We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Location, Great Value”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pacific Grove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Borg's Ocean Front Motel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Super Location, Great Value”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This older, classic style motel is in the absolute best location on the Peninsula, Lover's Point. This is a peaceful, scenic area right on the water with a walking path flowing right through, and you can walk to Cannery Row or to Asilomar Point and beyond. Downtown Pacific Grove is a few blocks up the hill, where you'll find restaurants, a movie theater and a grocery store.

Rooms are just basic with telephone and TV set, but they're clean and functional. They have basic WiFi that works. The entire property, though older, is in very good condition. It's not a hotel, not the Hyatt, but your date won't call you out as a cheapskate because the rooms are truly decent and clean. Spend your day outdoors, bring a deck of cards and some food and beverages back to your room at night and let the sound of the ocean put you to sleep.

Rates are super-reasonable. Staff is very personable and the entire property has a non-corporate feel to it. Great place to keep out-of-town relatives during the holidays. And you can open the door to your room and throw a rock into the Pacific.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 351C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    94
    51
    19
    16
See reviews for
57
106
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
303 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This motel has a FABULOUS location, right on the water at Lover's Point halfway between Monterey and the beautiful stretches of beach in Pacific Grove. And yes, you can hear the waves from your window if you're lucky enough to have a room right on the front of the motel. But emphasize the word "motel", as in "motor hotel", as in you drive right up to your room and a slice of yesteryear. There is absolutely nothing fancy about this place. No shampoo in the bathroom, no coffee makers in the room, no hooks on the back of the door. The pillows are hard, the mattresses worn, and the walls paper thin. Just know what you're going for -- the location, really easy access, and friendly folks in the front office -- and don't expect more.

Room Tip: Second floor in front unless you have mobility issues (in which case first floor in front is perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kleic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

You can't beat the location. It really is right on the water and you can hear the roar of the waves from your room. I stayed in an ocean front, second floor room and the view was beautiful. The price, for the location, was reasonable.
However, the room was tired and getting a little shabby. I had cold air coming in through the door jamb and the window. The heater worked most of the night. There was also the ubiquitous mystery stain on the bedspread. : (
The bathroom was clean though and did not present any issues. I was only there one night and did not use the shower.
My feeling is that if you want the California coast experience stay here. You won't find the views for the same price in Monterey. But if you like a little luxury this is not the place for you.
There was coffee and tea in the lobby in the morning but I did not avail myself of this offer.

Room Tip: I don't think it worth staying here if you don't have an ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank estatemgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel after our room did come available at another. It has an excellent location on the waterfront where there is a pathway which can be taken to get to the aquarium. There are sea otters out front. It was basically clean but suffered from the slightly musty odors associated with an older property. The bathroom was again clean but out of the fifties. If you are happy with this these deficiencies it is worth staying at if you can get a good price. They charged us $175 for an ocean front room. The window to the sea was the best feature. You were paying for the view as by other standards it was pricey.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buisonkoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Borg's is located right at Lover's Point where a park and picnic facilities are right across the street. The view here is fantastic. Otters, sea lions, shore birds are all there for pictures and enjoyment. Borg's is kind of bare-bones, but a real bargain. I've stayed there many times and plan on staying there again...soon!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ODonal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here on our first trip to Monterey together. I was a bit skeptical about Borg's Motel (the name didn't sound quite right) but my husband, having stayed here before, assured me that it would be a great place to stay. Plus, it was pretty cheap compared to the rest of the places we tried. The rooms were very neat and decent enough for the price. And the view! Oh my God! Right in front of the hotel was the Pacific blue, and so close to the beautiful Lovers' Point. We stayed here for two days and I never got tired of the view outside. The motel was relatively quiet, and we had no problems at all. Apparently, the place is pretty popular (not surprising, considering their million-dollar view!) and you might need to call and book your room in advance. But, definitely the best place in Monterey for an economical price, yet great location.

Room Tip: Book early and ask for ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranjini R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a clean, comfortable room with friendly staff and great location, this is it!

The motel is dated, yes, but we found it clean and well maintained. We stayed here seven or eight years ago, and we hope to return next year.

We stayed on the ground floor, non-ocean view (although we could see the ocean from our window!). The hotel is close to Pebble Beach and 17 Mile Drive, and also to Cannery Row and Monterey.

In short, a great value.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puremichiganstaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.6 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,573 reviews
3.4 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
1,932 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
704 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#6 of 17 in Pacific Grove
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borg's Ocean Front Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borg's Ocean Front Motel

Property: Borg's Ocean Front Motel
Address: 635 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2232
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Lover's Point overlooking spectacular Monterey Bay; across from beach and park. Many unobstructed ocean view rooms. Monterey Bay Aquarium, golf, restaurants and historic downtown Pacific Grove are all very close by. Free WIFI in all rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Borg`s Ocean Front Hotel Pacific Grove
Borgs Ocean Front Hotel
Borgs Ocean Front Motel
The Borgs Motel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing