We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not a "Poor man's Pebble"”

Pacific Grove Municipal Golf Course
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Pacific Grove Municipal Golf Course, the Peninsula's only municipal golf course, is often called the "poor man's Pebble Beach."
Houston
Level Contributor
153 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Definitely not a "Poor man's Pebble"”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Sorry, but I've played all the public Pebble Beach courses and this doesn't come close. The front nine fairways were close to bare, water is a big problem for them. The back nine is better because you're playing close to the water so you have dune areas. The front is like any minor municipal course with sparse funding. The back is more memorable. If you can get on for less than $40 go for it. It is nowhere near worth $65 when you have Bayonet/Blackhorse just up the road. If you do play here remember to land your approach to downhill greens 10 yards short of where you want to end up or the ball will release to the back of the green.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jimbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    61
    10
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milpitas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor man's Pebble Beach”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

It's an executive par 70 course. The front 9 reminds me of Golfing in Santa Cruz. The back 9 is near the ocean and reminiscent of Pebble Beach.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank coffeedawg822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REDONDO BEACH, CA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“ONE OF THE BEST SECRETS OF MONTEREY PENINSULA”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I recently played Pacific Grove golf course and this is a re-review of that facility. I've been golfing there for years and it is truly a links course. The front nine (the older of the two nines) is a bit funky with some short holes but it's interesting and holds plenty of challenge for the average golfer. But the back nine is quite as interesting as some of the more famous Scottish links courses. It has holes that are surfside level with all the attendant beauty. And I love the critters. There are always deer on the course and this time we were treated to a visit by a doe with her new fawn.

But the course is not the only attraction. There are recently constructed facilities for the restaurant and pro shop. Very nice, clean and attractive. The restaurant has high windows that provide plenty of light and a good view of the course area. But the food is truly outstanding. For breakfast I had eggs St. Andrews. Basically that was eggs Benedict with fresh salmon. The hollandaise was truly outstanding; up there with the best I've had. My golfing buddy had the more traditional eggs and bacon but raved about the brown sugar and pepper bacon. And the prices are very reasonable. If I lived in the area this would be a regular place for breakfast.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LHANN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oroville, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great place to play golf!!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband loves to play golf at Pacific Grove Municipal. He has met the nice people playing golf and shared great stories. They even have where you can rent clubs. The restaurant was great. Great food, great service and good prices. We ate breakfast there 4 days in a row and even had dinner.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank loveitaly95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
312 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“for toilets...”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Sorry i can't speak to the golfing - the actual golfers seemed very happy - but they were kind enough to let me use their toilets, after i'd been walking for hours,looking for butterflies, wandering the beach, exploring lighthouse....

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific Grove Municipal Golf Course also viewed

Pebble Beach, Monterey County
 

Been to Pacific Grove Municipal Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing