheese or jelly, various pastries, apples, bananas, two types of cereal.
There is a wine and cheese evening reception.
I like this place. It is casual. There is a hot tub. Dogs can stay in some of the rooms. I can stroll across the street and walk on the grounds of Asilomar State Park where I usually took a morning hike along the beach before breakfast.
There is a Trader Joes, a Safeway, and a SavMart fairly close to do some grocery shopping. One night, we bought a pizza from Mountain Mikes, another night we dined at Peppers in town or a local Thai Restaurant that is located in a white cottage in town.
The Pacific Grove Triathalon was taking place on the Saturday that I was leaving and that was exciting with the bicyclists racing along the beachfront road.
I like to hike and there are plenty of places to hike along the coast toward 17 mile drive or toward the coastal golf course.
One day I drove into 17 mile drive and parked at a delightful beach complete with restroom facilities and hiked towards Carmel. The views were spectacular.
I expect to return to the Pacific Gardens Inn. From time to time, I get emails telling me about specials at the Inn. It's a very relaxed atmosphere.

Room Tip: Every room I have chosen has been good. I would say try to get a room near the back of the property...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NatureGirlNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had not staryed not overnight in Monterey area for many years. Used AAA guide and Trip Advisor to search for places. When I called to make a reservation, I did not receive or need a -reservation number just my name so I suspetcted this stay was going to be good. Location is across the street from Asilomar and walking distrance to the lighthouse , the beaches , and the Fish Wife restaurant. There is a free trolley stop nearby to go to Cannery row and downtown Pacific Grove and tour the beaches. Everyone on their staff from the maid service to the desk to the owner are accomodating. The place is quiet, clean, and the friendly atmosphere extends to the guests. People from around the world were staying with singles, couples, and families mingling around breakast and the afternoon wine and cheese time. The breakast was basic and just right to start the day with everyone partaking of the those famous scones. I did enjoy the hot tub Jucuzzi . Their free wi-fi internet was great.

If you looking for the newest most up to date accomodations, go to the big resort hotels and pay the prices. We did not have A/C (not needed), full hot buffet breakfast( like make your own waffles), or honor bar. We did have free wi-fi internet , coffee maker , popcorn/popper , refrigerator, etc,in the room, The place is quiet.
I was having car trouble the night I arrived and wanted to go to Hearst Castle the next. day. The owner drove me to the rent a car place in Seaside to make sure I could make the trip. The staff knows the area. A great long weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor if you do not want to use staris.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eaglepipeclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
332 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

2 -24 hr hot tubs, beach a short walk. Room we had was 2 bedroom, one bath, nice livinginroom with wood burnig fireplace and full kitchen. Vey quiet and staff very friendly. Fairly short drive to Monterey Aquarium and Carmel Mission.
Nice but limited breakfast-hard boiled eggs, cereal and pastries.

Room Tip: We have liked all we stayed in and all should be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebbyLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Our son and his family have stayed at the Pacific Gardens Inn many times because of the family-friendly suites with kitchenette. This trip we joined them in a single room with fireplace just below their suite. While there is much to be said for a locally-owned inn with its charm and the owner’s personal attention to your every need, be prepared for the downside of not having corporate financial support including:
1. Sliding windows whose channels haven’t been lubricated in years and tend to fall out if you force them open.
2. Shredded sheer curtains.
3. Gas log lighters that disperse flames from both the “business end” AND the connection end.
4. Single-handle tub faucets that cannot be operated by anyone with arthritis.
5. Waiting a full three minutes for hot water in the morning.
6. Shower heads that dispense water at fire hose velocity.
7. Compact fluorescent light bulbs that range in color from blue to orange.
8. Broken bedside table lamp harps.
9. Paper thin walls and ceiling (you can hear every flush and shower).
10. Oaxacan maids who yell at each other when you’re trying to rest in the afternoon.
However, the morning continental breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese are indeed very nice as is having an air-popped popcorn popper in the room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Contraclarinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pacific Grove hotels
0.7 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 657 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
0.5 mi away
Butterfly Grove Inn
Butterfly Grove Inn
#6 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Gardens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Gardens Inn

Property: Pacific Gardens Inn
Address: 701 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pacific Grove
#3 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pacific Gardens Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Pacific Gardens Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Gardens Hotel Pacific Grove
Pacific Gardens Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing