We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the amazing views on the back 9”

Pacific Grove Municipal Golf Course
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Pacific Grove Municipal Golf Course, the Peninsula's only municipal golf course, is often called the "poor man's Pebble Beach."
West Chester
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Go for the amazing views on the back 9”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

As others have said, the course may be short and less challenging than others in the area, it makes up for it with the amazing views on the back 9. It's easy to get distracted and lose concentration but I enjoyed golfing there. Since we golfed on a Tuesday, pace of play was just over 4 hours with not too much waiting for our foursome.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    61
    10
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Grove, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Affordable Pebble Beach”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This city-owned golf course has two advantages over Pebble Beach. First, you can play it without hitting ten strokes over your usual game, and second, it is affordable. The view along the ocean front nine is spectacular, but please be careful not to hit the resident deer on your drive! Locals play this course regularly and are very happy to have visitors fill out their foursome.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GOTTA-GO-THERE-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful Course”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Just got home from playing here. Since its virtually in my backyard, I golf here alot...
As someone else said, the back nine is amazingly beautiful; but the front nine is lovely also. Great water views...and deer scampering around... Absolutely love this course....and how lucky am I to live here...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank shirleyvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What a Gem”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Have wanted to play this course for many years, and finally got the opportunity. The front 9 is OK, but the back 9 is spectacular beyond belief. We played on one of those Chamber of Commerce beautiful days. The course was in very good condition, and the staff was very nice. I'm just sorry it took so long to play the course.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldon, Missouri
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“AWESOME !!!!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband and I had the most amazing time at Pacific Grove Golf course, this was our first time there,it is an amazing course very beautiful and surprisingly not that hard to play,lol. We will definitely be back. Thank you to the employees there, they were so nice and eager to make our experience the best!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cgalvani17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific Grove Municipal Golf Course also viewed

Pebble Beach, Monterey County
 

Been to Pacific Grove Municipal Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing