We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Monterey, very affordable”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pacific Grove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Borg's Ocean Front Motel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Close to Monterey, very affordable”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I was very impressed by Borg’s, close to a nice beach and oceanfront, yet only a short stroll from downtown Monterey, and still very affordable. Good sized room and friendly front office staff, they also had free wi-fi despite no mention of it on the site. It’s a huge motel with plenty of parking but thankfully wasn’t as noisy as I thought it could be. The only problem I could possibly find was the overactive and enthusiastic ice machine in the parking lot that started constructing ice at 6 in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank psychokilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    97
    53
    19
    16
See reviews for
59
109
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, California (Near Los Angeles)
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We got ourselves an ocean front room. It appeared tidy and I didn't see any bed bugs when I checked. The man who accepted our reservation was super friendly. The woman who checked us in was accommodating but I didn't get the feeling that she wanted to talk much. The bed was a bit stiff (but I'm sure some people like hard beds). Our room was a decent size but we had two beds. I noticed that the one bed rooms were much smaller.

The view and location would make any 5 star resort envious. But the service and the stench of the room were decidedly 1 star. ...which was why I gave it 3 stars.

I wouldn't say it was worth the $180 that we paid (after taxes).

Room Tip: If you want a larger room, book one with two beds. On weekends, booking in advance will increase yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ajuliagulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Borg's Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
I'm sorry that you were unhappy with your room. Did you tell us of the odor problem while you were staying with us? If you experienced any problem during your stay we would have preferred that you tell us immediately so that we could remedy it and not affect your trip. (This is why we have staff on duty 24/7.) We would not have intentionally put guests into a room with an odor problem. Perhaps we could have changed your room for you or shampooed the carpet while you were out. Please know that we are VERY concerned and conscientious about the cleanliness of our rooms. You can verify that by the majority of guest comments attesting to our cleanliness. Also, we DO NOT take pets other than the required service animals. Some times people sneak pets into a room and whenever we see that, they are asked to leave. So I, too, am disappointed that you did not notify us of your dissatisfaction during your stay and allow us the opportunity to improve your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I stayed at this hotel last weekend and was pleasantly surprised. When you arrive, you can see that the hotel has been around for awhile but it is very clean and the staff are very courteous and professional. Great Value and the location is unbeatable.

Room Tip: More value to select a room not facing the ocean but the ocean view rooms are lovely too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mackanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We love staying here, the location is the best. Right on the ocean front, the upstairs rooms facing the ocean have the BEST view. The rooms are small but clean. We spend most of our time out of our room walking the path along the coast or riding the path to Pacific Grove or to the wharf, so room space is really not a big deal for us. I love to sit on the front porch and enjoy the view, early morning with my coffee or late in that afternoon with a cocktail. Coffee is complimentary in the AM and there are plenty of small stores within walking distance to grab some cocktail makings and trail mix. For the price, you can't beat this deal. We like simple for a great price so we can enjoy more time out seeing the wonderful sites of this beautiful state.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Fourth time we have been here and will continue to stay here when we get together with two other couples. Don't come here for the rooms - come for the location, the view, and the surf.

Room Tip: Stay ocean side second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bobjamesColumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Yes... it may have been a little old with the decor but we loved it anyway! We slept with the window open all night and listen to the waves crash the coastline. We could see the ocean from our room. It was perfectly romantic! We walked to shops, restaurants, to the park...... great location!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank funinthesun444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Plain, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

like others, I am very disappointed with the upkeep and decor. The curtains are stained and dirty, and the room smells like old smoke. This smell is the number 1 turn off for me. If that was eliminated, I might not be as judgemental about this place. If there were just a few fix ups and clean ups, it would be ok. Some new paint and light fixtures would help. The electrical outlets are not grounded, so to plug in my laptop, it has to plug in to the bathroom plug in. For the price, I was expecting much more, even if they charge more for the view, it doesn't mean they should skimp on the overall decor.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
3 Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pacific Grove hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,981 reviews
1.6 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
796 reviews
3.4 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.0 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#8 of 17 in Pacific Grove
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borg's Ocean Front Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borg's Ocean Front Motel

Property: Borg's Ocean Front Motel
Address: 635 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2232
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Lover's Point overlooking spectacular Monterey Bay; across from beach and park. Many unobstructed ocean view rooms. Monterey Bay Aquarium, golf, restaurants and historic downtown Pacific Grove are all very close by. Free WIFI in all rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Borg`s Ocean Front Hotel Pacific Grove
Borgs Ocean Front Hotel
Borgs Ocean Front Motel
The Borgs Motel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing