We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveler rating
55
102
54
22
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
102
54
22
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the streetlovers pointcannery rowfamily roomrooms are cleanmonterey areafantastic locationlove this placeoceanamenitiesmiletrailofficewharfpgneighbors
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 250 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2012

like others, I am very disappointed with the upkeep and decor. The curtains are stained and dirty, and the room smells like old smoke. This smell is the number 1 turn off for me. If that was eliminated, I might not be as judgemental about this place. If there were just a few fix ups and clean ups, it would be ok. Some new paint and light fixtures would help. The electrical outlets are not grounded, so to plug in my laptop, it has to plug in to the bathroom plug in. For the price, I was expecting much more, even if they charge more for the view, it doesn't mean they should skimp on the overall decor.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
3  Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Borg's Ocean Front Motel is the place we like to stay when we go see our two sons in the area. There are rooms with an ocean view, but all we need is a basic room since we aren't in the room except to sleep. I might even say The Borg is our first choice!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judywklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We couldn't have found a better place to meet our demands, namely: An unique ocean view, easy access to the coastal trail, within walking distance of Cannery Road and an affordable price. Having searched the net in vain for a hotel with these qualities we stumbled across Borg's Ocean Front Motel by co-incidence - and what luck! In spite of "warnings" from TripAdvisor members about the hotel being outdated, simple and not worth staying at, we decided to give it a go after all, as right location and ocean view is of utmost importance to us. And glad we did - we simply loved Borg's!

Right, the motel is old and built in the typical old-fashioned way with a combi outdoor hallway/balcony and doesn't offer a lot of luxury and fancy details - but the room was of a reasonable size, clean, the bed OK and the little bathroom spotless. All we needed for our two nights' stay. On top Borg's has the absolute best location in Monterey/Pacific Grove boasting a full ocean view right outside your window and direct access to the lovely coastal trail right outside your door. Well, the chairs in front of your room are of simple plastic, but who cares when the view is breathtaking? My husband and I enjoyed the afternoon sun and a late night coffee in this front row setting. Did only find one other establishment offering the same unique location - a very expensive B&B a few yards away - so no doubt, Borg's is a true bargain and value for money.

As said, the lovely coastal trail runs right outside the motel, and we enjoyed a leisurely stroll to Cannery Row and back - easy and absolutely recommendable as spotting seals on the beach and loved the beautiful nature and the smell of the ocean. Given more time, we would have walked the full length around to the West too as this trail is a unique way to explore the area and enjoy the beautiful coastal environment to the fullest.

PS: May add being European small rooms and tiny bathrooms aren't of particular importance to us - all old historical hotels in our part of the world have shoe size facilities - so Borg's was all fine with us in this respect and instead gave us an genuine American experience, as Borg's is of the authentic '60-'70 American motel-style, that we don't find here. So we can recommend especially European visitors to stay here and sample this type of accommodation too.

PS PS: Please note that the "sloppy" bedding in the attached picture isn't due to the motel but rather my bad skills in this repect, as I did just throw the bedspread on the bed in a hurry.

PS PS PS: We'll be more than happy to stay at Borg's again given the opportunity to visit the Monterey area in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a first/upper floor frontrow room - that will give you the optimal oceanview. There is no street noise at night and it's absolutely worth the slight price-upgrade!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank purple_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stay at Borg's every time we go to Monterey! The location is absolutely beautiful, and the people are super friendly. You honestly can't beat the price and the view. My husband proposed on Lover's Point 3 years ago, and we go back every year to celebrate. We usually take a taxi down to Cannery Row, but we have walked it a few times as well. It's really not that far, and it's a gorgeous walk. The rooms are a little dated, but it's very clean. Give this place a shot!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vacay4Ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We knew we wouldn't be in the room a lot, so we opted for less costly accommodations. As most reviewers state this place hasn't been updated in years. I think if the bed was more comfortable I would have been a lot happier with Borg's. Loved the view and access to the trail along the bay. If you are looking for more comfort and luxury this is not the place for you. If you want to save a few bucks and like hard mattresses go for it. No complaints on the cleanliness of the room or staff. Good location.

Room Tip: We booked early and got a corner room with a view. No complaints regarding noise.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brnznjmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews