We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly to Us and Fido too”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pacific Gardens Inn
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Friendly to Us and Fido too”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We love this inn. Our room was slarge, the staff are unusually friendly and helpful, the wine and cheese hour is nice, it's close to the beach, and dogs are welcome. Our older Aussie, Sheba, gives it five paws up.

Room Tip: it can be noisy during the night from people upstairs. Might be quieter on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tidetalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    113
    41
    8
    5
See reviews for
122
108
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chatsworth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I've been coming to this Inn for 20 years now and am never disappointed. You can't beat the location - across the street from the Asilomar Conference Grounds and a short walk to the beach. The rooms are a bit dated but you really can't beat this place for the price. For those who complain about the noise, I always make sure that I stay in a room with no room above me and that usually takes care of that problem. There were a number of dogs in residence when I was there and I never heard them. I happen to be very particular about my shower and they have one of the best - not wimpy like some places. The scones at breakfast are absolutely the best and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The free newspapers provided in the lobby are nice as well. Again, great location - great value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiscerningTrav27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We visited Pacific Grove while touring northern California on a family vacation, staying in a variety of accommodation types. We chose the Inn because it had a traditional, rustic look to it and liked the location. We felt the owner's description of the Inn and facilities were accurate. The people here are very friendly and helpful and based on their input during our stay they really enhanced our enjoyment of the area and made it a relaxing and fun stay. The accommodation could do with a face lift but what it might lack in upgrades it makes up for in its location to the beach and the good old fashioned charm and customer service offered by the staff. Some reviews mentioned noise from neighbors and other disturbances. I am a fussy sleeper and am very easily disturbed by background noise but slept like a baby while at the Inn! If the accommodations were updated I would have no problem giving it a 5.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KMPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our stay here very much. They are a pet friendly hotel which worked out great for us and our 2 dogs. The wine and cheese in the evening was very nice! Kelly did a great job providing a relaxing atmosphere with a cozy fire, comfy chairs, pleasant music, plenty of wine, cheese, assorted crackers and salami. It was a great way to unwind after a long drive to the coast. The room was was very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I didn't give it a 5 star rating because the windows didn't slide open very easily. There are large dogs just behind the hotel, but they brought them in for the night around 9:00 pm. Our king size bed was very comfy. Very short walk to the beach through the Asilomar Conference grounds. The continental breakfast in the morning provided fresh bagels, cream cheese, pastries, muffins, orange juice and coffee, which was ver nice. I love their lobby, very comfy and inviting. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Pet friendly place with a beautiful, short walk to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mochuisle77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingle Springs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Excited by the location, across the street from Asilomar and one block from ocean. First impression driving in - looked quaint, rustic with nice landscaping. We checked in at around 8pm and young woman behind desk was not particularly friendly, she basically handed us our key without giving us any further direction or information, we had to ask her for direction to our room. Our room had a King size bed and fireplace. Furniture was dated circa1980, bedding was not inviting, the blanket was dated and worn polyester as well as the bed spread. The pillows were lumpy and the mattress was very springy. The lamp on desk did not work. The windows are single pane so the cold wind blows through, and they also did not lock, they had cheap locking device that screws on window track to keep them secure - not a secure feeling when room is located on main street. The bathroom was motel room quality - shower curtain was old and crusty; lighting was very dim and had no fan for ventilation. When we flushed the toilet, the pipes moaned every time, and we could hear neighbors taking shower. The soaps and shampoos were very nice. Carpet had a stain in front of sink. Sink countertop was very low, worn-out and needs replacing. The door leading to shower room needed to be wiped clean, it was full of black hand marks. The wine and cheese they offered could have been presented better - salami looked like it was old and packaged, thick slices of cheddar and monterey jack cheese and crackers to go with unknown red and white wine. Would suggest offering maybe a local wine to go with locally made cheese and bread. Breakfast was a choice of Raisin Bran cereal or Frosted Flakes, bagels, sugar coated muffins and danishes, bananas and old apples, hard boiled eggs - you could do better and present foods that are fresher,and in season, especially since you are located in an area where foods are grown. We definitely had higher expectations coming to this place due to the location. The plus side was it was across the street from Asilomar, perfect if you're there for a function, and one block from the ocean, great if you want to walk or job along the coast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

The location is great and the staff were very friendly, Yes they offer Wine and Cheese in the evening, but this hotel is very dated. I found the beds to be very uncomfortable as you can feel the springs underneath you, but my biggest complain is the noise. You can hear the neighbors dog all night, can hear the shower, sink and toilet running in the next room, and you can hear the people above you walking around, the creaking of their bed, and their converstations. Just too many annoying and loud noises to give this a hiring rating. I wasn't expecting much and knew most of the hotels in this area are motel 6ish but the squeaking of the bed and footsteps all night are just too much. I come to this area a couple of times a year for conferences and I just will not be able to stay here again :(

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank h20dreams5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guerneville, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We spent two nights with our family in a two bedroom suite. They offer a wine and cheese in the evening and a good breakfast in the morning to get you going. The location is just outside the Pebble Beach gate and convenient to Monterey. This place offers great value for your money.

Room Tip: Explore 17 mile drive for a day. Pacific Gardens has great access to Pebble Beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brett G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pacific Grove hotels
0.1 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
328 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
360 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
569 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#6 of 17 in Pacific Grove
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Gardens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Gardens Inn

Property: Pacific Gardens Inn
Address: 701 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pacific Grove
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pacific Gardens Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Pacific Gardens Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Gardens Hotel Pacific Grove
Pacific Gardens Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing