We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great little place in fantastic location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Borg's Ocean Front Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pacific Grove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Borg's Ocean Front Motel
Save
You added Borg's Ocean Front Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Betws y Coed
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great little place in fantastic location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We chose this place based on the great price and good reviews here.

The location is fantastic - we didn't pay extra for a sea view room, but we did get a view of the ocean from the side of the building looking over the park. During our stay the 'Feast of Lanterns' was on, which is a local festival - while it was noisy in the evening, we really enjoyed visiting the festival and watching the amazing fireworks!

The sea front is directly over the road from the motel, with lovely walks and great views.

The room is basic, but fine. Free tea & coffee in the lobby in the morning, and free ice from the machine. It would have been nice to have a kettle / coffee maker in the room, but otherwise, all was good.

Pacific Grove itself is lovely, it's worth going up to the main street for food, it's like stepping back in time a few decades!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GermanShepherdDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    91
    49
    19
    15
See reviews for
55
103
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stanford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Stayed for one night in July 2014. Walls are paper thin so we heard TV's from the rooms on both sides of us. From 11pm-1am, there was a party going on in an adjacent motel (Lovers Point Inn) across the parking lot. It was pretty loud. Blankets on bed could use an upgrade. All in all, not a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CalypsoJoe7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy B, General Manager at Borg's Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
We're very disappointed to hear that your recent stay with us was not relaxing. We do have 24 hour Front Desk service and, especially in the case of noise, I highly recommend calling the office so we can request that neighbors turn down their volume or lessen party noise. Guests are usually very accommodating once they realize that they might be disturbing others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pacific Grove hotels

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Rooms are very simple, dated, but clean. Hotel staff was friendly and let us pick from available rooms. If you choose ocean front second level as we did, you will have a breathtaking view. The hotel faces north, so the view allows you to see sunset and sunrise. I think the price for high season $169.00 is reasonable. Now for the negatives, which are not really the fault of management, but still a factor in choosing to select this hotel or not. I like view AND ocean front sounds. Unfortunately, there is a road that separates motel and ocean. Traffic is very constant until close to midnight....so you probably will not hear anything other than cars. That being said, it is possible at different times of the year, when traffic is less and wind is higher, making bigger waves and more crashing waves sounds, that you might not get the same opinion.

In the summer, if that is important to you, check the wind levels and you will notice Monterey Bay is almost like a lake, with little movement. Also, there is no air conditioning or fan in the rooms, so I would pack a fan just to have some circulation and drown out traffic noise.

I don't think I'd spend the extra $60-70 for ocean front next time, just because, it might even be quieter in the back. There is a beautiful walking trail that you can pick up across the street from motel and it's only about a mile walk to Monterey Aquarium.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laulea84Arkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The rooms were clean through some furniture was dated. Mattresses and pillows were very comfortable. Bathrooms in main building facing the water have been updated and are nice. Street noise was minimal after the day-trippers went home and the street pretty much cleared. In-room coffee would be a plus as would small refrigerators. Also hairdryers for the ladies. Try an upstairs waterfront room for one of the best views on the coast! Good value for a waterfront room.

Room Tip: Check to be sure the bathroom has been updated!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy B, General Manager at Borg's Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay! Please know for next time that we have hair dryers on loan at the Front Desk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
118 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We were in a crunch for a one night stay during our drive from San Fran to Santa Monica along the coast, and Borgs came to the rescue. A bit dated, but for the price and location (and one night) it was perfect. The rooms are big, and clean, but again dated. Free wifi was a plus (considering the Hyatt in Santa Barbara charged for use for 24hrs). Free coffee and tea in the am too. We'd definitely recommend it for a night on a PCH drive.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TomSueNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The Borgs hotel is a clean, no frills place to stay right on the lovely coast of the Pacific across from Lover's Point. The office staff is friendly and welcoming. Coffee, tea and hot chocolate in the AM. Beds are seem comfortable. You can hear the television through the walls but it is not something to keep one up at night. Televisions are antiquated but after a week with no TV at the Alsimore up the street it was perfect. Free wifi.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevose, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I've seen this motel for years, but this is the first time that I've stayed there. It's a small motel, it is kept up, but certainly not modern. They have the office with staff that are helpful, free coffee in the morning, and an ice machine...not much more. We had a room for 4 that was upstairs. The room was a good size for us, it was clean, with two comfortable queen beds, a table, no frig, no microwave, no pool, no fitness center, but best of all was the picture window. This is why you have to stay here...the view from the window was amazing!!! We were able to watch Otters an Seals play, and then several times we were able to see whales breach, and spotted quite a few spouts! I've never been able to sit in my room and watch such amazing creatures!!!

You can walk across the street to a pretty park and the ocean. You can walk to several restaurants. Pacific Grove is a beautiful town, and you are right around the corner from Monterey.

I would rather stay at Mom and Pop's motels, rather than the chains. They don't offer all of the amenities that the chains can, but what they do offer out weighs those things! Will I come back again??? Without a doubt!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HrComsTrbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.6 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,485 reviews
1.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.3 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#2 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 660 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#8 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 701 reviews
0.7 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borg's Ocean Front Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borg's Ocean Front Motel

Property: Borg's Ocean Front Motel
Address: 635 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2232
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Lover's Point overlooking spectacular Monterey Bay; across from beach and park. Many unobstructed ocean view rooms. Monterey Bay Aquarium, golf, restaurants and historic downtown Pacific Grove are all very close by. Free WIFI in all rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Borg`s Ocean Front Hotel Pacific Grove
Borgs Ocean Front Hotel
Borgs Ocean Front Motel
The Borgs Motel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing